We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Dunga Bay

Dunga Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Kisumu
Attraction details
Kakamega, Western, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I regularly take boat trips from Dunga Bay - we use a local boat owner that we have come to know and trust very well. You can take his boat from Kiboko Bay Hotel (you don't need to be a guest or purchase anything to take a boat).

You will see hippo's, birds - such as, Fish Eagle, many types of Kingfisher, Egrets etc etc. Even without the wildlife the trips are fun and relaxing. We love it.

Yes, the water hyacinth is a problem, so you need to time your trip carefully. We recently went out and the boat couldn't make its way back to our starting location because the return route had been cut-off. The result, we just had to walk a little.

So, if you like wild-life and birds in particular, we'd very much recommend this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dunga - stay away”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

if you want to see poor africa - go there - otherwise try to stay away from Dunga region - Dunga fish market is a place to see if you never want to eat fish in your life....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KievApartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fishing village under strain”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This should be a wonderful fishing village, but the habitat has been destroyed by the Water Hyacinth, which are blown by the wind across Lake Victoria and all too often settle round Kisumu and in Dunga Bay. It was hard work, but three men managed to guide a boat through the hyacinths the day I was there There was little hope if seeing hippos, though I was told early morning is best. Bird life terrific, and from the boat I saw a fish eagle, cormorants, pied kingfishers, egrets, hammerkops and purple heron. Had a great piece of fried tilapia at the vilage cafe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Boat Ride”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A nice place to ride in a motor boat and enjoy Lake Victoria. The adventure was hampered though by the immense growth of water hyacinth. Hope that this menace is halted some day. Would go again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

You have to go out and see it in the morning. Be wary of the boat owners who take you out to see the hippos. They will try to sell you a more expensive trip. "I'm sorry you don't have enough money, or else I could take you to see where all the hippos are." Still worth the trip out there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooster_Whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunga Bay also viewed

Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 

Been to Dunga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing