We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Halesowen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb holiday”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous holiday at the Amani Tiwi Beach Resort at the end of March 2014. The staff were friendly and helpful though the manager was a grump. But despite him we soaked up the atmosphere and enjoyed our time there. Having different restaurants around the complex meant that we could vary our meals. Even the gardeners were friendly and helpful, I have never seen grass cut with a knife before. The hotel was very clean due to the hardworking staff who toiled non-stop. The food in the main restaurant was varied and of good quality, plenty of choice. The pool was cleaned every morning by hand. Would love to go back sometime.

Room Tip: My tip would be to upgrade to a better room, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    226
    112
    45
    22
See reviews for
246
304
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Sorry the previous poster didn't enjoy their stay at Amani, we can't understand it because we loved it. Our room was basic but clean and we always had clean sheets, towels etc.. Yes we did have a problem with the shower but it was put right as soon as we reported it..
We found the food lovely throughout the resort and staff were great, always efficient and always good fun.. We didn't see dirty plates left lying around, didn't think they were allowed outside the restaurants.
Swimming pool is lovely and the beach fabulous, you can sunbathe without being pestered by hawkers, you have to go and see them if you want something. We didn't have to tip the pool boy for loungers/mattresses but he worked hard and deserved the tip we eventually gave him at the end of the holiday.

We would return tomorrow in a heartbeat..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our room featured: a filthy floor, dirty mosquito nets, a fan that didn't get the room cool (even in the middle of the night), cracked tiling in the bathroom, a stained bathtub, a soiled shower curtain and a broken toilet flush handle. The water in the shower varied from hot to cold at a moment's notice. The 'in-room WiFi' is a myth- you need to sit near the main building to get WiFi at all.
The problems continued outside of the room. On our second day, we found a smear of excrement across the floor outside the entrance to our accommodation block (which I suspect was monkey poo(!), and which someone had clearly trodden in already). Ok, these things happen- but it was still there eight hours later, and that just isn't good enough. The children's swimming pool looked like it had been filled with a fly-and-scum soup, rather than the clean water you might expect. Used glasses and plates were left to fester at the tables around the swimming pool all day long. An so on and so on.
The worst thing about our experience here was the way we were dealt with by those in management when we complained. I don't think tripadvisor will permit the sort of language I would like to use at this point, so suffice to say that the treatment we received from the management varied from lazily contemptuous to openly hostile.
It is true that the main swimming pool and beach areas are nice enough, and the staff in the bars and so on are friendly, but that doesn't make this a decent hotel. Please don't be fooled into thinking this is the best you can hope for in the area- we hated this place so much that we paid to be moved to another Thompson platinum-rated hotel nearby, and it was 100 percent better than Amani Tiwi (Baobab Beach Hotel, in case you are interested). Kenya was well worth a visit, but avoid this hotel like a monkey poo on the floor!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicepossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We went to armani tiwi early march to get married and have a honeymoon at this hotel and was a bit apprehensive at what to expect,with the mixed reviews we had been reading about this hotel ...but we need not have worried everything was excellent in every way ! Once you get past the ferry crossing which is crude to say the least ,and see the way these people live as you drive past their houses you can't believe your luxury at this hotel ! We were made to feel very special by the staff who were overjoyed we had chosen Kenya and their hotel to marry in .The staff here are excellent so friendly and can't help you enough ,a big plus is the private beach which is lovely we spent many a day stinging on a hammock strung between two palm trees relaxing and having the odd laugh at the cheeky monkeys that tried their luck with any bags left unattended .The private beach is a must in Kenya unless you want constant hassle from beach boys .The food was excellent plenty of choice excellent salads and veg .The pool was lovely nice temperature and clean with a superb swim up bar .We did a safari 3 day 2 night to east west with glorious safaris in a private Jeep was excellent and can be paid through their UK contact ,who was great to liase with ,we stayed at satao camp in luxury tents unbelievable !! Impala gazelle walking around our tents ! .All in all too much to tell you about on this holiday but we will definitely return to Armani in the future ,and would like to thank all the staff and Stacey the rep for making this a very special wedding and honeymoon

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Littleman6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our 1st stay in Kenya.. Not platinum Thomson.. Our rooms were very standard but kept clean. Not enough water and nowhere to refill the bottles. We missed the welcome party as our coach got delayed on the ferry crossing by an hour. A real eye opener in Mombasa and Likoni. In fact Mombasa and Likoni certainly made you feel grateful.. On arrival there was a bit of a mix up with our room as we had travelled with another couple and I had emailed a head to ask for rooms next door to each other. They had put us on separate floors and blocks.. This was quickly resolved and we were put in block 7 next door but 1.1st impressions of the rooms very spacious clean and tidy but a little tired.. Nice shower and bath plenty of room for clothes etc.. Shampoo shower gel soap all provided although we did bring our own. Tea coffee making facilities.. (Not enough bottled water though). Pool was lovely and a great temp although some people were moaning it wasn't cold enough.. I don't want to jump into a freezing pool when your red hot from sunbathing as it takes your breath away and also not good for your body core temp.. ( Can cause tummy probs). The beach was lovely and very tropical although not the best for snorkelling and swimming in the sea as its very rocky and a lot of sea urchins so definitely need coral shoes. Also if you want a nice quiet walk along the beach forget it as the beach boys are on you straight away trying to sell you trips jewellery gifts etc.. They were all ok but didn't seem to leave you alone once you said no.. They just carried on following you chatting, so no romantic walks.. There is plenty of security around the hotel day and night.. We didn't see much of the entertainment as most nights we sat in the bar area chatting.. We did see the fashion show and the acrobat show. Very good. We took a 3day 2 night safari with JT Safaris.. Just the 4 of us. We stayed at the Kilanguna Serena lodge Tsavo west and the Amboselli Serena lodge Amboselli. A great trip, in a very comfy 4 wheel drive jeep, water incl, saw 3 of the big 5, and other wonderful wildlife, beautiful lodges, great service, rooms and food. Our driver and guide Beka looked after us brilliantly. We thoroughly enjoyed it. A great experience.. And a very reasonable price. We also booked a day trip to Mombasa with JT just the four of us again. Which meant we could go where we wanted and not stuck on a coach with a large party. Again a comfy 4 wheel drive water incl and a very reasonable price. Our driver and guide Abu looked after us and saw some amazing eye opening sites especially the meat market. JT also gave us some lovely gifts to take home.
Now I'd like to mention the staff at Tiwi, reception: Valentine and Abdulla always smiling, happy to help, nice chats and giggles. Abdulla stay normal! :) Rep: Stacey, Lovely girl very helpful again chatty and friendly easily approachable had some great giggles. We booked a trip to Wasini Island with Stacey, we had a lovely day, saw dolphins went diving and snorkelling lovely lunch on the island and a afternoon laze in the lagoon pool with tea brought down to us. Also Stacey recommended Ali Barbour's al acarte restaurant again you will not be disappointed. Reception booked it for us, taxi driver takes you and brings you back for 4000 ksh. A quick drink in the forty thieves bar, fab place on the beach then to eat great food with wonderful service and the whole place has the beautiful ambience about it. Main bar: Ruth, Mohammed and Conrad, service with a smile, very chatty enjoyed their conversations. Pool bar: Patrick, Eric and Bernard, again happy to help, service with a smile. Pool guys: Freedom and Omar, two lovely guys, always sorted our sunbeds and towels, kept the pool very clean, enjoyed our chats and laughs. Main restaurant : Winnie, Sharon, Gorgeous, Emanuel and the egg chef (sorry don't know name) service with a smile, happy to help, most nights got the same table. Italian restaurant: Bernadette, Joyce and Stanley. we used the Italian a few time for lunch as it was a change from the main restaurant and you could get lovely ice-cream. Great service and nice food. Barracuda Diving: Amos, Daniel and Pedro.. Loved sponsoring the baby turtle and releasing it out to sea, fingers crossed little Jaz makes it. Thanks for looking after us.. Enjoyed the diving.
Animation team: My husband enjoyed playing table tennis, pool, and water polo.. A great team.. Again always happy to help and chatty.
All in all a lovely fun filled, eye opening, experience with a lot of things to see and do. Would definitely like to return but would not pay Thomson platinum price again.

Room Tip: Block 7 nice and quiet and ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was my first holiday to Kenya, I was very worried after reading some reviews on the hotel. The trip from the hotel was eye opening, when you go through Mombasa to get to the ferry, the ferry could not believe how they manage every day to day, we had to wait approx. half an hour of which we thought was to long, but the other couches that went to other hotels had 3 hour wait. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with dancing a cold flannel and a cocktail, which was lovely, check in was done all together and I thought was very good and fast, the room that we had was 5310 above the quiet pool and it was quiet, the room I thought was very nice, yes the bathrooms need a bit of attention, but just outside the hotel the villagers live, and if you could see how they live don't moan about the comforts that you have in this hotel, the food was not bad after all the try and cater for all nationality I always found something to eat, the beach restaurant was good for lunch as well, but some people dose not know that the Kahawa Corner that specialises coffee as AI you can get food their they do things like cheese and tomato toasted sandwich and fries also burger and fries and it was very nice, the beach was lovely with white sand but as other people say that coral is the only problem, saying that it did not put many people off. The beach boys were very pleasant to they were not as pushy as people told me they were further up at Diani beach, we booked a safari with Prince on the beach and it was much cheaper than everyone else paid , so if you do go to Amai Tiwi Beach go down and see prince he is lovely and the safari was lovely I would recommend him, I would come back to this hotel the staff work very hard and are very friendly even the gardeners specialy Juma they even came out dancing and singing to me on my birthday and surprised me with a birthday cake lovely touch all the staff as I said were lovely it was some of the guest that were not

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our 4th visit to Amani Tiwi since it opened in Nov 2012; in all a generally enjoyable holiday but the resort still has some way to go before it is 'Paradise Under African Skies'. We had serious reservations about returning after our experience during previous visit in Nov/Dec 2013, but having already booked this visit and faced with significant cancellation charges we decided to go ahead; glad we did.
Last year the resort had some major problems around food variety, quality and quantity. Pleased to say that these have been rectified and the food was generally of a high standard throughout this visit. The main buffet restaurant, The Palms, offers themed evening dining with a wide variety of good dishes, some of the seafood would rate as excellent. As an alternative there are three a la carte restaurants (chargeable to all-incl guests at a discount). We had dinner in the Sultan's Dhow which has an excellent extensive menu at reasonable prices and has a great ambience.
Breakfast and lunch is served in The Palms, with the alternative at lunchtime to dine in the two beach restaurants- La Bella Vita and Baharini. The La Bella Vita is popular, offering a good menu including pizzas as part of the all-incl package. The Baharini is quieter, mainly because it is not advertised as a lunch venue and also the service is slower as the food is prepared in the main kitchen.
The breakfast menu is standard and on the whole good, with egg station and a wide choice of hot dishes. The cold meat and cheese platters, although well presented are a bit mundane; after a while a change to luncheon meat and the awful Highland cheese would be most welcome. There is a plentiful supply of fruit plus cereals.
We have always chosen a standard room, principally on the basis that the additional facilities of the premium rate rooms are more than off-set by their location next to the noisy main pool and entertainment area. While the rooms are of a good size and generally comfortably furnished the bathrooms were not part of the major renovation carried out prior to opening the resort. As a consequence the bathrooms look dated and a bit shabby. Our dressing annexe, containing the wardrobe and drawers was damp and musty, with paint peeling away exposing mildew. We had it repainted twice during our stay and it required further treatment by the time we left.
After our bed lined had not been changed for several days we decided to seek clarification on the policy. Front Desk staff produced a battered 'environment' card that they said was in every room to clarify policy (never seen one before). This clearly stated that the card should be left on the bed if you DID NOT want bed linen changed. It would appear that Housekeeping have also not seen the card! In reality the best approach is to ask the room steward.
The resort has probably one of the best stretches of private beach on the coast, dotted with palm trees that provide plenty of shade. On the downside the access to the sea is restricted by the coral, but in all it is a great place to chill out. That is provided the Animation Team will let you! It took fully three weeks and a formal complaint before the Chief Animator was able to grasp the concept that the constant use of whistles and shouting was probably not the best way to engage with guests. In all their approach was totally OTT and more in keeping with a 1950's holiday camp than a 4 * resort in the 21st C.
The daily animation programme and continuous music did not change at all throughout our stay and seldom attracted more than a dozen guests to any one activity. Some form of demographic analysis of the guest list would probably highlight the need to customise the activities but the Team appear quite content to churn out the same established programme day after day. The noisy approach adopted by the Team irritated and annoyed the majority of guests to such an extent that they were put off taking part in activities. In all not the best approach to customer satisfaction.
We asked the Chief Animator why the loud pop music was played constantly at the main pool from 9am to dusk. His response was that this was the activity pool and that the top pool was designated the 'quiet' pool. A rather incongruous definition as this pool incorporates the children's pool, water slide and is adjacent to the play area. It is therefore the pool of choice for families besides being the pool bar venue of choice for the serious drinkers late afternoon to dusk. The 'quiet' definition unfortunately does not appear to apply to any part of the resort complex.
The relatively remote location of the resort is well covered in other reviews. It does mean that guests have little alternative but to stay within the resort of an evening and therefore the entertainment programme is of prime importance. Apart from performances by the Maasai and a couple of other local acts the bulk of the 'entertainment' is down to the Animation Team. To say that it is third rate would be praise indeed!
We cannot praise enough the majority of the staff who are friendly and helpful and will always greet you with a smile. We have come to know many of them over the years from various resorts and they are one of the main reasons we continue to return to Kenya, and to Amani Tiwi in particular.
Must mention the highlight of our visit; the hatching of the green turtles. In 20+ years of holidaying in Kenya this was the first time we managed to be there at the right time. Fantastic experience.
Tried not to be too negative about some aspects of the resort as it really has the potential to realise its' motto 'Paradise Under African skies'. Unfortunately while problems encountered one visit are usually addressed by the next a new set inevitably seem to turn up. Plan to return again later in the year (provided the price is right), hopefully to a less noisy complex.
Finally a couple of hopefully constructive suggestions:
To those of us less mobile and unsteady on our feet it would be useful to have a hand rail installed to support access via the steps at the shallow end of the main pool.
The main bar is a popular meeting and socialising point both before and after dinner. However as the temp and humidity builds prior to the Long rains it is extremely hot, especially the non smoking section. Installation of some ceiling fans would really help.

Room Tip: Premium rate rooms are all located near the main pool and entertainment areas and are subject to a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenya359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukunda
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
17.0 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Property: Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing