We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break, superb service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chui Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely break, superb service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at Chui last weekend with three female friends. We came away for a relaxing break after a busy work period and we certainly were not disappointed! We were checked in smoothly and were very pleased with the two rooms: nice and spacious, plenty of hot water, lovely bath products and comfy beds. In the evening they come and light the fire and put hot water bottles in both beds. The meals were very high quality and the chef wonderful: I was a little fussy over some options and he happily created my own dessert for me and my friend a vegetarian option for supper. After each meal he came out to check everything was ok. I was feeling a little under the weather and so the staff made me a hot drink make with ground lemon and ginger! We were very impressed with the private safari and it was great that we could choose the length and the time. The conservancy is beautiful and we saw a lot of animals including a male lion, George. The evening sundowners were delightful. In the morning we went on a short walk with the van shadowing us (due to said lion!). Everything in this hotel runs smoothly without the feeling of being over run with staff as you so often experience. The grounds were beautifully kept and i will certainly return. Excellent :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
65
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an excellent visit at chui lodge and Kiangazi house. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially our guide Chris and the operations manager Ms. Florence. The accommodations were fantastic and we enjoyed seeing a leopard and a thousand wildbeests , warthogs.We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and I can't recommend this property enough.

Room Tip: @chui lodge I can`t get enough for Oloiden. What about Kiangazi hse Roller is the room to be , has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel stands inside a private reserve, so you can expect the experience of getting to see animals from the close.
The hotel is really nice and cozy. The service is excellent.
But for me... the biggest highlight is the food! Wow... from breakfast to dinner, really superb!

Tips:
a) If you are resident you can get a special rate (as in most of hotels in East Africa).
b) when booking ask for the Shemeji room. It is the one withthe best location, view and space.

Room Tip: Tips: a) If you are resident you can get a special rate (as in most of hotels in East Africa). b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maesparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We visited Chui Lodge following a game drive around Osarian conservancy. A real treat to have such a lovely lunch while enjoying wildlife visiting a waterhole. While the menu is set it was 4 courses of yummy ness. Having enjoyed our lunch we retired to the swimming pool area to relax before heading back to our accommodation.
Would like to try the interesting chalet like rooms, maybe next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sijui1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda md usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

As part of a three stop "safari" we stayed at Chui Lodge. From our arrival, met by the chef to select our lunch fare to our departure after an excellent champagne lunch by a flock of flamingos, all went well. The lodge provided a guide, James, who replaced our safari guide. We went on a boat ride past fabulous flamingo gatherings, visited an island, returned for tea and then James took us on an extremely thorough, productive game drive around Oserian sanctuary. Then extended the drive with drinks around a campfire and a night search for leopards. Dinner was ready shortly after we returned to our cabin. Fire in the fireplace, massive bathroom, spacious living area.
Early the next morning, he took us on another productive game drive, concluding with the champagne breakfast. We then had to leave for our next stop, which didn't give us time to visit Hell's Gate Park, which sounded very interesting, nor were we able to enjoy their pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6205cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We (a group of 4 ) loved Chui Lodge.The food was the best I have ever eaten from entree through to wonderful desserts.My husband organized a bush breakfast for my birthday including champagne and a great cake AND we had the breakfast down by Lake Navisha surounded by hundreds of pink flamingos. It was a magical setting and a birthday I will always remember.
I loved the wood carvings in the dinning area,the fireplace lit at night in our room,the big bed with a perfect rose on the pillow and a hot water bottle,the big bathroom and good lighting in the bathroom,the beautiful vase of flowers in the room and in the dinning area bathroom.
We did a trip to Lake Nakaru Park -2 hours each way-and we did see plenty of animals and beautiful scenery but the pink flamingos were back at Chui Lodge on Lake Navisha.There is also a waterhole in front of the dinning area(outside a fence) which has numerous animals come to drink.We really enjoyed sitiing outside with a glass of wine watching the animals come to drink. It was a real holiday.For those who need to use Wi fi there was good reception at and near the dinning area.
The staff were friendly and efficient- Chris our guide, Stanley the assistant manager who also did an excellent job serving our meals and Anthony the best chef ever
We all loved our stay and would return again if we got back to Kenya

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I went for special celebration.
Everybody, from safari guide -Bernard - to David - Head FB- pampered us as unexpected.
Great food service, good quality, great accommodation, and amazing breakfast next to thousands of flamingo and birds , facing giraffe .
All was so good that it will be difficult for us to recommend somebody specifically but strongly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Suite next to swimming pool is just one time life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#3 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chui Lodge

Property: Chui Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Rd | Oserengoni Wildlife Sanctuary, Naivasha, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 8 en suite individual and well-spaced luxurious cottages each with its own veranda and views of the Rift Valley escarpment and the Sanctuary. The bedrooms have magnificent four poster king size olive wood beds, roaring log fires, artistically decorated artwork and hand crafted furniture made in our onsite workshop. The dining room, lounge and bar area feature pillars and mural with intricate African carvings, African antiques and ochre colored walls creating the feel of an artist's gallery. A short walk from the main building and cottages is a swimming pool with views across the waterhole and the conservancy beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chui Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing