We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful - Great Location - Poor Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Treehouses
Ranked #33 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Ukunda
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at The Cove in October 2009 for our honeymoon and although we enjoyed our stay it was not quite what we had expected!
The view from our tree house (no2) was amazing and the house itself is outstanding.
I was disappointed by the food choice, they had a great menu but the problem was lots of the meals were not available as there had been no delivery from management. Drinks and ice-cream also ran out! The Jacuzzi is a nice touch but be warned you do need to order this in a morning for that evening use.
The Swimming pool was often dirty hence I hardly used it; beside crabs which obviously can’t be helped coming from the sea, it had nasty green algae on the sides and bottom. The staff were overall very good and did what they could with what they had we found Doris to be exceptionally helpful.
However, we would not re-visit the cove.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syoungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for The Cove Treehouses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed at the Cove for 5 nights at the beginning of March. The place is amazing with the most fantastic view from the treehouse. We stayed in Treehouse 2 which looked straight out to sea, we were lucky enought to have a full moon while we were there and sat on the balcony watching the fishermen go out by moonlight. The service is great and nothing is to much trouble for the staff, everybody from the butler, the pool guys, gardeners and security know you by your name and are so polite. This was our 6th visit to Kenya so we have a good idea of what to expect but thanks to Stephanie, Roland, Doris all of our expectations were exceeded.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I have been to kenya several times and this time to The Cove. It is gorgeous, quiet, away from it all and just what i need to unwind from it all. The personal attention you get is great - its nice to be dealt with as an individual and not just another person checking in, The staff are attentitive without being over the top and let you do your own thing, we could sleep the day away and still be looked after when we wanted to. The views of the ocean are great and the infinity pool is superb. The Rooms are 'treehouses ' built in and around some of the biggest Baobabs, with what my huband termed the most spectacular shower - it comes with a great view, Many thanks to Steph, Doris and the rest of the Staff for making our holiday such a special one. We will definitly be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Absolutely fantastic location, set away from the hoards of tourists. An absolute must for anybody who isnt into the costa del sol scene! Maximum of 12 guests including yourself- very quiet and peaceful. Staff great fun and very friendly, a bit slow and sometimes a bit confused....but to be honest what does it matter we weren't in a rush to get anywhere. Set on the beach with great views...go and see Boris at the beach hut and get him to take you to the local village. The tours are small and basic, most of the time itll just be you on them...absolutely fantastic for seeing the real kenya rather than something a rep would sell. Fantastic place, didnt want to come home!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraandhercamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We were moved here from Kinondo and found that the place was neglected and bits of the verandas falling apart drinks ran out quickly soft drinks as well and the staff had to wait on management to shop. No fish even though the fishermen were landing daily on the beach. The pool was lined with green sticky stuff from the sun lotion and the pool pumps were hardly ever switched on. Our swimwear ended up green stained as well. The sun loungers had canvas mattresses on them that were disgusting.The locals hung on the edge of the resort watching us and this was un-nerving when your on the outside loo and being watched. The management stayed away when the shopping did not arrive but the staff were excellent and coped inspite of the problems and they are the resorts saving grace. They were pleasant helpful and tried their best to accomodate our needs and never complained about the management and their treatment of them. They are STARS in my book. Having been to Kenya before i will return but will not go anywhere near this group again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We have just spent 5 nights at the cove in treehouse no 2 after spending 6 nights on
safari we were very tired when we arrived as it took 2 hrs from Mombassa to get here
so we went straight to bed. The next morning we opened our eyes to the most amazing
view over the Indian oceon, treehouse lovely, veranda huge, beautiful beach no people
just the local fishermen in the morning, interesting to watch them from veranda. Staff here are very friendly and we had all our meals served by the butler Richard on our
veranda however the one drawback is the food, it is very basic, not much choice and
dont think you will get fresh fish except if you want to spend a lot of money on lobster.
They have on menu home made natural yoghurt but they dont make it and it is very
difficult to get even carton fruit yoghurt, juices are from a carton and coffee is not very
good although Richard tried his best. Having said this it is a beautiful place, peaceful,
private and may go back sometime when they have sorted out the menu!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunieCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We have just returned from two weeks at the Cove Retreat south of Mombasa and are in the depths of depression at having to leave. It's a good 20 minutes drive past the last hotel down an ever diminishing track. After the flight and the trip through rush hour in Mombasa I was envious of the couple getting out while we still had a bit of a drive ahead of us. However, when we finally went through the little wooden door into the Cove I was envious no more! Just a small pool, dining area and tree houses - that's all there is! It's just unbelievably quiet and peaceful. No banana boats, jet skis etc - just the sound of the reef and the local fishermen in their dug out canoes. The staff really helped make the holiday - they can't do enough for you and are so friendly and funny. I hope they get to read this - thanks to Doris, Rafa, Philip, Richard, Rosie, Alfonse, chef and the others in the background who keep the grounds looking so neat & tidy. We miss you! The food was great. I've read reviews that said it was too salty but I didn't find that at all and there was certainly more than enough choice for us. At times the chef was catering for just 4 of us! Not all the treehouses had occupants for a lot of our time there so when we were leaving and there were 8 other guests it felt quite crowded! There is absolutely no entertainment in the evenings and the staff leave as soon as dinner is finished so if you prefer some sort of entertainment it won't be the place for you. There is just the fabulous setting and the sound of the sea. Do go and see the local village. It's all legitimate and very interesting. We went with Boris and Seiff who you are bound to meet on the beach. Seiff lent me a Swahili phrasebook for the whole holiday. They were very genuine and funny and keen to tell us all about their lives. I would recommend the Cove to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet. It's just a fabulous place and we hope to get back there one day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukunda
1.2 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kinondo Poa
Kinondo Poa
#3 of 20 in Diani Beach
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sonrisa
Hotel Sonrisa
#4 of 68 in Diani Beach
74 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bidi Badu Beach Resort
Bidi Badu Beach Resort
#7 of 20 in Diani Beach
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Treehouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Treehouses

Address: Diani beach Road | Galu Kinondo, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Ukunda
Price Range: £464 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COVE TREE HOUSES - DIANI BEACH, KENYA Our small intimate lodge is nestled in its own private cove, just 12kms from Diani Beach Town - but well away from the hustle and bustle of mass tourism. The Cove offers guests exclusivity, excellent service, and the peace and quiet of a magical retreat! Here, time doesn't matter, and our team will work around your schedule. Your long, lazy beach walks will be uninterrupted, and the only sounds you will hear are the wish-wash of the tide, the cry of distant fish eagles and the rustling of the Baobab and Coconut tree leaves. The Cove has only six ocean-facing villa treehouses, with their own private decks. Enjoy panoramic vistas of the East African coastline dotted with pretty Ngalawas (Swahili boats). The Cove is a romantic retreat and is perfect for honeymooners. If your dream is to have a Kenyan beach wedding then you have just found the perfect place for it. Diani Beach has been voted Africa's Top Beach Destination 3 years in a row (beating Mozambique, Sharm El Sheikh, Zanzibar and Cape Town!), and is everything you'd expect from a tropical beach get-away: a gentle breeze whispering across powdery white beaches fringed by coconut trees and lapped by the warm Indian Ocean. Diani is on the Kenyan South Coast, a scenic forty-five minute drive from Mombasa. Like any good beach destination - Diani Beach is not short of activities. We can organise kite surfing, diving, snorkelling, deep sea fishing and so much more while you stay with us..... Or you could choose to indulge in absolute relaxation during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Retreat Hotel Ukunda
The Cove Treehouses Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing