We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central Kumasi hotel”
Review of Ashanti Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashanti Gold Hotel
Ranked #31 of 73 Kumasi B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent central Kumasi hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent good value hotel close by the Kumasi Cultural Centre. Walking distance to much of central Kumasi. Restaurant menu was more of a wish list than a choice of meals; best idea being to ask what was available and then make a choice. Rooms were comfortable with WiFi available and A/C. Run very efficiently by Marie Cobbhina. Payment, as in much of Ghana outside Accra, is by local currency with no Credit or Debit cards accepted.

Room Tip: Choose King Suite as opposed to a lesser room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graywallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ibadan, Nigeria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is has a cool environment, a walking distance from the busy market and other sites in Kumasi, the price is very good for the services and wifi is available in some rooms. The members of staff are very friendly especially the guys that covered the night duty during our stay.
ample parking space is also available.
I'll most likely stay here again when I visit Kumasi

Room Tip: I stayed in room 11, and is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyLee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel in the King Suite for 80 Cedis. It was a really great hotel room, especially for Ghana standard. We had warm water, a good bed, AC, a fridge, TV, Fan. The hotel has a pool and good food. The staff is very friendly. We could park our car directly at the hotel which was protected and good for Ghana. The location is great. Its a five minutes walk to the Cultural Centre and 20 minutes walk to the Central Market. We enjoyed staying here and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meandmymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Have stayed 3 times at this hotel now , have found the rooms vary....best to ask to see first...some are recently redone and very acceptable [ I stayed in room 12 last time ] Hotel remains good value but am now paying 50 ghana cedi / night for 2 sharing. Location v good for culture in the day and Bantama High St is great for people watching , very lively weekend evenings !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The location is good, you can walk to most places in Kumasi eg market/tro station. The rooms are clean. Staff are nice, we turned up late and they sorted some dinner out for us pretty quickly. It's pretty cheesy decor outside, which I quite like! It's not the most amazing place I've ever stayed in, but it's clean, comfortable and the location is good. You can also get a cold beer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel was a welcome surprise as we only ended up staying here as we were sharing a cab with another couple who had a reservation here. The rooms were very clean, and it was one of the few places we stayed that had hot water! Score! The location is also great as you can walk to the HUGE market in about 10 minutes. It is also located just around the corner from the Culture Centre which is nice quiet haven away from the bustling chaos of the city. The staff at the hotel were a bit hit and miss. The reception staff were a bit cold and there was also a guy who worked there that seemed keen on doing things for foreigners like picking up bus tickets, arranging taxi’s, etc, but he would always come right into your room when talking to you which was sometimes a bit intimidating (although overall he was a nice guy). There is a pool at the hotel, but it dodn't look all that clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel to those staying in Kumasi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

uk visitor selling truck engines in the transport hub of west africa spent 2 nights - location good - walk to a main street with bars music food [8pm friday saw 200+ gospel ladies singing under church canopy] Hotel is now showing its age but at 25 cedi for b&b with cold aircon was good value , spotless outside , a/c was noisy [earplugs] , staff charming.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kumasi
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noda Hotel
Noda Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kumasi
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#17 of 19 in Kumasi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
0.0 mi away
Roses Guest House
Roses Guest House
#6 of 73 in Kumasi
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lake Road Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kumasi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Gold Hotel

Property: Ashanti Gold Hotel
Address: 233 Box KS | Bantama, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kumasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashanti Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing