We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memory, not a shadow of it's former glory”
Review of Sun n' Sand Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kikambala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun n' Sand Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kikambala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A memory, not a shadow of it's former glory”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a fantastic week on safari staying at the Shimba Hills, Voi and Ngulia Lodges, the Sun N Sands was a welcome 5-Star week of relaxation, to conclude our holiday. Both the food and the service was provided to an impeccable standard. The buildings of this boutique hotel were in excellent condition and the facilities met the expected standard. Ultimately, the time spent here was reviewed both faultlessly and favourably. They say never go back to a place you have been before, because your previous memories will be shattered. I stayed here in September 1991 and have never returned. It would be a real shame to discover that the Sun N Sands has become "run down," "tired" and awaiting "demolition." To me thankfully this is all heresay and my memories are intact.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    203
    81
    48
    43
See reviews for
156
310
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean, staff very friendly, good food with a vast variety, yummy breakfast and gorgeous cakes, poor bar is great, lots of nice walks outside hotel and the local guides are trust worthy and friendly and cheap, highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennyw247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Apparently this was once a five star hotel. They still cling to the plaque even though this is no longer the reality.

The hotel is large and set on spacious grounds. The service is great with smiles from the reception to the waiters.

That's the only good news!

The rooms are run down and as opposed to refurbrishing, the owners have deemed it fit to repaint everything including the tubs. The fixtures are rusted, colours and decor in the rooms overwhelming.

This may be the only hotel that i have been to where the doors do not latch close. The result of this is that once you lock your door and insert your key ring into the ac/electricity power slot, nothing stops staff members from entering the room with their keys. One member of our group who did not hear the knock on the door had the unpleasant experience of having a staff member walk into their room. You are warned!.

Advise: ask the reception for two key holders, one for your actual key (which after you lock yourself in your room should remain in the key hole) and another to power the room's a/c and electricity.

The electric mosquito repellant provided was filthy and stopped working after day 1. There were no replacements but a cheerful gentleman was sent to dose the room with insecticide before bed time. For those with sensitivity issues, carry your own insecticide and the spray used was quite pungent.

There was only one electric socket near the bed to charge phones/laptops etc. I asked for a multi-plug from the reception but was informed that they were not available. In the evening when the mosquito presence becomes obvious, this one socket can only be used for the electric repellant. Carry your own in case you need to charge your electronics in the evening.

The cleanliness of the room left alot to be desired. A peep under the bed found dead insects and plenty of dust. Moving semi-fixed item in the room also revealed dirty surfaces. I found two empty bottles from what i presumed to be the previous room occupants when checking in.

The balconies to the room hold two plastic chairs and a plastic table. The unfortunate part is that they are all white and stained. Terrible sight.

The television is old school and only has three channels. Two of them are static filled and cannot be watched. The remote controls do not work and the manual controls of the television are wrongly marked (trying to increase volume resulted in change of channels!?!)

The food selection is terrible with the same three dishes being rotated over and over again. Breakfast included cold bacon and burnt beans (i had not idea that you could burn baked beans!) We resorted to eating out after the first nights stay.

Their drinks selection (alcoholic) is sadly lacking. We took to having drinks outside the hotel due to the poor selection.

The beach has seen better days, im sure that once upon a time this institution bragged about its white sandy beaches....no more, now a stony, littered beach is the norm.

Im sure that in its hey day this hotel was a beaut.......sadly no more.

Room Tip: Carry your own mosquito repellant, multi plug (in case you want to charge more than one item) and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wambuimwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We first went to Sun N sand in 2006 and it was great...it was one of the best hotels at the time. I went there last year in August and was utterly shocked at how run down it is now...its a skeleton of what used to be. The long 'river' pool was demolished and that side of the hotel too. Accommodation is available on the right side of the hotel facing the restaurant,
The staff are really great and i think the state of the hotel is demoralizing. They are able to make great food, especially breakfast but it still won't match up to the past. The kids center is so run down at the balls on the pool table would fall on the ground after porting one. The miniature golf theme ground is no more, while the one next to the children's center was so full of leaves at the time and unkempt. The massage parlor is good, you could try it out. The manager was very friendly and helpful. we had to cancel the days booked at the hotel and go elsewhere, we just couldn't stay here anymore. Someone needs to give them a serious makeover. Sad but true.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

stayed here for two weeks for usual summer holiday,, first impressions, fantastic,, but start chipping away, you find basic faults, staff are brilliant, service to match, always got the underlying feeling something wasnt right, as you would expect this paradise to be perfect. The beach was a no go area, due to the beach boys selling their wares, and in a threatening manner, hence the guards posted there, ( bit of a give away i suppose), probably wouldnt visit again,, which is a shame as it has a lot of promise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had stayed at the Sun and Sand on our last visit but it is not on any travel brochures now. The original owner died and lhis son took over and doesnt seem like he is a good business person as he has had half the rooms demolished with the idea of building luxury appartments for families from the Nairobi area. The place now looks very run down and this has also had an affect on the village. The shops in the village have dissapeared and it looks very run down too but the people are still so cheerful and friendly. This is such a shame as the village was lovely and the area the hotel is in is superb. Just hope that someone will see sence and buy out this place and turn it in to the hotel it once was.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank deeliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We originally stayed here in 1995 (got engaged) and had a great time. It was lively, fresh and friendly with good food etc. We went back a second time to take the kids and we were disapointed. The place feels run down now, the staff seem tired and the food has lost its sparkle. If you do go, take a guided trip in to the village and meet the people. They are an inspiration. The school is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the pool or in the quiet circular block with its own pool and waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kikambala
7.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
966 reviews
7.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
6.0 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
348 reviews
10.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,947 reviews
5.9 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun n' Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun n' Sand Beach

Property: Sun n' Sand Beach
Address: Malindi Road, Kikambala, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kikambala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kikambala
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun n' Sand Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Sun n` Sand Beach Hotel Kikambala
Sun n Sand Beach Kikambala
Sun n Sand Beach Resort
Sun N' Sand Beach Kenya/Kikambala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing