We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This trip was average as we had a great time but a few niggles. The room was ok but had thin mattresses. Also the bathroom was small and needed an update. The restaurant is good. Lots of food and choice. Service was excellent. The courtesy car to get into the town does cost !!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms around 5210 near the pool bar as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife & I spent 4 nights at Amani TBR for our honeymoon and the experience was beyond our expectation!
Fantastic rooms, great dishes, huge pool, cheerful staff, beautiful beach... & all other nice adjectives you can think of! what more could we ask for.
We are planning on going back for our first year anniversary... hopefully same time, same room :).

Much can be said but until you go to Amani TBR you have not experienced Paradise Under the African Skies!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was here on holiday during the low season in May. Surprisingly the number of foreign tourists in Amani during this time was still high! That's how good the place is! :) I was not disappointed one bit... the beautiful resort setting, the sandy beaches (south coast has cleaner beaches than north coast), excellent hotel service, entertainment, great rooms, the best cuisines, the nice pool...
I would totally recommend Amani TBR!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We are in the last two days of our stay here at amani tiwi and it has been amazing (by the way it has free wifi). The pool is fantastic, if you want to join in activities stay near the bottom pool if you want to be more relaxed use the top one with the swim up bar and the best cocktails with lovely staff. The beach is lovely (with nesting turtles); its on a reef which means you can snorkle and see great fish but taking rock shoes means swimming is easier. We did our safari with patrick at pd tours and safaris as well as the boat trip to wasini island and trip to mombasa and we would thoroughly recommend him (review elsewhere). With the option of a free pool dive we had a go and are now diving tomorrow with barracuda (we have also sponsored a Turtle with them). The beach boys are just trying to make money in an honest way and if you don't want anything then giving a polite no thanks means they back off. We discovered that the best thing was to make friends, buy a couple of things and use them to take you to local sites like the Africa pool and they look after you and protect you from hassle from others. The food is the next thing to mention - always lovely with a great choice, even for picky kids like one of ours. I was worried that by going all inclusive I wouldn't get to taste any Kenyan dishes but there is always a Kenyan choice as well as more 'English' dishes. Finally (and its been said before) but the staff here are really amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone from the animation team, kitchen and waiting staff, those who clean the rooms and the bar staff to the gardeners and the security guards (particularly one on the beach who pointed out colobus monkeys and watched our bags) are so friendly and helpful and really make your stay the best ever. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My 9 year old and I had a wonderful stay at Amani after the safari in Kenya. The staff there was really friendly and helpful, and the entertainment team did a great job to make sure everyone was having fun. My daughter kept her pretty busy with all the activities and the supper long swimming pool, while I could relax a little bit from the safari and the exhausting trip planing...

The room is clean and spacious, and food is also full of choices. However, it could be better if Amani can do a better job in taking care of the flies in the food area and little red ants in the room.

Overall, among all the accommodations we stayed during our East African trip, both my daughter and I ranked Amani the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaijieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wow! What a holiday! We have just returned from a fantastic 2 week all inclusive holiday with our 2 sons aged 10 and 12.
No one wanted to come home!

I know it's been said before in other reviews............but the staff are truly out of this world, and they certainly make the holiday! EVERYONE is friendly, helpful, cheerful and remember your needs!

The holiday began from the minute we stepped off the coach.............dancers and a cold towel to welcome you!

Our room was standard but was certainly big enough for the 4 of us...........one double and 2 single beds all with mosquito nets. Plus a small sofa and arm chair, and a balcony facing the pool. There was also a dressing area and roomy bathroom. All was kept very clean daily with clean towels as often as you needed. Beds were turned down at night and nets pulled down as well as room sprayed. Air conditioning kept us cool at night and none of us were bitten by mosquitos!

The animation team were fantastic and kept our boys busy all day! The first year they felt confident to join in any activities which was lovely for us and all thanks to the patience and friendliness of the staff! I was even persuaded to do 'stretching, stretching' on the beach at 10am with Peter!

The food is delicious and a wide range is on offer every meal every day. The BBQ and Kenyan nights were a favourite of ours! The fish I would recommend! And know my boys would recommend the waffles served at afternoon tea!

Also a must is Benny's and James's pina coladas served at the cocktail bars near the pool (not the main bar) They are the BEST!!!!!!!

We booked our safari through Pedro Borg at baracuda scuba safaris divediani.com - based at the beach at the hotel. Excellent service. We went for 3 days in our own jeep, Amazing Experience. Would recommend booking through Pedro as you travel as an individual group and can tailor it to your needs. Pedro is very helpful in his recommendations too!

The boys learnt to scuba dive with the Baracuda too. They had 2 pool sessions and then went out for a sea dive. What a fantastic opportunity for them!

All in all an amazing holiday which none of us will ever forget.

A couple of tips!
Men and boys take long trousers for the evening to wear in the restaurant, otherwise you get given a sarong to wear!

Don't take the Thomson organised trips (too expensive). We used the beach boys, which at first are a bit annoying as they are very insistent. But be definite with what you want and what prepared to pay and it works out a lot cheaper! We used Prince and Pascal, who looked after my boys and husband and took them on a 2 hour beach walk.....they knew where to look and where to walk safely. The boys discovered lots of new sealife creatures! Would recommend them too!

Lucy was very helpful in the first shop nearest the reception in the hotel.

Would recommend for any age ................we would all love to return!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grasshoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and daughter and I drove down from Nairobi to the South Coast of Mombasa, in December 2012 for Christmas. We all simply loved the pool! Very clean rooms and bedding; great indian cuisine;the life size chess board and hammocks on the beach were simply out of this world!
We will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
619 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
4.8 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: £63 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing