We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but just what we were looking for”

4 Sisters Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Gonder
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hard to find but just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We took a taxi and would never have found it by walking though it's not that far. However, the trip was worth it. Wonderful setting and decor. Great choice of classic Ethiopian food and polite staff. We loved the atmosphere and if you eat out only once in Gonder, this is the place to do it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    170
    34
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
369 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly service”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is off of a dark rubble-strewn road, next to the football pitch, but do not let that put you off (just take a torch). It's a class act from the moment that the security chap blows a horn to announce your arrival and the staff line up to welcome you. The charming service continued throughout. In fact we enjoyed our first evening so much that we visited again. On the first occasion we tried the buffet which had so many different dishes to try. It was just 120 birr/£4 per person which was very good value. We enjoyed everything we sampled, and thought that the freshness and flavours were excellent. On the second evening we sampled the soups and had tibs and fish dulet. Again, everything we tasted was good. We also tried the tej honey wine and gouder red wine. Over our two and half weeks in Ethiopia this was one of the best restaurants we tried and we really recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great staff, delicious food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we arrived when it was raining cats and dogs. Staff were very accommodating, regardless of the mud- tracing footsteps. Food is wonderful: both ethiopian and international are on the offer, also local red wine gondar on offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“French fries suck.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

They don't know how to cook food that isn't traditional. The pepper steak came as mushroom steak. French fries were cooked crisp so I ended up not eating there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best meal in Gonder”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our group really had a great time at Four Sisters. We enjoyed the wonderful service, the national food dishes, and music performer. Highly recommend but if you walk there from your hotel, don't forget to bring your flashlight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 4 Sisters Restaurant also viewed

Gonder, Amhara Region
Gonder, Amhara Region
 
Gonder, Amhara Region
Gonder, Amhara Region
 
Gonder, Amhara Region
 

Been to 4 Sisters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing