We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goha Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gonder
Genève
Level Contributor
353 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“OK but not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The place where the hotel is offers a very good view. The pool seems also very nice (although we did not go into it) and the bar/restaurant is nice too. The rooms are however not so good, a bit too dirty for such an hotel. In average, the hotel is however OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jérémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    141
    98
    26
    13
See reviews for
50
115
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed at the Goha a number of times since it's days as a government run hotel to it now being privately owned. The new owners are extending the hotel and refurbishing all the rooms but the ongoing work did not disrupt or disturb us at all. The manager told us all the work would be completed before the start of the new tourist season in October.
The staff are still as friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Tour guides can be arranged at reception.
The new swimming pool is a bonus although the lovely old garden at the back of the hotel has disappeared making way for a clean lawned area.
The magnificent views from the garden balcony are still as good although the skyline of Gondar is changing.
For bird lovers visitors to the garden include kites, humming birds, weaver birds etc.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one of the rooms on the new upstairs level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I'm really not sure if I'd recommend a stay at the Goha Hotel. It has a lot of good aspects, but some pretty serious negative ones as well. The first is that the Goha is located high on a hill overlooking town. This gives it a BEAUTIFUL view of the city, but it also makes it challenging to walk around. It's about a 15 minute walk downhill to get to where stuff actually is in town (and the walk back is pretty tiring). The hotel has a wonderful pool and a great restaurant, but the rooms arent great. They're a little small and the bathrooms arent great.
The wifi is strong though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel lobby, bar, dining room and outdoor space are very nice. As is their gift shop, which had nice postcards and some interesting and well made souvenirs. We ate dinner there as well and it was good. However, I did not find the rooms to feel very clean, and it was very small for two people (mother and adult daughter). The bathroom was not in the best shape, although one nice feature was that the sink was in the room. It's also up the hill and away from the city, making it feel hard to go out on your own at night. We did have a nice walk down from the hotel on Saturday morning and saw some very interesting pieces of the local market. I might have preferred a spot in more of the center of the town. We enjoyed going to the Four Sisters Restaurant, don't miss that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

A lovely place to stay (though a little hard to find the entrance). It was great to have adjoining rooms so the kids could have a room for themselves. The beds were brilliant. The meals were very tasty. Don't believe the review in Lonely planet as this hotel is much better than the review.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank taize17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

There's a panoramic view from the terrace, yes, but not from the rooms, and it's not a spectacular view. There's a pool, yes, but it's small, not terribly clean, the water's freezing, there's no shade and only four sunbeds (though none was using them when we were there).

We paid $73 and negotiated an upgrade for a double room in the new block (normally they are $105 which would be way overpriced), which is an ok price I guess. There's no shower curtain so a constant flood in the bathroom.

Breakfast - a bit confusing as to what's included and what's not. Ok but nothing special.

It's a nice enough place if you have some time to kill/chill, but quite a hike from the tourist sites. A 3-wheeler costs 70 birr to/from the castle area.

The food is ok and inexpensive, but portions are small, there's very little choice for vegetarians, and they put super-hot chilli in many things: be warned!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephane115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is extremely over priced for the standard of rooms and service offered and appears to be living of past glories, 'the view' and organised tour groups...suggest stay in one of the much better value hotels in town! The much hyped views over Gondor and surrounding areas are the only positive (but then again, that comes at the cost of being away from the town). The rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment (particularly the bathrooms) and are very small. The hotel staff are lackadaisical / unhelpful. After changing rooms twice and being assured of hot water, which never arrived it was time to check out...and relocate to a much better value hotel without staying the night!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UAE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gonder hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gonder
1.4 mi away
Florida International Hotel
7.0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#6 of 15 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Hotel
Planet Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mek'ele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quara Hotel
Quara Hotel
#12 of 15 in Gonder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lalibela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#3 of 15 in Bahar Dar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goha Hotel

Property: Goha Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 182, Gonder 182, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gonder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Goha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goha Hotel Gonder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing