We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Kumasi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Villages Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Villages Inn
Ranked #2 of 63 Kumasi B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great option in Kumasi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I recently visited Kumasi with friends and stayed at the Four Villages Inn. We had a great stay. Fantastic friendly and accommodating hosts. Good sized rooms. Great breakfasts. Our bathroom was a hand-held shower over a bath. Not great for taking a shower, but fine for taking a bath.

There are a few considerations.
It's 4km from "town" which is an easy taxi ride, but probably not a walk.
This means unless you go to the very good and somewhat pricey grill next door (or arrange dinner with your hosts), you'll need transport for meals.
It's a guesthouse or B&B, not a hotel. It is a very good B&B. some of the guest reviews appear to have been expecting a hotel. If that's what you want there are plenty in town. It was nice to come back to a small establishment, where the host remembers your name, and what you want for breakfast.
And the muffins are great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
41
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We generally found it difficult to find good mid range accomodation in Ghana. In comparison to the other accomodation we stayed at, this hotel provided good, clean rooms and a lovely breakfast. The hosts are friendly and helpful and we felt like we were taken good care of. Water pressure however is not the best and there seems to be an issue with hot water. Given the rates, this is not acceptable. Nevertheless, the overall experience was pleasant and this is a lovely place to relax after exploring the bustle of Kumasi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dustedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is clean and OK. The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms adequate. I would not say it is the best in Kumasi and frankly, it is overpriced for what it is. The owners are pleasant and will do their very best to help. The guide they recommended to visit the market was super! I would not not recommend it but would definitely not say it is the best in town!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diemen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very comfortable and relaxed place to stay a couple of days. Clean bedroom and bathroom ; toilet with bath, shower and bidet. The room has a minibar with free cooled purified water. Sitting outside overlooking the frontyard is lovely. The landlord was on a journey to Canada but the landlady was fantastic as well. Delicious breakfast. Not cheap but good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wonderful, relaxed family place, owned by a lovely Ghanenian-Canadian couple. Their son Frank picked us up from the airport, and the whole family made our stay easy and confortable. Make sure you ask whether Comfort is available to take you on a tour of the market. She took us on an all-day tour, and seemed to know every one of the 11,000 vendors by name. Great place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BretWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed our weekend at Four Villages Inn. Chris, the proprietor, is very helpful and informative. He took us on a delightful tour of the neighboring villages, where we saw Kente weaving and adinkra symbols. Also, his tips on restaurants in the area are very solid. We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Kumasi. You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a wonderful experience, from the moment Mr Scott met us from Kumasi airport I knew I had made the right choice for our family, what a humble man. As soon as we stepped into FVI entrance hall there was complete tranquility. We stayed in the Kente room which was very clean and tastefully decorated. The room was large enough for a kingsize bed and a separate single bed for our two year old to sleep in. FVI may only have four rooms, but that enhances the modest quality of the place. Mrs Scott is a delightful woman, and it felt as though we were staying with family without any hassle.The staff and owners were friendly and unassuming.

My qualms, I would have loved a bigger or more sausages for breakfast, and the watch dog was a trifle noisy with it's barking in the early hours of our last night - we stayed for two nights.

Nevertheless a truly delightful and pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Kumasi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OseiLoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
2.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Kumasi City
8.2 mi away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kumasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#17 of 19 in Kumasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Cocoa Village Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Lake Bosomtwe Paradise Resort
7.5 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Villages Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Villages Inn

Property: Four Villages Inn
Address: 412 Old Bekwai Road, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kumasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Four Villages Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing