We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Lahai Cottages

The 13 mtr heated pool with Cottage in background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 13 mtr heated pool with Cottage in background
Larger cottage from garden Smaller cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The 13 mtr heated pool with Cottage in background
Larger cottage from garden
Smaller cottage
Patio area between cottages
Upstairs bedroom balcony larger cottage
Upstairs bedroom larger cottage
Bathroom larger cottage
Looking down the garden
Dining room smaller cottage
Downstairs bedroom larger cottage
Sunset over the Lake from Cottages
Secluded covered Patio and BBQ area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naivasha, Rift Valley Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Toral M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We went to Lahai for 2 nights in October... we had a brilliant time.. from the ambience to the caretaker and cook.. everything was great...

The only thing we would recommend is mosquito nets please.. going with little children bug spray is not a great idea..

Thank you Andrew for also bringing our things we left behind...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global35
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful paradise”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you are looking for a weekend trip out of Nairobi and haven't explored the North side of Lake Naivasha then we highly recommend coming to stay at Lahai Cottages! The houses are well furnished, cosy and are so quiet and peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed having the dogs accompany us along the bush walks, and we made good use of the tennis court and pool. It's also in very close proximity to Great Rift Golf Course so we enjoyed spotting zebra and dik dik on the Green as well as drinking in the bar overlooking the forest down to the lake.

The staff were super friendly, everything was easy to use and we can't wait to come back and stay! Also a tip for travellers, we decided to drive towards the south of the lake and we are so glad we did as you pass through a lot of private conservancies so we spotted warthogs, antelope and giraffes roaming by the road. You need a 4x4 as its very very bumpy and rocky! Also we stopped for lunch at Ranch House Bistro which in the little Kongoni lake and it was wonderful - roasted pork, samosas, pizzas and a big green stretch of grass leading down to the river where we spotted more wildlife including monkeys!

Highly recommend Lahai and surrounding area :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had an excellent stay at the Lahai House Cottages! The cottages were very comfortable, and the staff were wonderful. Our meals were prepared by Mary, the cook, with ingredients we provided, and we all agreed that she did a great job! One cottage has a kitchen and dining room downstairs and a bedroom with 1 bed upstairs. The second cottage has a sitting room with a TV and DVD player, a room with 4 beds downstairs, and a room with a king size bed upstairs. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous. Andrew was very responsive and accommodating when trying to make arrangements. Overall, the weekend went very well and we truly enjoyed ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDP-Macha...
Machakos County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, solidly serene, quiet and yet near the action”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We greatly enjoyed our stay. Lahai Cottages are a pair of quaint, slightly tumbledown homestays with Alpine rooflines that you hire together for a set price. They are neither shiny-glitzy like some of the more pretentious hotels, nor utterly sparse and austere in the style of those god-awful ‘eco-lodges’ that are sprouting up everywhere on dubious ‘conservancies’. Cosy, wholesome, tastefully rustic and set in a number of acres of tree-dotted lawn, these cottages suited our no-nonsense family. The solar-heated swimming pool was genuinely warm enough and, although small, is ample for the number of guests who might stay at the two Cottages and the separate, neighbouring ‘Main House’ at any one time. There’s also a good cement tennis court (with practice wall) on site, which guests have access to, and which seemed to have been recently resurfaced. We borrowed the racquets and balls from the owners of the main house, who were elsewhere, but it’s probably best to take your own equipment.
Basically, you hire the cottages for a few days: bedclothes and towels, etc., are changed as required, and the kitchens in each cottage have pans, utensils, cutlery, crockery and the like. All you need to take is your own food, which you can either cook for yourself or ask the resident cook, Pamela, to prepare for you according to your requests; if you employ the cook, this costs an additional 1000Kes per day. We asked Pamela to prepare a cooked breakfast and evening meal each day, but we hear that other guests might request more or less. The cooking was good. Oh, and there’s a television and DVD player in one of the sitting rooms.
While the owners’ six free-roaming dogs (medium-large to tiny) are extremely friendly and good with children, guests with children who are (for some inexplicable reason) afraid of dogs, might wish to stay elsewhere. Beyond the dogs, we saw numerous birds, but none of them were particularly out of the ordinary. An Olive Thrush poo’d on my car, which was fine.
The Cottages are located in a ‘Greenpark’, a housing estate that feels very unlike a ‘housing estate’, insofar as the plots are large and the whole area green, high up above Lake Naivasha, which can be seen from certain parts of the Lahai property. Greenpark itself seemed to be part of the wider Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Club; apparently, on a Thursday evening, Lahai guests can, if they so wish, join other Greenpark residents for drinks and whatever else it is that golfing people do. Personally, I don’t golf, a ‘sport’ played by people with small white balls. But I DID find the Resort’s general stores (a short drive of two kilometres from the Cottages) very useful, bearing in mind that Naivasha’s supermarkets are quite a way away – perhaps 15 kilometres, but this, to be fair, along a very straightforward route and good roads. These general stores had all manner of Farmer’s Choice meat products, and some interesting sausages that I’d not seen before; also, tinned vegetables and fruit, and other basic supplies, including some terrible homemade marmalade that seemed to have large lumps of rock-sugar in it. Still, unlike my near namesake, Paddington, this Partington can live without marmalade. The shopkeeper was kind enough, during one of her jaunts into the neighbouring Naivasha town, to buy us some chicken to cook – so, as you can see, there was something of a community spiritedness to the place, which we liked.
The cottages are sufficiently close to Naivasha that a good day trip can economically be made each day to that town/southern lakeside, or even to the excellent Kariandusi prehistoric site in the other direction. We like the prehistoric site; my father always feels at home there amongst tools of the sort that, I believe, he encountered when a child.
All was solidly excellent, and we enjoyed it for a three-night getaway. A few minor quibbles, many of which are similar to those I have regarding other slightly older properties (homestays and lodges/hotels) around Kenya, and which are therefore easily dismissed by you, dear reader… Firstly, there’s a lot of wooden tongue-and-groove in the Lahai Cottages, which at times made me feel like I was inside a Swedish sauna from the 1970s. Secondly, some of the thingummies seemed in need of renewal; for example, Christmas-themed napkins, a rusty lavatory flush that gave-out during my father’s moment of greatest need (to be fair, the excellent groundsman fixed it immediately), sharp-edged tiles at the base of the pool that require re-grouting, and so on. And yet, to be perfectly honest, it was the homeliness of things that made this a relaxing, pleasant stay, and anyway too much perfection always ruins holidays for me, making me feel uncomfortable. I dislike being held to fixed timings, fixed menus and fixed ‘happy bloody hours’, and so a please-yourself cottage-stay suits me very well indeed. And, where I mention little things, this is because I can see that the owners are receptive and respond to guest comments; a previous comment in the always-praising Visitors Book mentioned the ‘need’ for a fixed chimenea in one of the cottages, and it was clear that such a thing had been fixed following this guest recommendation.
In short, a good place for some quiet with the family (and better than bloody hotels, which nauseate me), or for a weekend with friends and bring-your-own-booze, but also a fine base for driving out beyond the solitude of Lahai itself and out into the buzz, fizz and noise of Naivasha and its ‘South Road’.
Finally, regarding pricing. We found it economical, bearing on mind that the two cottages together can accommodate eight people (two sets of double beds in separate rooms, and then four single beds in the same room), and yet I always wonder why Kenyan homestays cost three times the amount of a similar-quality good bed-and-breakfast in, say, the UK? The whole Kenyan tourism industry is, frankly, overpriced, if you ask me – which you didn’t. I’d go again, certainly, but I’d haggle the owners down and pay Pamela more. This is because I’m a pathetic liberal while, at the same time, being an utter miser. Visit. You’ll enjoy it. We did. And I’m already missing the greenery of Naivasha, now that I’m back home in Machakos County, where we’ve not seen green grass for bloody months.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabelle...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat from Nairobi”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a lovely weekend at the cottages with our three kids. Well maintained cottages and gorgeous property with a private tennis court and heated pool. The only issue we had was that the cook who I understood was not the regular chef was not very well versed with basics like bbqing chicken, baking fish or even setting the table and accordingly we spent more time than we would have liked cooking and overseeing the kitchen. Nevertheless the staff were helpful and pleasant. Mosquito nets would be a good addition as there were lots of mosquitoes, possibly due to the rain. All in all it was a nice relaxing weekend for adults and kids and we would return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onecrazyh...
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Two cute A-frame cottages and a main house set in large grounds. Although the cottages and main house are in the same compound, they are very private; the owner and his family were in the main house on the same weekend and we couldn't tell at all! Cottages have a fully-equipped kitchen plus handy kitchenette as well as an outdoor grill. The pool was a little cool but my two year old could swim in it with no problem. We also had a TV/DVD player in the living room as well as access to the tennis courts but we didn't think to bring DVDs or Tennis rackets! Mary, the cook, was super! Polite, friendly and could cook everything we asked with little to no instruction. The owner was friendly and quick to respond and we spent a lovely few days swimming, eating and barbequing. We ended up extending our stay and will definitely be going back. The road is a tiny bit rough getting there so, although our saloon made it ok, I recommend a car with higher clearance until the road works are complete (maybe 2015).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really but the Main Bedroom was gorgeous, with a lovely bathroom with tub, fantastic view from the balcony and a bed you could sleep in all day.
Liked least: Living room could probably have cosier furniture and the pool is set a little way off from the house, which may be a consideration for older or less mobile visitors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“If you need to get away from the rat race, go there”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Tranquil environment, Cabin furnished tastefully, clean and friendly. massive help by the staff Peter, Moses and my wife was particularly impressed by Jane, the cook. She was versatile and cordial. Clean pool, serene gardens and impressive Tennis Court. The road to the place had just been fixed so no need for a 4 x 4. The place would do with TV in the living room and/or a sound system for the evenings. Stop considering it. Just go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The room rate per day was a little steep because of the holidays.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing