We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant even get rates!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I've heard good things about this place but cant even get any rates from them! I inquired through their website a week ago, and still haven't received a response.

When I called the hotel today to ask about rates, I got a rude bookings manager who wasn't even willing to give me rates, and insisted that he can't confirm inter-connecting rooms as that's subject to availability - what a load of crock! Worse still, he couldn't confirm that we would get rooms next to each other. Why would I book a hotel where I risk being put in a separate wing from my children?

Its clear that this is not a hotel welcoming local tourism, and the reservations office is unhelpful and far from what you would expect of a hotel rated this highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank HVrNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

We went to Kenya to get married and our family came too. The hotel was fantastic. The food was excellent, the drinks were great. The staff were brilliant and friendly and helpful. We stayed in a very beautiful honeymoon room which was huge, private and had sea views and a nice jacuzzi!!! The wedding co-ordinator was called Renson Adoyo and he organised everything and made our special day perfect and outstanding. He thought of everything, even a beautiful bunch of flowers and a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. Renson organised vehicles to come and get the wedding party.. and us and had organised a beautiful beach wedding in a wonderful setting. He had two guitar players, which were fantastic, a wonderful cake, beautiful sitting area after our ceremony and then surprised us by organizing dinner at one of the best restaurants in Kenya, in a cave! Couldn't of been better!! Thank you Renson....The Hotel is very nice and has everything that you could need to relax, swim, eat, shop and just wonder down the beach. There were shows at night and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Checked in on 25th for my honeymoon, was well received and upgraded to the superior room.
The food was excellent and so was the room not to mention the white sandy beaches and the animation team.
My five days stay went so fast, anyone looking for some pampering and privacy this is the best gift for your wife you will not regret it. The staff are so friendly and courteous. Thank you Baobab teamn

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliazaro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We are a couple who are past holidays with the children and wanted a few days on Safari and the rest of the holiday chilling and lying by the pool. In our second marriage this was in effect our honeymoon. In Kole Kole we found a paradise with service that was second to none.
We booked through Thomson at the Baobab but were upgraded to Kole Kole and all I can say is that if you are planning to stay at the Baobab and can afford it the Kole Kole is worth the extra. If not then don't worry as whichever of the three hotels you stay at the facilities are available to all and the service you get will be given by people who take a real care in what they do and are genuinely interested in you having a fabulous time.
The pools are spectacular and there is so much space that you can lie in the sun without feeling claustrophobic.
We booked all inclusive and the food was so good that we didn't feel the need to eat out.
Similarly the entertainment was so good that we didn't want to miss any of the shows.
We enjoyed the safari but the resort was so good that we would gladly have stayed there the whole time and when we returned to the resort after a few days on safari we felt like we were coming home.
We don't tend to write reviews but we felt that the hotel and people deserved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and sea views are from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDLOIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have stayed at the Kole Kole twice this year already and plan to return many more times. We live in Nairobi and like to get away to Mombasa and The Baobab Beach Resort offers everything you need to get away from it all. The Kole Kole is part of the resort and when you are staying here you can experience all parts of the hotel, I cannot comment on any of the other hotel restaurants as we take all our meals in the Kole Kole restaurant as it's so lovely. We did have one meal in the fish a la carte restaurant for my birthday and that was awesome. Fresh lobster doesn't come much better than this!! All of the pools in the resort are awesome but the Kole Kole Pool is simply spectacular. It is an infinity pool overlooking the Indian Ocean - what more can I say! The staff here are amazing and are always prepared to help out and assist and are incredibly welcoming. The food is great, plentiful and fresh. There's something to suit everyone. We book a superior room as these are on the end and look out over the infinity pool and ocean which in my opinion is a view worth paying a few Ksh more for. Many of the hotels in Mombasa have salt water showers but this one is all clean and fresh. Finally, there are beach boys on the beach. It maybe slightly different for us because we live in Kenya so know how to handle them but they are all really nice people and a smile and a chat go a long way. They just want to make a living and will make you anything you want.

My advice is don't hesitate in booking the Kole Kole, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wow, wow, wow! Our 2nd time here and won't be our last...
Last time we stayed (2011) our 7 day safari started two days after arrival, so we had two days there, then only 5 on our return, neither long enough to thoroughly enjoy our surroundings. This time our safari started on arrival so when it finished we had the opportunity to enjoy it for a full week this time.
Amazingly when you consider how many people must pass thru the doors each year some of the staff did remember us from last year which I find amazing
We stayed in the Kole Kole section but you have free access throughout the complex including Maridadi & Baobab. To be honest we didn't really venture much further than Kole Kole during the day and only as far as Baobab in the late afternoon or early morning. You can eat at any of the buffet restaurants where a good range of food is served (including live cooking stations) morning, noon & night. Most evenings the restaurants are themed adding to the ambience and fun of the evening (although the white night was a bit tricky eating under blue/white fluoresce) The a la carte restaurants (Tangezi - Italian or Marhaba - Thai) are paid not part of the All Inclusive package but are very reasonably priced and the food although a limited menu it is beautifully presented/cooked. We missed out this year but last year we were able to eat our evening meal on the beach; unfortunately it was the week before we arrived this time :( Afternoon tea is served in each section of the hotel with a selection of sandwiches, cakes, donuts and freshly popped popcorn!
The daytime entertainment team are very enthusiastic, unfortunately we never went to the amphitheatre to experience the evening shows but there was something different each night.
The Kole Kole rooms are very spacious and kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping team. We had a problem one day when our air con unit started leaking (pouring!) water but a quick visit to the housekeeping team office (there is one on each floor) and help was summoned and sorted within half an hour.
I'm not an avid user of spa services but I did take an hour to enjoy a massage at the Ayfa Bora Wellness Centre, very relaxing with the sound of the wind in trees and the sea outside.
We'd packed light this time with a view to using the laundry service which proved to be very efficient.
I knew I should not have left this report for so long as I am now struggling to remember the names of the staff who made the whole experience and the only names that stand out at the moment are Juma, Silas & Kufaa in the Jodari restaurant..when I remember the names I will re-post
GREAT HOLIDAY WE WILL BE BACK hopefully for two whole weeks next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 900+ are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

If you are travelling to Kenya and staying in Diani Beach please use JT Safaris for your safari experience. Please make sure it is Julius Tact as other companies are pretending to be Julius. We had an amazing safari experience with him and were able to see all the top five and our driver George could not have been more helpful and fun throughout the whole three days. Julius rang us each day to make sure everything was good and even gave us a present at the end of our safari.

The Baobab hotel is amazing and we could not fault. Although it is very big it has so many areas where you can go and swim or just sit and relax that you do not realise how big it is. Would recommend staying in one of the bungalows near the pool as not far from the beach. Dont be afraid to venture onto the beach the beach sellers are really not that bad and are just trying to make a living and are very friendly. Just be firm with them. We were not disturbed when we sat on the beach every day and once you have bought a small item from them will leave you alone or just have a chat with you. We went on a trip to Wasini with one of them which was excellent. Dont pay extra for trips with Thompson go with the locals and support them.

Julius Tact will also arrange local trips as well as safaris so please do use him. He will come to the hotel to collect you and take you to his office just down the road and then run you back.

Do support the local people they really need your help and really appreciate anything you can do for them.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows near to the beach and it was lovely, very quiet and near to both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
5.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: £121 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing