We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Kasbah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spacious Kasbah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We came over the Atlas mountains to Erfoud so we could experience the desert. Our sunset camel ride in the Sahara did not disappoint. And this lovely hotel oasis didn't disappoint either. It is a large nicely laid out hotel with lots of open space. It is outside the town of Erfoud which made star gazing at night particularly glorious - no city lights to interfere.

This hotel reminded me of the American southwest (Arizona, New Mexico) with a Moroccan twist. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very quiet. Like most of the Moroccan hotels we stayed in, there was not enough light for reading but I always bring my book light when I travel. Few hotels accommodate readers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    69
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
49
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Nevermind the long drive from Marrakech , with a stop for lunch at Ouarzazat,the place was an oasis.
From the troupe welcoming you at the entrance to the smiley staff at the reception.
The room was spacious and they had even placed a big fruit basket (not all hotels do that in Morocco), in the room.the room is decorated with an obvious Moroccan design.
The food, so many choices from a big nicely presented buffet for breakfast and dinner,and the staff there are all eager to help you in the restaurant.
The hotel also organized a tour ,full day.for a fair price, we enjoyed the tour,got picked up from the hotel by a 4x4 and did a tour of the desert then headed for lunch at a small riad style place,where we lounged by the pool and enjoyed the sun until our food was ready.nothing fabcy,but traditional Moroccan meal with Moroccan salads, grilled chicken and dessert.
We then headed to a gnawa village and met a group of gnawas,who played music for us and showed us around.
We then went to see the dunes and we wrapped up our tour with a one hour camel ride with a guide and then watched the sunset from the top of the dunes and got back to the hotel.
The hotel is spacious,so it was not a problem being a couple while they were hosting a group of Europeans for a quad tournament.
We would go back for sure

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travig00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

As we continued to tour Morocco we stayed at the Kasbah Hotel Chergui. I thought it was very charming and really enjoyed the layout of the property. The rooms were big but it did take awhile for the heaters to warm up with the cold nights.

The location of this hotel is very good especially if you are scheduled for a sunrise Sahara experience. After an early camel ride on the dunes and then back to the hotel, a wonderful breakfast was waiting.

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita_Sempio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gagadju
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a charming hotel and one that feels very Moroccan. All the other hotels I stayed at in my tour of Morocco were like any other hotel in the world but the Kasbah Hotel Chergui gave us a very different feel. The room was beautifully decorated with nice lanterns attached to the walls and hanging lights that were inside solid rocks. The sink was made of marble with fossils (ammonite and turritella terebra) in it. I liked the fact that there wasn't a bath tub to get in and out of. So, it was easy access to the shower for visually impaired people.

The room we had was number 11, it was clean and didn't have any of the smells that other reviewers have written about on here. The tv is an old crt (bulky tv) but we didn't care as we didn't come to Morocco to watch the telly in fact we didn't even use it.

Unfortunately, like all the other hotels in Morocco, there were no bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottles of water or tea/coffee in the room. But this time we didn't mind because the staff were very polite and helpful.

The buffet dinner was delicious with all kinds of Moroccan tagines and delicious desserts. Compliments to the husband and wife team who are the dinner chefs.

The reception area is beautifully decorated and the hotel grounds are lovely but again the pool was not heated so no one could go in it. The only main complaint I would have is that from the reception to the rooms it is poorly lit and difficult to see and although the aircon/heater did work as we set it to 30 degrees Celscius, it wasn't big enough to heat the entire room so bathroom area was cold. We ended up shutting the door to the bathroom to contain the heat in the bedroom.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were stuck in this stinker of a hotel while on an A and K tour.

Room: Cold even with the heat going full blast, the most basic bathroom amenities, a non-draining sink, insufficient bedding including blankets, poor lighting, a can of Raid at bedside, ugly décor, nonfunctioning outdated TV, stained bed coverlet, and a flooding shower with inadequate shower head spraying water in all directions except down.

Food: Completely inedible - cold, congealed fried eggs left out for hours, lukewarm coffee and tea, poor selection of fruit, OJ that tasted like it came from a can. The buffet dinner featured overcooked vegetables, dry chicken and chewy bland beef.

Bar: No fire going even in the cold, poor selection of drinkable wine.

We went to Kasbah Tumbatuku for lunch - it seems much nicer and would stay there WAY over this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

my favorite hotel in my morocco trip
amazing place in the middle of the desert!
great food, nice people and the whole environment was so welcoming!
highly recommended to couples who want to be alone and in a quiet place :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The room is dark, and with a strange decoration. The old and small TV didn't work. The food is the worst part. The menu has a (very) limited number of choices. Not even with this limited option they were capable of serving a decent meal. Not even a decent orange juice (pretty standard in Morroco) was available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elmegale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#4 of 13 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kasbah Tizimi
Kasbah Tizimi
#8 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
261.6 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Belere Hotel Erfoud
Belere Hotel Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Chergui

Property: Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Address: km 5.5 Route Arfoud Errachidia, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Hotel Chergui 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing