We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Ukunda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Food is good throughout i.e Breakfast, Lunch, Tea time at 4 pm with superb cakes and pancakes, and of course dinner. Animation team is excellent. Families with kids, this is the place for a nice holiday.The Hotel has an excellent spread and very open. The only thing not pleasant were the mosquito nets. They can do better by installing bigger size than what was there. My next coast holiday is definitely Amani Tiwi Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have good view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stallion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I spent 5 days at Amani Tiwi with my 91 year old father and can only describe the experience as being spoilt by the staff. We were blown away by the beauty of the resort; the large pool spans almost the entire length of the resort! The staff accommodated our every whim, ensuring that my father was comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the staff ever smiling and friendly referring to us on a name basis. The food was great and varied. With three restaurants on the beach it was always a choice between great and great... though the sea-food restaurant 'The Dhow' was under-going renovations and we did not get a chance to sample food from it. There's free Wi-Fi and gym facilities.
It is a little secluded, so it will cost something extra to go out and explore if you're into that sort of thing (we did a game drive to Shimba Hills). But they make up for it by having shops, three restaurants, a café, a bar, games on site (pool, Ping-Pong and tennis) and an in house spa and beauty center. Had an excellent stay. Would definitely go back... Already missing the hammocks on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After a journey across on the Likoni ferry and then a bus ride we arrived at the beautiful Amani Tiwi Beach Resort. It was stunning! The hotel spreads out over a vast area, it's has very well tended gardens, great food, excellent rooms, choice of bars and a spa. I had the best ever Pedicure there that I have ever had, despite having very ticklish feet and giggling all the way through it! The only downside was the overpowering animation team who could not or would not take no for an answer. We would go back though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This trip was average as we had a great time but a few niggles. The room was ok but had thin mattresses. Also the bathroom was small and needed an update. The restaurant is good. Lots of food and choice. Service was excellent. The courtesy car to get into the town does cost !!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms around 5210 near the pool bar as they are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife & I spent 4 nights at Amani TBR for our honeymoon and the experience was beyond our expectation!
Fantastic rooms, great dishes, huge pool, cheerful staff, beautiful beach... & all other nice adjectives you can think of! what more could we ask for.
We are planning on going back for our first year anniversary... hopefully same time, same room :).

Much can be said but until you go to Amani TBR you have not experienced Paradise Under the African Skies!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was here on holiday during the low season in May. Surprisingly the number of foreign tourists in Amani during this time was still high! That's how good the place is! :) I was not disappointed one bit... the beautiful resort setting, the sandy beaches (south coast has cleaner beaches than north coast), excellent hotel service, entertainment, great rooms, the best cuisines, the nice pool...
I would totally recommend Amani TBR!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We are in the last two days of our stay here at amani tiwi and it has been amazing (by the way it has free wifi). The pool is fantastic, if you want to join in activities stay near the bottom pool if you want to be more relaxed use the top one with the swim up bar and the best cocktails with lovely staff. The beach is lovely (with nesting turtles); its on a reef which means you can snorkle and see great fish but taking rock shoes means swimming is easier. We did our safari with patrick at pd tours and safaris as well as the boat trip to wasini island and trip to mombasa and we would thoroughly recommend him (review elsewhere). With the option of a free pool dive we had a go and are now diving tomorrow with barracuda (we have also sponsored a Turtle with them). The beach boys are just trying to make money in an honest way and if you don't want anything then giving a polite no thanks means they back off. We discovered that the best thing was to make friends, buy a couple of things and use them to take you to local sites like the Africa pool and they look after you and protect you from hassle from others. The food is the next thing to mention - always lovely with a great choice, even for picky kids like one of ours. I was worried that by going all inclusive I wouldn't get to taste any Kenyan dishes but there is always a Kenyan choice as well as more 'English' dishes. Finally (and its been said before) but the staff here are really amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone from the animation team, kitchen and waiting staff, those who clean the rooms and the bar staff to the gardeners and the security guards (particularly one on the beach who pointed out colobus monkeys and watched our bags) are so friendly and helpful and really make your stay the best ever. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,339 reviews
6.0 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
608 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
493 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ukunda
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing