We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience”
Review of Mosu Safari Tours

Mosu Safari Tours
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I spend a fantastic 5 days on a camping safari with James (our guide), Kilos (the cook), and Gabriel (the camphand). We saw all the wildlife we had hoped to see, including lions, a leopard, African wild dogs with cubs, giraffes, elephants, hippos, crocodiles and so on – all very close! Camping out in the Botswanian bush was definitely a very intense experience, partly because of all the sounds you could hear at night (hyenas, lions, hippos, …). But we felt absolutely safe in our tent. There was also a surprising level of comfort, including a shower with hot water and a decent improvised bush toilet. Our guide, James, was very knowledgeable and amazing at spotting the smallest of animals in the distance. Kilos managed to create delicious meals – vegetarian as we had requested – in “the middle of nowhere”. The communication by email before our trip was very professional and timely.

Overall, we can definitely recommend a camping safari in Botswana and Mosu as an operator. Just some things to keep in mind. First, try to go during the dry season, i.e. the winter of the Southern hemisphere, which is the summer of the Northern hemisphere. We went in late July and the weather was perfect, the game was easy to spot, and there were very little mosquitos. In the dry season you’re also less likely to get stuck in mud. Second, be prepared for long hours driving. We typically spent 8-10 hours driving each day, either as part of a game drive or moving to the next camp site. You might want to look into paying a bit extra and flying from one site to the next, even if that means having separate crews. Finally, if you’re interested in learning more about the local culture and, say, traditional dances be sure to let the organizers know in advance. Though our crew made a serious effort it was impossible to arrange this with just a few hours notice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank igw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent mobile safari with Mosu”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Mosu Safaris is a small local business, which for us meant personalised service and a team more than willing to offer the best experience.

We exchanged quite a few emails before deciding on our itinerary, and they were all promptly answered (from dietary requirements to equipment and vehicle). Kemy was always there, ready to take care of everything.

We finally went on a 5 day private mobile safari and enjoyed every minute, in spite of a few issues...which just added to the adventure of being in the bush!

On our very first day, we reached Moremi late afternoon, coming from Maun, and were unlucky to have a flat tyre and get badly stuck while trying to reach our campsite (booked by Mosu Safari in advance). There was no way we could make it to the place, as most of the land was flooded... I wish we had been told at the gate. Tebi (guide) and George (chef) tried very hard, and finally managed to start the car. It was already night time (no night drive allowed at the Reserve), and had nowhere to camp. They succeeded in finding us a new campsite (spoke to the Park rangers), set up camp using the car lights and still prepare a good dinner. Well done! We even got wild dogs passing by the campsite...

Having been before to Moremi, we were disappointed in terms of game viewing, maybe because of the late rains...Still, the scenery and those dinners by the fire under the stars were amazing.

Savuti was brilliant (we got there after the heaviest rain I have ever seen...). Unbelievable how Tebi managed to drive us on roads totally flooded and once at the camp set up fire with all the wet wood...

We got to see leopard, cheetah, buffalo and a good density of game. The scenery after the rain and the skies were out of this world!

All the team did their best to give us a special and memorable experience. They prepared our favourite food (fresh bread included), got us hot water to shower and even changed our sheets on our third night.

Once back in Maun, Oliver (Owner) and Kemy (Booking manager) came to personally greet us at our Hotel and share our feedback after the safari.
A big thanks to all the Mosu team!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank XenaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Emotions on Private Mobile Safari in Botswana”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My friend Paola and me travelled to Botswana last winter. I have been there three times myself but I wanted to show Paola a place I reckon the best in Africa when it comes to nature and wildlife. We decide to do a mobile camp safari and we took Mosu Safari Tours by chance for only one reason. the availability, the knowledge and the touch of likeness of Oliver, the owner, inspired me!!! A choice, It could not be more right. We flew to Lusaka then by road to Kasane where a guy who took us to the Vic Falls and helped us to cross the border to meet the lovely guide Godfrey and his experienced chef Kilos. We travelled throughout Chobe, Savuti ( fantastically surprised by water and wildlife in there ) Moremi ( Kwai area, wonderful! ) Central Kalahari and Nxai Pan and ended this fantastic trip to Kasane. We had great time, emotions, intimacy and wildlife we were looking for. Thanks to Oliver and his fantastic staff. We will remember it for sometimes and I am quite sure Oliver and his Safari Company will meet me/us and our love of Botswana again in the future!!!!

Thanks Oliver

Elia Lucentini & Paola Verni

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mosi_O_Tunya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hands down, one of the stand out moments of our holiday in Africa!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My partner and I travelled from Livingstone, Zambia to Maun, Botswana with Mosu in January, 2014 and we cannot recommend them more highly.

We initially chose Mosu Safari Tours as they were one of the only reputable companies which provided private, tailored made safari tours and we are so happy that we did.

Our trip began in Livingstone, Zambia where we were picked up by our driver, James and driven to the Kazungula border crossing. We had heard stories from friends who had taken over 7 hours to cross the border, so were not sure what to expect. Due to James’ experience we crossed and were in Botswana within 10 minutes.

We were met in Botswana by Custard (our guide), Kilos (our chef) and Nymard (our camp help) and began our three day safari trip in Chobe National Park. Custard was the most amazing guide we could have asked for, he always went the extra mile for us and has an amazing knowledge of Chobe/Savuti animal and bird life. We learnt and saw so much in the three days we spent together and got very attached to him. We travelled in what was not considered the “high season” in Botswana and managed to have seven separate lion sightings, two leopard sightings (including one which walked right by our car) and also saw the zebra migration as well as plenty of hippos, elephants, warthogs, giraffes, jackals, various types of antelopes, monkeys, buffalos and much, much more. We could not have hoped for a better safari experience.

The accommodation was a private camp site which Mosu owned and overlooked a lake which had the most spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Only one party is allowed to stay at the camp site at any time – so it is immensely private and we were the only ones there. I also loved waking up to the sounds of lions and elephants in the middle of the night.

The food which Kilos, our chef cooked was also fantastic! We came back from safari to proper, tasty three course meals which is such a challenge in the bush.

Thanks Mosu for such a special experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Private Mobile Safari Central Kalahari and Moremi with Mosu Safari Tours”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I travelled with Mosu safari tours in Decemebr 2013. Oliver the owner and his excellent assistant Kemy helped us with planning the itinerary. We crossed the Central Kalahari from West to east over a period of a week and then finished with a couple of days at the excellent Moremi game reserve. We had done a similar trip in 2011, but the wonderful guide (Godfrey Mbeha) who was our host during that trip died tragically earlier this year.
The central Kalahari is quite remote and unforgiving, and as there are few travellers there, it is very important to make sure you have a team that knows this area and their equipment and logistics are top class. December is the rainy season and we experienced a couple of violent thunderstorms and the dusty sandy tracks became soggy and treacherous.
Brown was our guide and i can report that he is very calm and composed and knows what he is doing. He hails from the Khwai region in the okovango delta and is a bushman,He has a great deal of knowledge of the bush.
As my wife and i are quite interested in birds i have previously found that many guides are very good with mammals in general but can be average as regards birds probably because most of their clients are interested in large mammals only.
I was pleasantly surprised to see that Brown had a specialist bird book and a good pair of binoculars! His spotting skills are something to be seen to be believed!!
The chef goes by the name of Kilos, and has been mentioned in trip advisor several times and he really does serve up some good food. We had three course dinners in the bush every day!
Nymard was the camp Assistant and he was always pleasant and on the job.
Oliver and Kemy are very keen to make your trip a success for you and they will go the extra mile.
They met us at the airport and also came to send us off. Oliver Madibela is very polite and flexible.
The land cruiser we travelled in was shipshape and comfortable. We and plenty of supplies and provisions. The vehicle is also equipped with a satellite phone for emergencies as there is no mobile phone reception in the kalahari!
Oliver had arranged for us to stay a night with the San Bushman in their private reserve near Ghansi (western kalahari) called Dqae Qare. It was an out of the world experience to share in the their dance ritual. Because of a heavy thunderstorm the start of the dance was delayed till about 9.30 pm and went on well past midnight. It is a primitive type of chanting and motion. The repetitive nature of the chant, the flickering woodfire, the stillness of the night, the pitch blackness of the night away from the fire, and the rhythmic movement of men as they dance in circular movement around the fire is hypnotic, and transports you a to an ancient time . The men appear to go into a trance.It is a surreal experience.
It made me think about our origins and our purpose!! It is an amazing privilege to witness something like this, at least at Dqae Qare - it is certainly not a "tourist" type of activity with the purpose of making some money!
One night we saw a small snake gliding across the sand towards our dining tent and i was really impressed when Brown produced a book on snakes of the kalahari so we could identify that it was harmless sand snake and we watched while it went on its way.
Sleeping in comfortable tents and listening to the roars of Lions and laughing of Hyenas is something else. Waking up before dawn everyday so you can experience the beauty of the Kalahari dawn and listen to the plaintive call of the Rufous naped lark is an extraordinary feeling.
We certainly had a wonderful trip and if you are planning travel in Botswana to experience the wondrous beauty of the many wilderness regions there then i do not think you will do too badly to travel with Mosu Safari tours and let Oliver and Kemy tailor make a great itinerary for you.
I found their prices to be very good too , I felt that we had more than excellent value for our money!
I hope the future will allow us to travel with them again! Thanks for a wonderful and well organised trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SRao77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosu Safari Tours also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 

Been to Mosu Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing