We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

2 weeks stay at the Kole Kole side of Baobab Beach Resort, with 4 day safari in the middle.
Best aspect - the staff....everyone, but everyone, was ALWAYS friendly, helpful and cheerful, from reception check in to gardeners and pool towel boys.
Worst aspect - no private beach. Beach sellers insistant but never threatening, just a right royal pain. (My wife and teenage daughter wouldn't go to the beach because of this, preferring to stay by one of the three pools). I used the beach every day but had to run the gauntlet of beach boys selling anything from key rings to safaris - just say no insistantly!
Accomodation was very acceptable - we had two double beds as a 3 person family room.
Buffet food and drink plentiful and fine for us but certainly not haute cuisine standards - this is Africa after all!
Beware of the monkeys - don't leave food or drink unattended, they will certainly pinch it!!
All in all, a very pleasant fortnight.

Room Tip: Kole Kole side noisier than
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigjules60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    138
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
155
210
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from our Honeymoon to Kenya. We stayed in the Kole Kole hotel at the Baobab Beach Resort in Diani Beach, Kenya.

Highlights
1) Hotel was exceptional
2) Room was superb. Staff cant do enough to help you
3) Choice of food in resturant is superb and would suit Veggie's.
4) Choice of three pools which are all superb
5) Diani Beach outside hotel is beautiful. Lagoon is amazing for swimming / snorkelling and sand bank visit which becomes available at low tide.
6) Visit to Footprint Orphanage in Shimba Hills. http://www.footprintsorphanage.com/
Kerry and the staff at Footprint are inspirations to anyone. 100% worth a visit.

Safari was booked independently with JT Safari. 10 out of 10 - I will be added a seperate review for the Safari http://www.julius-safaris.com/

Low Lights

1) Beach boys on Diani Beach. They will hassle you. But be stern.
2) Thomson Excursions are expensive. We paid US $110 per person for the Pilli Pipa boat trip to Marine National Park. This is very expensive for what you get.
3) Personally I would book all excursions independently as Thomson make money here. You can find it cheaper through independent links. (e.g. Safari through JT - see above).

NOTE: Check other Trip Advisor for further reviews which will confirm my points.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lezyloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of a wedding party from 12-15th July. We checked into Kole Kole and were given one of the rooms on the top floor. The room size was good however as soon as we walked into the room, there was a bad drainage smell. In addition, the shower has no doors or shower curtains so no privacy! The shower itself was very poor. There was no water pressure - when we did complain to house keeping we were told it is due to the fact that we were on the top floor. However, a friend who was on the ground floor also had the same issue.

The food for lunch and dinner was poor quality. Tasteless and appeared as if the food had been recycled from the previous days. By the end of the 3 days, the majority of the guests at the wedding party suffered from food poisoning.

The beverage selection for the all inclusive was very poor. The beers were being poured from the Keg which was watered down. After 12 midnight, you have to pay for all drinks - the all inclusive does not apply!

Avoid this hotel - many other hotels around Diani

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were transferred too this fantastic hotel after staying somewhere awful, Our room was fantastic and as we were honeymooners they made kissing swans and placed them on our bed and lovely flower petals, that to us was brilliant :).
Every single person at the resort was friendly and kind and they always had a smile on there faces.
The food was fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner all buffet but lots of variety of food and its was always hot!!
The service in the restaurants and at all the bars was excellent. We were made to feel important and welcome all the time.
Our room was always clean and always had fresh clean soft towels, the bed sheets were always changed and soft and clean.
The resort has a choice of 2 different other hotels and swimming pool and restaurants but we loved everything about kole kole side.
The entertainment team were excellent and the evening shows in the amphitheater were brilliant. We will certainly visit The Kole Kole in the future.
As far as the monkeys we were concerned but they really made you feel you were in Africa, they did not bite or harm anyone.
All the facilities provided at the hotel was part of an all inclusive package and it was excellent.
This hotel is excellent we would definitely recommend this resort :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Depending on your standards and what star rating your used to this hotel is far from the rating it has been given . The food is very low quality and always cold. The bins are really emptied around the grounds , the beach is overrun by lucky lucky men and beggars preventing people from using it . The hotel complex has been built by taking the natural habitat of the primates resulting in it being overrun with monkeys and baboons that are searching for food and will attack and bite people to get food , entering the restaurants ,and attacking people walking around carrying anything . The rooms although large and spacious have very poor quality towels and bedding sheets were rough and very warn, the towels were rough very thin and not white but a dirty yellow grey. The towels for the pool were of much better quality . Most of the staff were polite and helpful but some were rude and unwelcoming . The entertainment was poor with out of sequence dancing ,usually the same movements with a change of clothes and music. Drinks were watered down and the same quality as the food .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBBZ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our trip to Mombasa was a surprise 70th birthday present for me from my wife. I was borne in Mombasa and the intention was for me to celebrate with my family & friends who live in Mombasa, then go on a short Safari Trip and spend a few days at a beach hotel. On the recommendation of family members we chose The Kole Kole for a few nights' stay.What a brilliant choice. We were made welcome from the time we arrived and until our departure.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.We had a big spacious balcony with chairs and a table and a huge "Sunbed" to relax on. Every evening,whilst we went out to dinner, a member of staff sprayed our room with a mosquito repellent and turned over the bed for a good night's sleep As far as the monkeys were concerned they really made you feel you were in Africa.
All the facilities provided at the hotel.as part of an all inclusive passage, compared well with those provided by many 4 star or 5 star hotels in other tourist hotels in the world. There was a good choice of restaurants and they catered for all tastes.
A big thank you to all the members of the staff at Kole Kole. No one went by without saying the greeting Jambo and in some cases how are you?
The service in the restaurants and at all the bars was excellent. We were made to feel important and welcome all the time. The entertainment team were excellent and the evening shows in the amphitheater were brilliant.
We will certainly visit The Kole Kole in the future and for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms. We stayed in a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohammed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Service: friendly and helpful
Atmosphere: relaxed, large area over 3 hotels, well maintained and beautiful pools
Rooms: clean, spacious, nice balconies with big sun lounge
Food: good variety but not special, average quality

Being all inclusive is a bonus but overrated

Overall worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
5.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Property: Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing