We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good week in Kumasi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Kumasi City
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kumasi
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times, from the week it first opened and will be happy to stay again next time I am in Kumasi.

The rooms in the front (main building) are much better than the rear ones, the buffet breakfast is good the evening buffet I don't enjoy as much. However sitting by the pool on an evening and ordering off the menu is a very pleasant experience.
The pool area itself is very good and gets quite busy with families on a weekend.
The staff are always helpful and welcoming, if a little slow at times.

I am sure I will enjoy my next stay as much as all my previous ones.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if possible as the rooms are nicer than the annex at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food was great and the total experience was wonderful. weekend breakfast doesn't finish until about 11 am and it really give us more time to relax at the pool side. i will recommend this place to anybody coming to Kumasi

Nana Afia Konadu

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for six nights of my two week study abroad in Ghana. I was not very pleased with this hotel at all. The hotel is very nice with a nice lobby, good sized rooms with a balcony, and a nice bathroom. However, the staff was very rude, the food was always slow to come out and took us two hours to get from the time of ordering one night, and the beds were very uncomfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on a piece of plywood that looked like a mattress. I have back problems and this did not help at all.

The hotel is very over priced considering the beds and all of the bad service. There was ten people in our group and on one day most of our room keys stopped working and we had to get them replaced. Several of us also had to replace the room keys on several other occaisons. I was not impressed when the cleaning people kept moving my belongings around the room and bathroom. I have put my belongings out of the way on purpose. That is so you do not have to move them to clean the major areas of the room.

The service was also very biased. I know we are a bunch of American college aged young adults, but we are very respectful and did nothing wrong to deserve the bad service that we got. The staff seemed to be friendlier to other guests.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Kumasi. I will tell them to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Macy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. Being continuously into customer service our guest opinion is always welcome. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the delay in our food service and any associated discomfort that it might have caused.
The delay has also been investigated and addressed with the concerned departments
It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of service at all times and our guest satisfaction is our number one priority.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Golden tulip Kumasi city to experience a better stay. Thank you
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I love this place ... each time I visit Kumasi Ghana ... I hit the breakfast food bar.... and you can get eat until you are full ... and then enjoy the pool ,,, I tell you the food is service is sooooo wonderful.... I will be coming back here next time I'm visiting Ghana

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotelto other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Pluses and minuses with the Golden Tulip --- pluses: clean rooms, comfortable looby, well-cared-for compound. Minuses: very hard beds, buffet food never hot, difficulty in obtaining hand and face towels, some staff members not interested in giving service. But, judging from the other hotels I passed by while traveling the city, this may be the best hotel that Kumasi has. Overall, I rank this about even with a Holiday Inn in the USA.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick81669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering for our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My niece and I stayed at this hotel in July 2013. A little pricey. It was very clean, in a good location with good service. The only negative to our stay was the rock hard beds. I woke up every morning with a horrible back ache. I think sleeping on the floor might have been more comfortable! I was hoping we would get a discount for the discomfort we endured sleeping on those beds. But it was not to be. But I must say that the room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom in good working condition and also clean. They had a nice lounge area. The pool and grounds were lovely. There was a live band out by the pool area. Food service by the pool was somewhat slow. Had to wait a while to get our food. The breakfast buffet had a nice assortment of food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. Being continuously into customer service our guest opinion is always welcome. We would like to apologise for the back ache and would like to assure you that all our beds have been been re aphostered to ensure the sleep comfort .
It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of service at all times and our guest satisfaction is our number one priority.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Golden tulip Kumasi city to experience a better stay. Thank you
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been here thrice. A bit over priced as all other reviewers have said. Noble House Hotel, with an excellent restaurant, is a much better value for money instead ! The open ground and lobby is good, Need another 5 star faclity in Kumasi city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamerG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKC2014, Manager at Golden Tulip Kumasi City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. i appreciate your concern about getting value for money and would lkie to assure you that hotel seeks to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of service at all times and our guest satisfaction is our number one priority.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Golden tulip Kumasi city to experience a better stay. Thank you
Gabriel O.
(Guest Service Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
6.8 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
0.8 mi away
Noda Hotel
Noda Hotel
#5 of 22 in Kumasi
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#19 of 22 in Kumasi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laposada Royal Hotel
Laposada Royal Hotel
#9 of 22 in Kumasi
10 reviews
0 mi away
Great Luck Hotel
Great Luck Hotel
#6 of 22 in Kumasi
1 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#12 of 22 in Kumasi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Kumasi City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Kumasi City

Address: Rain Tree Road, Kumasi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kumasi
Price Range: £87 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Kumasi City 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Kumasi City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Kumasi City Hotel Kumasi
Kumasi Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing