We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of L-Shape Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L-Shape Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 2 days and it was quite ok. Hotel is fine located: not far away from the center of the town and Gondar castle (about 15 minutes on foot and it is a nice walk), to the bus station about 20 minutes. But you can always take a tuk-tuk. There is a restaurant at the ground floor so we recommend the room on a higher floor. The room on the higher floors have nice view over the Gondar. The room we had was really clean, with very comfortable bed, private bathroom with hot water and balcony. Of course the room is old fashioned, rather ugly decorated, and used. However it cost only 280 birrs for double room. The breakfast served by Hotel restaurant was good, taste and quite big. We had breakfast arranged through Hotel for an additional price 60 birrs for two persons and it was cheaper than to order it themselves in the restaurant. The staff , especially receptionists were very kind, friendly and really helpful. We had really nice and pleasant stay there.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have nicer view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    43
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
24
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in quite a few places in Ethiopia, but this hotel definitely had the best quality for such a reasonable price. The room was clean, with a balcony and ensuite bath room. Hot water, restaurant down stairs, friendly staff. Free luggage storage and a really nice guy that was working there (this was March 2014), called Bewket, helped us arrange a trekking in the Simien Mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was by far the best value of any budget hotel I stayed in during my trip to Ethiopia. Clean rooms, hot water, no problems. Also, we were able to store our luggage free of charge while trekking in the Simiens.
Only minor issue involved the airport pickup. A certain guidebook had indicated that airport pickup was included, but it was not. The hotel staff were very up-front about the fact that pickup was not free. But I later found out that the price they charged was quite a bit more that what a taxi would have cost. So, buyer beware.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

At 280B for a single with a private bathroom, this hotel is good quality regardless of whether you are watching your dollars or not. The staff were friendly, the restaurant and bar downstairs served good food at reasonable prices, free wifi throughout most of the building, and it's only a short walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonder, Ethiopia
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

i was stayed here with my friend in twin bed room

it will be your best choice in gonder

clean and hot shower, free wifi
price is negotiable and staffs are very helpful
plus, this hotel located in near by city center

i recommend strongly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunjeong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

So, we turned up in Gondar, 2 students on a budget and checked into the L-Shape Hotel. They had lost our reservation so they put us in a triple room for the same price as a double and we were amazed. The beds were spotless, crisp sheets, clean smelling, and they were incredibly comfortable. The showers were hot and the television wasn't fuzzy and we had a few English channels.
There was also wi-fi which, although sometimes temperamental, when it worked it was very fast. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
After three months in Ethiopia, we can definitely say that this was the best value for money hotel we have ever seen. The best thing was it only cost 400 Birr for a twin, that's $20 US a night! Absolutely the best decision we made this trip. Thank you L-Shape for a great trip.

Room Tip: We were in 107 the first night and the window didn't close. Not a problem as they provided mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We paid 270B for a double room with a balcony looking over the back of the hotel towards the hills. Large, firm double bed. Lock on the cuboard. Generally clean. Weak but hot shower, though water stopped some time in the night and didn’t come back in the morning. Insist on checking hot water before accepting room, as it didn’t work in the first room we were shown.

WiFI generally worked well, and routers were on every floor. Small amount of toilet paper, soap, towel, and flip-flops provided. Third-floor room helped minimize the noise from the downstairs club/bar/restaurant. Restaurant had good pizzas (70-80B), much cheaper than those at MasterChef, though some odd combinations of ingredients. Would recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gonder hotels
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel Gondar
AG Hotel Gondar
#3 of 14 in Gonder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jantekel Hotel
Jantekel Hotel
#8 of 14 in Gonder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#6 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gonder Landmark Hotel
Gonder Landmark Hotel
#10 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ruth Hotel
The Ruth Hotel
#13 of 14 in Gonder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L-Shape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L-Shape Hotel

Property: L-Shape Hotel
Address: Kebele 13, Gonder, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gonder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing