We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Basic Hotel with a Great Restaurant”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Royal Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kumasi
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Royal Park Hotel is simple hotel with basic amenities. The rooms are clean and pleasant, and there is WiFi and satellite television. The hotel also offers breakfast in the morning, and there is a nice Chinese restaurant downstairs with tasty rice and noodle dishes. The hotel also has a monkey in a cage outside for some reason which is some combination of entertaining and troubling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drob3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room was fine with AC and wireless internet connection which was faster than the USB modem I bought before checking in. Hot water was available during the first couple of days. The bed is comfortable, the room service girls are just looking for tips by any means. I liked the restaurant a lot... it seemed to have a good reputation in Kumasi as many other foreigners came from other hotels to have dinner daily.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Amr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is a great gem of a hotel just 20 minutes from Kumasi airport and not far from town. It is family owned and operated by a reasonable manager who would negotiate the rate. At about $80 for a single room, it is a bit on the high side for the area, but does have more services. The rooms are basic but you can upgrade to something better. There are many options including suites. Everything works...instant generator (critical); WiFi, A/C, security, and great friendly staff. They have no shortage of help around the place. Cheap labor has it's upside. Restaurant deserves a separate review...about the best Chinese food with the most authentic taste I have found in Africa. You will find everything you need here at half the price of the big chains and right in the same neighborhood. Go with confidence! Breakfast is included. Bar is excellent. Lobby is small but very active with TV and bar and restaurant and business center.

Room Tip: Upper floor is best. DEFINITELY go to the restaurant rather than order room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I had a good experience overall. The staff was very friendly, and the owner was amazingly engaged in making sure that everyone was content and comfortable. You will be taken care of. If you meet the owner, ask for a quick version of his family's story - it's an amazing journey.

My room was large, clean, and well appointed. No complaints. There are a few rough edges, but on the other hand you get real warmth, not the sterile, anonymous comfort of a corporate place.

The attached Chinese restaurant is genuinely good - I'd patronize it in New York, and it's a real winner in Kumasi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwj_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night for a layover in Kumasi. The hotel is Chinese made and owned. As with many of the other Chinese construction in Africa, you can tell the quick construction that reflects in cracked floors or walls after the building begins to settle. This hotel is ok, it was clean and had free internet but the signal was so weak you could barely use it. The bed was ok, and the AC disconnected as soon as you left the room so you had to endure a hot room and wait until the AC cooled it off (taking around 15 minutes). The food in the restaurant was not that good either. If I could have done it again, I would have stayed at the larger hotels situated about 7 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The hotel provides a pleasant stay in Kumasi. The rooms are clean and quiet. The water is warm and taking a bath is excellent after spending a day in the rice fields!
However, service is friendly but soooo slow. It was difficult to make a reservation by phone. The restaurant is excellent, but two days of Chinese food was sufficient.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

we stayed at this hotel while spending a few nights in kumasi.

Clean and comfortable. Chinese resturant is popular with locals.

down stairs rooms a bit dungeon like but really fine.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs room if you dont like sub terrainian feel of basement ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Kumasi City
7.1 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
2.4 mi away
Noda Hotel
Noda Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kumasi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laposada Royal Hotel
Laposada Royal Hotel
#10 of 21 in Kumasi
10 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#12 of 21 in Kumasi
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Luck Hotel
Great Luck Hotel
#6 of 21 in Kumasi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: Ahodwo Road | Box St. 166, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Kumasi
Price Range: £78 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing