We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salama-Beach-Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salama-Beach-Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Serra, ES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were completely convinced-it everything was great. Nice clean pool, great room, very nice operators and great service. All the bungalows are very roomy and in the african style furnished. We had half board and therefore breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Salama Beach Resort in Kikambala is a very special place for my wife and me, this is where we held our wedding in August 2013.

In February 2013 we decided that our special day would be held here as we had visited this place a couple of times back in 2011 and knew it was a lovely venue. I immediately set about contacting the hotel to see if this was something they were able to do for us and immediately received a reply from the hotel manager Joel, saying they would be honoured to host the event and would do whatever they could to make this as special a day as possible. Now with all contact done via Email I wasnt sure how our requests would translate, surely planning a wedding would be much easier face to face. How wrong can someone be...........Joel was amazing, he got everything spot on.

We arrived early on the morning of the wedding and were given a room for the day to get ready in and store clothes and other things and also given full use of all the other amenities in the hotel, Pool, Bars etc, in fact the wedding party were the only people in the hotel all day ( after speaking to guests at another close by hotel we found out that Salama Beach would not take any bookings for that day to ensure they could put all their attention into the wedding).

We couldnt have asked for more, the hotel grounds were decorated with garlands and flower arches, there was a flower gazebo built on the beach where the ceremony was held, the restaurant had been beatifully decorated with such attention to detail. It was wonderful.

Now we had eaten at The Maridadi Restaurant on site before and knew the food was special, but catering for a party of 85 guests was going to be a tall order but the quality of the food was just as perfect as it had been the last time we ate there.

The owners, Christain & Monica have such a beautiful place here and really know how to make their guests feel welcome and well looked after, and these guys now how to throw a party!!!.
We owe a huge debt of gratitude to The Salama Beach staff for pulling out all the stops to make our wedding day such a memorable occasion, and not forgetting Joel, my hero, a wonderful man who will do anything to please his guests. He couldn't do enough for us and got everything we wanted so perfectly right.
The mix of Kenyan resourcefulness and friendliness with the German efficiency really pays off in this hotel.

We are looking forward to returning in the near future to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wsstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having traveled all over the world for many years, I consider Salama Beach Resort in Kanamai "Paradise Lost". Off the beaten track in more than one sense, it is an oasis of serenity and beauty. Owners Christian and Monica are outstanding hosts, and no effort is too much for them to make their guests feel at home and special.

The bungalows are comfortable and spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the resort. "Maridadi", the resort's restaurant, offers outstanding dishes of daily changing specials. Breakfast at Salama is among the most lavish I have encountered on my travels.

Right on the beach, visitors have a choice to go for a swim in the ocean or relax at the pool, which is large, clean and near both bungalows and restaurant. Well away from the large resorts, one may take beach walks without being disturbed by hordes of beach boys and hawkers. We wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel to eat in the seafront restaurant .We were not disappointed ,a delightful restaurant overlooking the beach.a complimentary taxi to and from the royal safari and beach resort was a bonus !the seafood is excellent fresh shell fish ,octopus catch of the day ?excellent service from attentive staff.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyjpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Salama Hotel is run by a German couple Christian & Monica. It is advertised in Germany so most residents are German. It is very peaceful. The resort has just 10 bungerlows and they all have small secluded patio/terrace areas. The rooms are spacious and have an African theme. They are well maintained and it is obvious there has been great thought put into the design.

The resort is outsanding on its cleanliness. Christians first concern is the guest and this is shown by the attention to detail and hospitality.

The grounds are well maintained with two fish pools lots of shrubs and greenery. There are weaver birds working away in the trees. There is a family of tortoises.

The resort has some outstanding staff who have to be commended for their work. The security is excellent. In fact we never once locked our doors. The housekeepers come twice daily and we had clean towels and sheet every other day. The roms are set up for night time and sprayed and mosquito nets pulled down. Flasks of hot water are provided for morning tea and a top up of tea and coffee. There are lots of small acts that make your stay memorable but this should be your surprise if you stay here.

The only draw back was the showers which tended to be cold! The weather was not good while we were there and they are theramally heated showers. We had 4 persons in our unit which meant the warm water had to go further. Chrsitian is looking to make changes to this.

Joel is the site manager and like all the staff, from the security, restaurant, groundsman and housekeepers was friendly, respectful and attentive.

The restaurant food serves a wide range of foods from African specialities, German and English menus. The Chefs are outstanding. There was not one meal that did not satisfy me.

Our party are all wordly travellers and the Salama must be one of the best finds ever. If you want peace, rest and relaxation you will get it knowing that the owners and staff all want to do their best to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were staying at the RR just up the beach, and left within the first 24 hours, having spent 4 days on Safari experiencing the excellent hospitality that Kenya is so good at. We thankfully discovered the Salama Beach Resort on a Mornings walk to decide just what to do. We are a family of Brother and Wife, Sister and Husband, we were very disappointed at the state of our first hotel.

We walked into the Salama Beach and asked if we could have breakfast, were approached by Joel, as it isn't normal to have 'walk in clients for breakfast' we explained our 'problem' and asked him for a room rate, and if we could veiw their rooms. I have to say, that he was more than helpful, showed us a 2 bedroom and also a 1 bedroom, and was prepared if they had available to offer 2 x 1 bedrooms for the same price as the 2 bedroom. Unfortunately that was not possible, but we took the 2 bedroom, that was stylishly furnished, spotlessly clean, complete with a working fridge and safe in the room. We also took on the full board option, which was excellent value for money, breakfast, choices of fruit juice, fresh fruit, cerals, yoghurt, eggs in any shape or form, bacon, sausages toast, Tea Coffe, and any other requirements I am sure they would have been willing to cater for. Lunch generally 3 courses, salad, hot main, and pud, Tea served by the pool at 4pm along with homemade cake, Evening meal 5 courses, Salad, Soup, Entree, Main and Pud all the food was excellent, apart from the African meal 1 night but that was a taste thing rather than anything being wrong with it.

Pool and gardens kept beautifully and clean, beach, swept, no resident beach boys, but once on the beach you became fair game, but not really intrusive, and we went with on a walk to the reef with them and their knowledge was fab, we would not have spotted or known what we looking at without them, can recommend Marco Polo and Man Friday!

Christian and Monika made sure that we were well looked after as did Stanley and the rest of the staff, all excellent, rooms cleaned daily, sprayed in the evening, nets put down and doors and windows closed to prevent mozzies!

My sister law and I both had a massage, and can well recommend it, lovely lass, and excellent. I also had a Manicure and Pedicure and probably one of the best, including Leg and Arm massage.

We only had 1 issue in that the weather had not been that good and the solar heating for the water was not effective, cold showers were the option, but understand that Christian is investigating an other option. But we felt that being the only snag it really didn't spoil our holiday.

We were there when Nairobi Airport was on Fire, and Christian was good enough to allow us to use his internet FOC to check and confirm our return flights which was a life saver.

Would recommend without hesitation, and if we return to Kenya again, we will be contacting Christian to book our relaxation part of the holiday there.

Sorry I haven't any photos at the moment, but it is every bit as lovely as ones already showing.

Room Tip: No room overlooks another, all look out over the pool and gardens and then over the sea. I would say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mombasa2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embres et Castelmaure
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We are a group of 2 teachers and 5 A Level students who volunteered at an orphanage . We went there for the day to celebrate Joe's 18th birthday. Slama beach resort was recommended to us and we are so glad we went there. We were treated like Kings. The service round the pool is first class and we tried the delicious coconut milkshakes. We spent most of the day chilling by the pool and swimming in the ocean, which comes right to the resort at high tide. We had a 5 course meal which was just devine. They had decorated the table with beautiful flowers and made the day very special. We were the only ones at the resort and had the place to ourselves. What a beautiful, peaceful place! We will no doubt come again next time we visit the Good Life Orphanage and will tell our firends to go.
Thank you so much for the kind staff for a brilliant day. Asante Sana

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomiMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kikambala
0.0 mi away
Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Boko-Boko Bungalows
Boko-Boko Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Kikambala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lantana Galu Beach
Lantana Galu Beach
#3 of 5 in Galu Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salama-Beach-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salama-Beach-Resort

Property: Salama-Beach-Resort
Address: | Kanamai Beach, Kikambala 5032, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kikambala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salama-Beach-Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Resort is the perfect choice for a relaxed holiday in a private atmosphere direct at the beach of the Indian Ocean.Surrounded by a 10.000sqm tropical garden you will find 10 spacious komfortable bungalows with 1 and 2 bedrooms, large terraces all with sea view, airc., minibar and save and seiling fans.Relax at our poolside, overlooking the ocean and enjoy the dound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Salama-Beach-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salama-Beach-Resort Kenya/Kikambala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing