We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible. Expensive, bad customer service and awful facilities.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fish Eagle Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Naivasha B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible. Expensive, bad customer service and awful facilities.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were looking forward to relaxing after two weeks working in rural Kenya. If we could, we would have returned on the road we came on. The reception staff were rude and unhelpful. Though we were promised linen there was none. We had to spend the first night wrapped in dirty blankets with nothing to cover the bare mattress. There is wifi but no sockets. The toilets had no toilet paper and the showers were cold. Moreover we were charged 1000 shillings for breakfast when we thought it was free. If you want a holiday don't come here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfbensonguiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I am always booked there when on business trips to Naivasha (though sometime they are fully booked and they have to relocate me to nearby Crayfish).
I like coming back after my 8 -5 engagement and relax at the nicely stocked bar, chat with the ever friendly barman and waiters. The meals are lovely though I enjoy a la carte dinner and buffet breakfast the most. Executive rooms are usually very nice, they are spacious, clean, got hot shower, they stock coffee and tea bags and a hot kettle for those who like a late night cup, beds are large and nice, various channels on TV (not too many though, but at least you can find movies, news, sports, and local channels). Over the weekends you can do swimming, bird watching, take a boat ride in lake Naivasha, ride a bike.
Overall, I find this a very enjoyable and relaxing place and value for your money.

Room Tip: go for executive rooms or the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we spent here 1 nite only, it is very well located just a few minutes by the hell's gate. Staff is friendly, food is very good and various I especially appreciated the breakfast. By far the best we had in kenya.
The only reason why im not given the fifth star is that the bathroom would need to be refreshed in particular the shower.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soisialachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed on business and this hotel was booked by my Kenyan based colleagues.

The hotel was tired but clean I staye in an executive room which needed a bit of TLC.

The staff were very friendly even down to security. They were also attentive without being intrusive and made you feel very welcome.

The food was not the greatest but was ok, suggest eating in the Fishermans next door

The location is amazing close to the Hells Gate Park which I had the privilidge to work in. the actual location of the hotel is very good with a short walk to Lake Naivasha. The are are Storks, Ibis, vast numbers of colourful birds and Hippos (behind a security fence at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloughie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived in a group of about 40 late afternoon and were welcomed with some juice at the reception. Room allocation was quick.
Unfortunately what they call the standard room was quite disappointing, very tiny, dark and not very well ventilated. Also the walls need a coat or two of paint. The shower cannot be regulated and most times the water was scalding.
Honestly for the amount they were charging one can get a better deal down at the coast during low season.
I took a walk to the campsite just to stretch my legs. Twas interesting watching the campers setting up tents and lighting the fires.
Back at FEI Poolside barbeque was good and the drinks were flowing with a friendly barman, music was good too. Next day breakfast was good and then went on a boat ride . For me that was the best part of the trip.
One particular receptionist was rather rude and asked us to drop and pick our bags in the room behind the receptionists counter....very weird ....we thot that some areas were for staff only. Anyway he was a young man and looked quite bothered.
So now you see why I said it is ok for a wkend/one night getaway?

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest room if you are staying for more than one night. You would rather pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

i have been to the fish eagle more than fourty times in the past four years so i have decided to write about it.
it is not your posh hotel but a campers paradise it is..has both camp site and rooms and i have had the joy of being in both, the restaurant is excellent, the food is not seven star but it is not bad either...the peace and quiet is what drives me there alot..a good haven for bird watchers and if you make friends with the night guards, they will call you when the hippos come out of the lake to feed...you should try it

Room Tip: good for campers, if you have young kids i recommend you carry your own mattresses and additional bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgicheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friend and I stayed in a basic double which was very tiny, but manageable for one night. It had a nice tv with a few channels. The shower had very hot water, but you couldn't regulate it, so it was either scalding hot or tepid.
The receptionist wasn't overly friendly when we arrived, but the rest of the staff was alright.
The food was mediocre but reasonably priced. I would recommend doing a la carte, as the buffet (which you get with full board) was overpriced and nothing great. They had a well-stocked bar and the drink prices were great. However, they would bring us multiple receipts for a single meal without a total, which I find really annoying and unprofessional.
We took a boat ride (3000K/ 1 hour) which was relaxing and nice. The pool table was tiny, dirty, and missing a few balls.
It's very conveniently located to Hell's Gate (a few km past entrance).
Overall, a decent place to stay for a night or two, though still seems a little over-priced for quality and service provided.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are tiny, be sure to see rooms before paying so you know what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRaberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
8.3 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Resort
Lake Naivasha Resort
#12 of 19 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Masada Hotel
Masada Hotel
#4 of 19 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
14.5 mi away
Burch's Resort Naivasha
Burch's Resort Naivasha
#11 of 19 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Inn

Property: Fish Eagle Inn
Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fish Eagle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Fish Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing