We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sopa is in a class of it's own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sopa is in a class of it's own”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The grounds are not to be believed. You can walk the grounds of Sopa and see giraffe, colobus monkeys, ververt monkeys, water bucks, zebras, some beautiful birds, and at night hippos.

The food choices were numerous and tasty. Staff is quick to make sure you're satisfied.

Our room was spacious and we particulary liked being upstairs in one of the detached buildings which have four units...two up and two down. The downstairs units are larger and have a patio; the upstairs have plenty of room and a veranda. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda and watching the hippos come up near the rooms and eat. AWESOME!!

My only complaint was the temperture of the swimming pool....around 74 F...however, when have I ever gotten out of a pool and had a zebra peeking at me. Another AWESOME!!

Oh, don't bother paying for the Cresent Walk if offered to you. The animals on the grounds of Sopa are the same animals (I mean the same species).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    313
    100
    32
    17
See reviews for
248
315
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this fine resort,Woke up to Giraffes feeding on Thorn trees in-front of my room and water-bucks grazing right ahead,The view and ambience were totally out of this world,quite captivating.I would definately recommend these holiday retreat to anyone,Great rooms and excellent service.

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHassan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

For the first time i saw the hippos grazing, that too soo near to our resort rooms. They are soo beautiful and huge. At nite around 8 they come up the water near the resort and graze around. Special mention to the cottages. It was incredible. The whole resort was very calm n serene. We jus enjoyed our stay, but unfortunately we had jus 1 day to stay in that property. The Dinning area was huge the selection of wine was great. The buffet spread was too good. We just loved everything there. The rooms were quite big and comfortable beds and the washroom was very clean and modern. There were giraffes at our resort just grazing around, even water bucks, dikdik, monkeys were there. Overall our 1 day stay at the resort was splendid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughrea, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed the excellent facilities, food and friendly service. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, located in a lodge about 5 minutes walk from the main reception. The only downside was that we were warned not to walk back up to reception or back there after dinner, unless we had a hotel security person with us. Of course, this was to assure our safety although a little disconcerting. The food was excellent, with a great choice for all courses

Room Tip: Try and get a lodge close to reception, it may be safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
301 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice bungalows located in a large garden grazed by waterbucks, zebras,... and at night: HIPPOS!
It's quite the experience to have a hippo standing right in front of your window in the middle of the night. The rooms are huge and comfortable.
The only thing I did not like about this place was it was a bit too big, too many people in the dining room in the evening which made it quite loud.
Food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here for a quick snack. We ordered sandwiches and fries thinking it was simple and quick. Big mistake. After an hour our food had still not arrived yet people who arrived after us were already eating their sandwiches! The waiter simply blamed his colleague. Beautiful location plus wildlife but the same is true of most of the other hotels on Lake Naivasha. Service is a serious let down at Sopa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWilkins2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at Lake Naivasha Sopa Lodge and we both agreed the experience was worth it. We both needed a break and after checking around about a couple of hotels in Naivasha we finally settled on Sopa Lodge and it did not disappoint.

The service was excellent and the staff very friendly from the manager to the security staff (there was only one staff in the restaurant on our last day who was not very nice but we did not let that not spoil for the rest). Special thanks to Ludi, who was very understanding and accommodating and was always cheerful. Despite her busy schedule she took the time to mingle with the guests.

The chefs did an amazing job with the food. There was always variety and the food was quite tasty. The one thing that stood out for me was that the hotel had gluten free muffins available during breakfast. This was a first for me as most people are not familiar with gluten free intolerance.

The room we got was on the ground floor and it was lovely and spacious (though the bathroom needs a bit of maintenance and the pillows are not very comfortable). The grounds are magnificent and the close proximity to the animals makes it all the more beautiful.

Keep up the good job Sopa!!!

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms as they are more ideal for hippo watching at night. Rooms 1-20 are best place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 41 in Naivasha
222 reviews
8.7 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#8 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort

Property: Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Address: P.O.BOX 72630-00200 | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Sopa Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing