We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for one night”
Review of Royal Basin Resort

Royal Basin Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Basin Resort
Ranked #26 of 78 Kumasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a birding tour of Ghana. It is rather tired and run-down. The restaurant is tiny and dark, service friendly but pretty basic food, even for Ghana standards. The room was clean but the bed was rock hard, which was a problem for me. As a stopover, it is just barely adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Royal Basin Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here on two separate nights, both before and after retuning from Mole. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. First time we were here the pool was sort of greenish. On our return from Mole it is nice and clear. Only bar is at the pool and service was very slow. AC worked, but not very well. Water pressure in the shower was low and the water tepid. Restaurant was okay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights, being away for three nights in-between. My first (single) room had bed space for three - all pushed together. The air-conditioning did not reduce the temperature probably because the controller was faulty. In fact the unit was heating the room to 28 degrees when it was only 24 degrees outside ! It was like sleeping in a sauna. On the second occasion I was awake enough to ask them to show me that the air-conditioning actually worked and could be controlled before I even thought about unpacking, having a shower etc.

The location is good on the oiutskirts of Kumasi and is quiet at night. The bed was comfortable and the service was slow but friendly.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you that the air-conditioning actually works and can be controlled before you think...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabra1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Compared to other hotels in Ghana, this one was quite good, even though not without problems. The facilities are fairly new, there is a swimming pool on the grounds, and the rooms were clean and air-conditioned (even though cramped). The food was all right. But we did run into all the familiar problems that we experienced in Ghanaian hotels. E.g., the shower had little water pressure. The internet existed but only seemed to work for a few minutes every several hours (even in the lobby). The beds had no blankets, but they did bring them when we asked for them. The restaurant is very small and service was VERY slow and generally poor (e.g., they had no more juice, of any kind, when we had breakfast; they had only instant coffee; they had one jar of jam for the whole restaurant that people sitting at different tables had to pass back and forth; and so on). But, again, considering that this is Kumasi, it's not a bad place to stay, and I would probably consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tresengers rom ligger i et stille område av hagen, rom 2 og 3
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Marit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Laposada Royal Hotel
Laposada Royal Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kumasi
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
0.0 mi away
Noda Hotel
Noda Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kumasi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Kumasi City
0.0 mi away
Okumah Hotel
Okumah Hotel
#14 of 78 in Kumasi
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bosomtwe Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Basin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Basin Resort

Address: Opposite St. Louis Sec. School, off the Accra-Kumasi Hwy, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kumasi
Price Range: £48 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Basin Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Basin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing