We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent two nights here for a learning session. Location is the perfect place to take time out to think and laugh real loud with friends and colleagues. Due to the size of the place, you must have your own car to move around or at the very least contact reception who are totally helpful to get you around at any time of day or night. Rooms are well ventilated but it tends to get pretty cold at night, being 7000 feet above sea level. Remember to call reception and request for a hot water bottle well in advance... they run out pretty quick. I am not a golfer and so will not comment on the golf course. It is pretty breathtaking for business, couples or a solo trip. It was hard packing up on the last day to leave the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your comment on the TA forum. We are so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed.
I notice your concern on transport and Hot water bottles. Though you have not complained i feel we can handle these two items better so our Guest experience becomes better. These are now on my screen and i will work with the team to ensure an improvements.
Kind Regards,
The Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Beautiful 4 plex room overlooking the Great Rift Valley, but the bathroom really needs some work. The shower drain overflowed and the sink leaked. Buffet food was very, very good and the staff is excellent. The service in the a la carte restaurant was extremely slow. We both enjoyed fabulous massages, and wonderful wildlife walks, including an amazing bush breakfast.There were zebras grazing on the golf course, so amazing to see up close. Rough road access.

Room Tip: Check the bathrrom first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying at the Naivasha Unit and most important for taking time to post your feedback.
We notice that you were happy about your experiences. You have raised concern about the Bathroom that i will follow up with the unit and resolve shortly.
We are so glad you made it GRVL.
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent two nights here on our flying safari and what a great place to stay. Staff where excellent and went the extra mile - thanks Jack for the surprise birthday treat!
Wonderful view across the valley and seeing the sunrise over the Rift Valley is something we will remember forever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johno457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the place. it is indeed true this is an awesome stop for a Flying Safari.
Good day
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Pros

NIce hotel, the place and views are really spectacular. Good Golf course. The food is very good, even the buffet. Excellent service, they really try.

Cons

you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbour is doing, so privacy is interrupted. Actually it is a very BIG bad thing. Only because of this I wouldn't go back at the hotel. Unless you they can ensure your this is not going to be a problem. I had a room on the lower floor, it might be that. Also there is some room to make it more modern, but it doesn't mean is bad, just a personal opinion.

Room Tip: dont go to the rooms of the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santiagoviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback that is truly appreciated. Your concern is noted and i will check with management which you room you had.
Allow me to mention that we have other categories of rooms including Chalets and Villas where i am sure this problem would not be experienced.
However as mentioned i will pick it up and resolve.
So glad you came.
Kind regards,
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was the stopover accommodation for Lake Nakuru. Lovely view over valley and beautiful sunrise. Food all buffet style but plenty of choice. Room needed maintenance toilet door was off runners and not too keen on the exposed electrical wires. Appears to be mainly geared for golfers and conferences. Rough road in but became used to that in Kenya, after all we were on safari. As our main purpose was to visit Lake Nakuru that part was extremely disappointing as the advertised millions of flamingoes are no longer there due to extremely high water levels. I am doubtful I would visit this area again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dar Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Point on maintenance noted and will be addressed. It should not have been the case and for that I apologize in advance.
The GRVL Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed there in August for a meeting. Food is very good - with lots of vegetables, salads, fruits - with plenty of choices. Rooms are big and very much ok, I stayed in the rooms closer to the main entrance area. Plenty of space for walks in the morning. Conference rooms are also very good, excellent service and staff. The bar seems very old and a bit run-down. Apart from that, a good place for a break, golf, and a meeting. Recommend.

Room Tip: The ones closer to the reception are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you again in the near future
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you are looking for a great place to have a business retreat, a conference where you encourage people to get to know one another, or are looking for a golfer's paradise where zebra and impala graze nearby in the morning mist, this is the place for you.

In a sincere effort to give a very balanced review, I will provide all of the information I wish someone would have told me before I went. I will also divulge that I was a guest here for 6 nights in a group of 25+ people for a conference, it only rained once during my stay, and this was during the cool season in Kenya. This hotel sits at an elevation of 7,000 ft above sea level, which can make your morning runs harder, but oh-so much better because of the views!

The Pros:
+The grounds are simply gorgeous, and ask for a room with a view from your patio! My room had two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows (with ample heavy drapes for night) and a view of the valley and lake below that was astounding! If you stay at a residence, they are unparalleled in beauty and have the nicest views on the property.
+The elevation made mosquitos virtually non-existant (in August for sure). I saw maybe 5 during my whole stay, and none in my room. No mosquito nets needed at the resort, just if you take trips down to the lakes and valleys. I didn't even use the spray or wipes I brought with me.
+The food! Every day there was a tremendous variety of food for all 3 meals, and they kept rotating items in and out and changing the specialties and desserts so there was always something new! No one in our whole huge party got sick from anything they ate, and everything was prepared professionally, with great care and concern for the health of the guests, and the staff were so accommodating!
+The conference facilities were top-notch and easy to locate. Set apart from the other resort areas, we were not interrupted by other guests and the facilities were well-maintained. There was power, internet, plenty of large desks and comfortable chairs, and the coffee/tea breaks were consistently well-stocked and delicious. Try the local Kenyan Tea!!!
+The grounds are dimly lit at night and the stars are simply amazing!
+The staff go out of their way to make sure you have the most amazing experiences! They orchestrated an amazing "Bush Dinner" for our group with live dancing by local tribesman, they held a pool-side evening buffet and party with music and patio-warmers to keep us all comfortable and having fun, and once again the food and beverage selection was amazing at both!
+I'm not a golfer, but this course looked awesome! I saw a lot of golfers having a great time, and as I ran around the course each morning, there seemed to be a good variety in terrain and challenge. The course seems well-manicured and maintained.
+The isolation from other resorts, towns, or roads combined with the large, relaxed meal space means you really get to spend quality time getting to know your colleagues or travel mates. It feels a bit like being on a cruise ship where you see the same people for common activities for a week. :-)
+Although the normal rate can be a bit steep, they really help out groups with good rates.
+The breakfast area is great for exotic bird watching!
+The staff and grounds crews are obsessively cleanly and they take pride in making sure every bit of the resort is cleaned daily.

The Cons:
-The property roads are dark at night, so you cannot walk to all of the residences, but this is easily solved because the front desk arranges for many drivers to shuttle you around the property.
-The elevation makes for cool mornings and temperate afternoons, but you can get a little cold and there is no heat or A/C in the rooms. It is totally manageable, but during August you would want to bring sweaters, pants, and dress in layers to be around the resort for the warmer parts of the day.
-Wi-fi. If you are accustomed to having internet in your hotel room, then you should buy a Safaricom wireless hotspot at the airport and charge it with a data plan before you venture here. Internet is only available in the lobby and conference areas. Although, the wireless the provided is decently fast!
-Also, the difficulty of achieving signal meant that I had to try to run my credit card a few times in their machines before it obtained signal.
-This resort caters to people who like quiet, so you cannot call between the rooms and their version of a "wake up call" is a knock on your door in the morning at your appointed time. Bring your phone or travel alarm clock.
-The road leading up to the resort is atrocious. This is the only true drawback to the place, and you should NOT attempt to drive that road in a normal passenger car if you want your shocks to be intact at the end of your journey. By bus, or hotel vehicle, it will take about 20 minutes from the main road to reach the resort, and you pass through some native habitats where you can see baboons, zebra, various deer, antelope and impala. Once you are on the resort grounds, the roads are great! [I hear they keep the road unpaved to prevent the average person from coming up there and it remains private for the rich and famous on holiday].
-My bed was pretty darn firm. This is the way I have experienced it everywhere though, in both East and West Africa the extra firm mattress seems to be the norm. To get around this, I doubled my comforters underneath me and used the quilt as a blanket to sleep all the way through the night until I was acclimated.
-The food is so good you can easily get fat. :-)

My Overall Experience:
I would go here again in an instant. I don't think it gets better than this in Naivasha, and of all of the places I have visited in Kenya this was the nicest facility outside of Nairobi specializing in golf and safari/game drives.

*My top tip- Grab a friend or your spouse and go for a morning run 20 minutes before sunrise around the perimeter by the 100's residences for an amazing sunrise over the valley- if you run the whole loop from the 5000's block it is a perfect 5k.

Room Tip: With a standard room, ask for one facing East over the valley, and if you go for the residences, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineNDine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
I do read all Guests comments and normally i have a comment when i finish. This is one is truly all inclusive and so i add or negate nothing.
It is a very good summary and of what we are and i will use as a case for future improvements.
Regards,
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
10.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
14.1 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
78 reviews
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Naivasha
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 7 in Naivasha
29 reviews
11.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#7 of 41 in Naivasha
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range: £192 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing