We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping, eh. Rooms were nice.”
Review of Fish Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fish Eagle Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Naivasha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A friend and I arrived at Lake Naivasha and decided to camp at Fish Eagle Inn for the night (we showed up on Valentine's Day weekend without reservations, so many places in the area were booked, oops!). While part of the hotel's outdoor area is beautiful and well cared for, I was surprised and disappointed to find piles of trash throughout the camping area. We camped in our own tent for the night, and it was alright, albeit a bit noisy from some parties that were going on. The next night, since it was to be our last night travelling before we flew out, we opted to splurge and get private room in order to have more space to chill out and relax. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was helpful, and our stay in the actual hotel was much more enjoyable than our experience camping. We were on a backpacker budget, however, and especially after splurging on a room, the restaurant was too pricey for us, so we found other options (nextdoor). Like I said, we were there on a busy holiday weekend, so that might have something to do with the state of the campground. Either way, it was a great location to stay to be able to hop on a bike and cycle to nearby Hell's Gate NP.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAPjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My boyfriend and i camped at the Fish eagle inn over the Easter holiday. We got there and paid for a tent, 2 mattresses and blankets but we had to wait for about 45 minutes in the dark for the tent to be brought to us, and when it finally came it smelled damp and mouldy inside. The mattresses were well worn and very thin.
We spent the night listening to the on going Rift valley festival from our tent in the neighboring fishermans camp, it was noisy til around 4.00 AM. The following morning( i took a cold shower, yet i had been told that showers were hot) we decided to head back home as the place was not worth another nights stay and asked management to re- imburse the money we had paid for the second night. They agreed to M-pesa the money to my boyfriend the following day. It has now been two weeks since we stayed there and they are yet to return the money! calls fro him to them are met with bureaucracy and rudeness. Am dissapointed to say the least.

Room Tip: Choose a day when no festivals are going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuthkNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Good facilities, nice staff, nice and quiet area.. Needs some renovations (that are now partially undergoing) and maybe a little expensive. Swimming pool really good and well maintained. Overall is a place to recommend..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank churchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at the Fish Eagle for a few days and I must say that the service was good, the breakfast was delicious and plenty, the grounds are well maintained, and the rooms are spacious and clean. I particularly enjoyed the water pressure of the shower. The hotel really needs some renovation though. On the other side, the a la carte menu is very expensive and not very exciting in terms of food options. Fisherman's next door has good food and good prices. One thing that really annoyed me was the loud noise and loud music at the campsite, and this went on all night. There was no manager at night and so the night guard was kind enough to inform the campers to tone it down, which they did for a while and then they were at it again. I hope the management addresses this issue because the accommodations are really comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in the Fish Eagle Inn for just one night. Although the rooms and the whole hotel look somewhat outdated it was ok for one night. We also had dinner there which was simply superb. The staff serving breakfast started half an hour earlier than normal because we had to leave early. Breakfast was also delicious and more than rich. The staff at the restaurant was very anxious to provide good service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angimbe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Vast compound. A rich mix of executive rooms and cottages. Hippo viewing and boat rides. Delicious African and continental dishes. Suitable for transit/stop overs to Kenya's famous Maasai Mara National Park

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I would like to warn people about Fish Eagle Inn. While we were staying here I had money stolen.
We are almost certain not by guests, it were their staffs.

The reception staff was rude and unhelpful.

BE CAREFUL of their staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
12.5 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 7 in Naivasha
29 reviews
13.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 42 in Naivasha
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Masada Hotel
Masada Hotel
#5 of 31 in Naivasha
37 reviews
3.1 mi away
Burch's Resort Naivasha
Burch's Resort Naivasha
#8 of 31 in Naivasha
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eseriani The Hotel
Eseriani The Hotel
#3 of 31 in Naivasha
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Inn

Address: Moi South Lake Rd, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Naivasha
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fish Eagle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Fish Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing