We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Night Safari and Walking Safari”
Review of Crater Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Lake
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Best for Night Safari and Walking Safari”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We recently spent two nights at Crater Lake lodge in Naivasha. The drive out to the lodge is a nice drive (about 45 minutes off the main road) and there are animals all along the way – we saw zebras, giraffes and many others. Walking down the steps, the camp area opens to a beautiful small lake filled with pink flamingos. Upon arrival, we lunched at the floating restaurant on the lake.

The lodge is under new management, and, while I have not been to the lodge before, we could see that many things are new at the lodge. Others have mentioned poor bathroom facilities and we did not find that to be the case anywhere on the grounds. The linens were new and of good quality and we could see some new cabins under construction. The tents were quite large with plenty of room to move around and a nice front porch with great chairs to watch the flamingos.

We took a night game drive which was fun and great to see so many animals grazing. It wasn’t great for pictures but we would still recommend it. We took a walking safari one morning which was amazing. To be standing just a few feet from giraffes and zebras was an incredible experience. I would HIGHLY recommend it.

The food at the lodge was good and there was plenty of it. The service, too, was good and friendly. We were told they had WIFI but we could never get it to connect. It did seem that the problem might have been outside of the lodge but I wouldn’t count on WIFI. The additional touch of a hot water bottle in the bed each night was much appreciated.

If you are looking for a quaint and quiet location you should consider this lodge. The upside is that it allows you to do things that you can’t do in the big parks – namely the night safari and walking safari. Both are well worth a stay at the Crater Lake lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were visiting this area on a daily trip. It is possible to walk around the lake (2,5 hours), the view is wonderful, the restaurant is on water, the stairs are leading down to the lake and flamingos. There are places to have picnic around reception since eating around the lake is not allowed. However, toilets at the reception were in awful state with flush not working. Still, a very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I spend
an overnight in Crater Lake, driving down from Nairobi.The 101 steps down to the tents were well worth the amazing view ; a lake filled with thousands of pink flamingos.later, when they took flight in the sunset, it was like they had become illuminated, unforgettable! The floating restaurant was fun and, staff attentive, however, accomodation basic and food below average, but then , we were in the middle of the bush. Well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for the last tent, which is the honeymoon tent more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Having lunch on a platform on the flamingo-dotted lake, colobos monkeys on your veranda and a buffalo spending the night in the bush next to your tent, this all gave me the right start of my 'discover Kenya' trip. Special mentioning: the walking safari with guide Paul. You climb out of the crater, and stand eye to eye with giraffes, zebras, gazelles and - at a safe distance - herds of buffalo. The safari tents are perfect and comfortable, and the food is tasty. I do hope to come back, with more members of my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent two nights at Crater Lake tent camp. The property is beautiful, woodsy, quiet and really away from it all. There is a very nice looking lodge (bungalows actually) and even a pool. The setting on a tiny crater lake is so nice as is the restaurant. Lots of flamingos in the lake as well as colobus monkeys right by the restaurant. BUT the camp ground was really in dissaray. The tents were very basic (just a tent and mattress with old sheets and blanket). The bathrooms for the tent camp were disgusting, not usable. (we used the lobby of the lodge bathroom). The staff was nice and we did a night game drive which was fantastic (saw lots of hyenas, hippos and other critters). It's so odd that the lodge/bungalows and property is so nice and tent camp a complete dump.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docterloeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here overnight and while a little basic, it was a great break from Nairobi City. The surrounding area is simply amazing and the view of the Lake is beautiful. Sleeping arrangements were very good, although I do agree the food wasn't fantastic. But again, considering it is far to good amenities, the place does well for itself. Good variety of drink options for the evening. We will return again at some point!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yv0nne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We came for a team retreat, and it was perfect. We enjoyed the food greatly, and the conference space was perfect for a team of 10. The hike for the sundowner was cool. Definitely a unique view of the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni_Mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crater Lake Tented Camp
Crater Lake Tented Camp
#14 of 41 in Naivasha
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake

Property: Crater Lake
Address: Naivasha, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing