We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge(Lake Nakuru National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
WestEnd Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bedelle(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveller rating
458
365
114
37
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
365
114
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafter darklake naivashamain buildingwater buckrooms are hugeroam freelythe ground floorhorse ridingsecurity guardbuffet stylehippos grazingbeautiful lodgeboat ridewild animalsdining halllounge areamosquito netting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice bungalows located in a large garden grazed by waterbucks, zebras,... and at night: HIPPOS!
It's quite the experience to have a hippo standing right in front of your window in the middle of the night. The rooms are huge and comfortable.
The only thing I did not like about this place was it was a bit too big, too many people in the dining room in the evening which made it quite loud.
Food was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here for a quick snack. We ordered sandwiches and fries thinking it was simple and quick. Big mistake. After an hour our food had still not arrived yet people who arrived after us were already eating their sandwiches! The waiter simply blamed his colleague. Beautiful location plus wildlife but the same is true of most of the other hotels on Lake Naivasha. Service is a serious let down at Sopa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWilkins2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at Lake Naivasha Sopa Lodge and we both agreed the experience was worth it. We both needed a break and after checking around about a couple of hotels in Naivasha we finally settled on Sopa Lodge and it did not disappoint.

The service was excellent and the staff very friendly from the manager to the security staff (there was only one staff in the restaurant on our last day who was not very nice but we did not let that not spoil for the rest). Special thanks to Ludi, who was very understanding and accommodating and was always cheerful. Despite her busy schedule she took the time to mingle with the guests.

The chefs did an amazing job with the food. There was always variety and the food was quite tasty. The one thing that stood out for me was that the hotel had gluten free muffins available during breakfast. This was a first for me as most people are not familiar with gluten free intolerance.

The room we got was on the ground floor and it was lovely and spacious (though the bathroom needs a bit of maintenance and the pillows are not very comfortable). The grounds are magnificent and the close proximity to the animals makes it all the more beautiful.

Keep up the good job Sopa!!!

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms as they are more ideal for hippo watching at night. Rooms 1-20 are best placed for viewing the animals during the day and at night and they are closer to the dining area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the nature. The drive to the resort is excellent. The rooms are very big with all the modern day amenities. The rooms are very clean. The staff is friendly and polite. The view from the room is excellent. The grounds are lush green and Giraffes, Zebras and Deers roam around in the day time. After 7:00 pm you have to call security to escort you to the dinner area as Hippos come to graze in the grounds. Early morning walks to the lake is wonderful. The hotel is nice and food is good. We were 2 adults and 2 kids and we had wonderful time staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fasih u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The drive into the lodge was very beautiful indeed and the rooms were also spacious as well. I particularly liked the view from outside the room of zebras, water buck and giraffes by the lake. There was reasonably fast, free internet and the only downside was the size of the place and congestion of the dining area. A great one night stay though!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews