We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice”
Review of L-Shape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L-Shape Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in quite a few places in Ethiopia, but this hotel definitely had the best quality for such a reasonable price. The room was clean, with a balcony and ensuite bath room. Hot water, restaurant down stairs, friendly staff. Free luggage storage and a really nice guy that was working there (this was March 2014), called Bewket, helped us arrange a trekking in the Simien Mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    44
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
24
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was by far the best value of any budget hotel I stayed in during my trip to Ethiopia. Clean rooms, hot water, no problems. Also, we were able to store our luggage free of charge while trekking in the Simiens.
Only minor issue involved the airport pickup. A certain guidebook had indicated that airport pickup was included, but it was not. The hotel staff were very up-front about the fact that pickup was not free. But I later found out that the price they charged was quite a bit more that what a taxi would have cost. So, buyer beware.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

At 280B for a single with a private bathroom, this hotel is good quality regardless of whether you are watching your dollars or not. The staff were friendly, the restaurant and bar downstairs served good food at reasonable prices, free wifi throughout most of the building, and it's only a short walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonder, Ethiopia
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

i was stayed here with my friend in twin bed room

it will be your best choice in gonder

clean and hot shower, free wifi
price is negotiable and staffs are very helpful
plus, this hotel located in near by city center

i recommend strongly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunjeong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

So, we turned up in Gondar, 2 students on a budget and checked into the L-Shape Hotel. They had lost our reservation so they put us in a triple room for the same price as a double and we were amazed. The beds were spotless, crisp sheets, clean smelling, and they were incredibly comfortable. The showers were hot and the television wasn't fuzzy and we had a few English channels.
There was also wi-fi which, although sometimes temperamental, when it worked it was very fast. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
After three months in Ethiopia, we can definitely say that this was the best value for money hotel we have ever seen. The best thing was it only cost 400 Birr for a twin, that's $20 US a night! Absolutely the best decision we made this trip. Thank you L-Shape for a great trip.

Room Tip: We were in 107 the first night and the window didn't close. Not a problem as they provided mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We paid 270B for a double room with a balcony looking over the back of the hotel towards the hills. Large, firm double bed. Lock on the cuboard. Generally clean. Weak but hot shower, though water stopped some time in the night and didn’t come back in the morning. Insist on checking hot water before accepting room, as it didn’t work in the first room we were shown.

WiFI generally worked well, and routers were on every floor. Small amount of toilet paper, soap, towel, and flip-flops provided. Third-floor room helped minimize the noise from the downstairs club/bar/restaurant. Restaurant had good pizzas (70-80B), much cheaper than those at MasterChef, though some odd combinations of ingredients. Would recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were on an independant tour of Ethiopia and stayed in this hotel for 2 separate nights either side of a trip into the Simien mountains.

I had pre booked the hotel, and had been quoted 250Birr PRPN. When we arrived on the first night however we were told that the rooms would be $50 per room as it was Timkat. Fortunately I had e-mail proof that we had been offered the rooms at the lower price, so eventually after a long heated conversation we got then at 500Biirr per room. If it had not been for this incident I would maybee have given 5 stars.

The rooms were very spacious and very clean unless you started to move furnature around, and we had plenty of hot water. The balconies that we had looked out over the city and the royal enclosure could be seen from them.

One down side is that the hotel is on 5 or 6 floors and there is not a lift which could be a bit of an issue if you are not very good on your legs.

All in all this was very good accomodation at a bargin price which I would recomend if you have a couple of days in Gondar.

Room Tip: Not the first floor which is rather niosy and check for hot water and the price before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gonder hotels
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel Gondar
AG Hotel Gondar
#3 of 14 in Gonder
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jantekel Hotel
Jantekel Hotel
#8 of 14 in Gonder
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gonder Landmark Hotel
Gonder Landmark Hotel
#10 of 14 in Gonder
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#6 of 14 in Gonder
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florida International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L-Shape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L-Shape Hotel

Property: L-Shape Hotel
Address: Kebele 13, Gonder, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L-Shape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing