We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the only show in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mzuzu
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's the only show in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Found ourselves in Mzuzu to do a bit of parachuting round lake Malawi. We booked the sunbird after stopping and looking at the Sunbird Livingstonia in Senga Bay. Unfortunately they're not quite the same standard but the SB Mzuzu was pretty good.

Rooms were clean and quite large with a recently refurbished bathroom, the hotel itself was built in the 70's and looks dated but the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar on Friday night was a bit of a laugh as it's full of locals who are all up for a chat and breakfast was a good standard with lots to choose from.

Overall, a little expensive for what you get but not bad at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    17
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is the only hotel in Mzuzu and is functional, safe and clean. It has G4S security guards and a barrier control on the gate. Gardens are pleasant and well cared for. It has a good standard of food - breakfast is fresh and canned fruit, cereals, juices, yougharts, bacon, sausage, beef, chicken, eggs, pancakes, omelettes (made fresh on request - delicious), toast and pastries. The restaurant menu is limited but of a good standard - steak and chips, local fish, macaroni cheese was lovely and very filling. Wine and alcoholic drinks are available although there was no tonic for G&T or Diet Coke available while we were there due to a supply problem with Southern Bottlers (Sobo). The chocolate puddings were also off the menu due to the unavailability of chocolate. As a blonde european woman, I felt safe while staying here if stared at a little. Service was friendly if not very efficient/slow. The room was on the ground floor and I asked to be moved to a higher floor but they said they were unable to accomodate me. The rooms are standard business style rooms - flat screen tv with BBC world news channel and four other english speaking channels, air con which works, mosquito zappers, clean small bathroom with shower above the bath. Tea and coffee in the room and a complimentary bottle of water each night. comfortable bed and good lighting. Metal frame windows which need a good yank to close securely - 70s style architecture. There is a small gift shop and hairdressers and a pottery shop. There are also business facilities. I changed money during my stay but £20 just about cleaned them out of local currency! My colleague was only able to change £10 a couple of days later as they still didnt have enough kwacha. Our stay wasn't as expensive as other reviewers - costing about £80 per night for B&B and evening meal, with drinks, so we believed we had received value for money by British standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Adequate rooms which have benefitted from a recent refurbishment. Hotel set within beautiful grounds and within easy access of most amenities. Only complaint is that hotel is grossly over priced and as a result very quiet - c'mon sunbird - price according to your 2 stars, fill the hotel and create some atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Just avoid it. Absolutely overpriced. 161 dollars for a double room, without mosquito net, neon light, mosquitos provided, sad fourniture.. Staff is friendly and kind. Breakfast is ok, dinner room is terrible. the high price is due to the fact that in mzuzu there are not many middle-good standard hotels. So, my suggestion is to avoid mzuzu city center and stay in another one place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mzuzu hotels

LILONGWE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Excellent weather, perfect drizzles that go almost the whole year round, randomly, just a little outside the city centre, in Mzuzu, there is hospitality to be acknowledged. I spent two nights at this hotel the other time. The reception was very good. The staff were very willing to assist whenever I had need. The food was homely. The rooms well ventilated. I was also aware of the maintenance work that was going round, to keep the facility into its original shape. I am certainly looking forward to get there again.

Room Tip: You need to ask the staff to reserve the best room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immanuel Bofomo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you have to stay in Mzuzu stay here - it is clean, the rooms nice, good food in evening, friendly staff and a hearty breakfast (and coffee). Only drawback is that the bar is a walk round the building and inside an area at the back. Otherwise at Euro 60 a night B&B it is good value for Malawi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We were surprised to find this standard of hotel in Mzuzu. It was certainly well organised and the accommodation was quite adequate - with an aircon that worked well. The rooms need some attention - yet are comfortable and the restaurant is a little basic. Enjoyed the authentic Mzuzu coffee at breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful. I have travelled broadly across Africa - and for a town in Northern Malawi - this is an unexpected oasis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mzuzu
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mzuzu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ilala Crest Lodge
Ilala Crest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mzuzu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.5 mi away
Moni Lodge
Moni Lodge
#5 of 38 in Mzuzu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Property: Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Address: PO Box 231, Mzuzu, Malawi
Phone Number:
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Mzuzu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mzuzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing