We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but no whaw ...”
Review of Kasbah Tizimi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Tizimi
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK, but no whaw ...”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Beautiful, big kasbah (hotel) in the middle of nowhere. Erfoud is known for its fossiles

The hotel has a nice courtyard with a fountain, beautiful flowers and plants all over the place, nice colours, berber carpets, a swimming pool (very nice when the sun goes down) and a restaurant.
Room size and bed were OK. Bathroom was certainly not very clean.
Around the swimming pool are some tables and chairs and a small bar.
During our stay, most guests were part of big groups. Restaurant is organized for groups (buffet) Service and quality is avarage

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ko_Ov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    60
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
16
55
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

we were on the Archers tour of Morocco and this was the two day stay we'd looked forward to most. Erfoud lies close to the outlier of the sahara called the erg of Chebbi reached by an exhilerating 4x4 ride over soft sand or bumpy loose stones laid bare by winds. First though, we had to settle in at the hotel... Our room was the showpiece. It was the one Kate Winslet slept in while making one of her movies. Bathroom was carved out of slabs of marble studded with the amonite and other fossils that the town of Erfoud is famed for (David Attenborough featured the fossils in his last but one series) HE didn't sleep in our room as far as we know. The sitting room was cushioned divans behind pale blue drapes. The bed was enormous and again the muslin drapes could be drawn if you wanted privacy (there was a small terrace outside, with the pool less than six feet from the window ... so I guess Kate Winslet used to draw the drapes... Unfortunately the wind kept blowing sand into the pool during our stay, but that meant no one passed our window. The rest of the hotel was a visual experience as well; and the bar (a first for this holiday, as mostly the strongest drink we had been able to buy was fresh crushed oranges ) was what Rik's bar must have looked like if we had bothered to visit it in Rabat the week before. So many of the other members of the tour came to look enviously round our suite we could have covered our last days' expenses if we'd charged so I guess ours was the best suite of rooms but I will not round down my score of five stars to cover the rest.

Food was loads of meat and veg dishes so most of the other guests enjoyed the food

Room Tip: Ring ahead and ask for the Kate Winslet room then any other near the pool :00212535576179
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I LOVE traditional Moroccan style hotels, but this one is quite tatty.
The rooms (even, like ours, overlooking the car-park) are dark with dim electric lighting & uneven (dangerous?) floor tiles. The furnishing is basic (no drawers,no chairs, just a small stool). In the bathroom there's no plug in the crudely repaired copper washbasin. The plug outlet was so uneven that our rubber "Universal Plug" could not form a seal. There was nowhere to hang our towels to dry apart from over the shower curtain-rail (& you have to be a giant to reach that!) When we arrived there was a smell of joss sticks - presumably to hide the smell of drains that was evident by the time we left!
The public rooms & (freezing cold) swimming pool are better furnished, the staff are very friendly & helpful, & the set meal (soup, chicken kebabs, rice & garnishes, followed by crème caramelle) was better than the rather bland buffet dinner the next night & the breakfasts.
Their shop had the poorest selection (& at 5Drh the most expensive!) of postcards we saw anywhere in Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erfoud hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What can I say, spent 2 nights at this hotel during a Moroccan tour and loved it. The decor was traditional and amazing - copper sink, giant double bed, tiles on the floor a little uneven but only added to the charm. The pool area was lovely a little oasis on the edge of the Sahara. The only down side was the flies around the buffet breakfast, which the staff could do nothing about. The evening buffet was the best we had during our tour and the chicken kebabs on the first night quite tasty.
Would have loved to have stayed for another day or so to explore and take advantage of the lovely room. Leaves had been placed on the bed for the first night - unsure if there was a reason for this but it did look pretty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This family-owned kasbah (fortress) hotel makes you feel right at home on the edge of the Saharan desert. Blue and white tile floors are covered with handwoven Berber rugs. Stenciled geometric Moroccan lamps light up painted ceilings.

Rooms are basic. Beds are decent. The bathroom has a high step up into the bathtub/ shower which means you should be spry. The handheld shower nozzle also makes it tricky to wash your hair. Furnishings in the room have lovely local touches, like marble with embedded crustacean fossils. Air conditioning units have a mind of their own and are apt to turn on/ off randomly.

Public areas have free wifi. The pool area is beautiful. Food is delicious. Overall, it's an enchanting place that makes you feel like you're in ancient Morocco. It's more of a charming, homey hotel rather than a fancy, upscale one. I would stay here again for the ambience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is our third time at this hotel and each time it was painful. This time it was the fleas that bit many welts in my wife. The hotel cleanliness standards are very poor. The shower is terrible, not safe to use water to brush your teeth, hot water takes 5 minutes and this is no exaggeration. On the plus side the rooms are big and it does have a TV with one english movie channel but not CNN. The food has improved quite a bit and was most enjoyable especially dinner, breakfast is so-so. The bed is a little less firm than most in Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at several newer and nicer hotels in Morocco, but enjoyed the Kasbah Tizimi the most because it was very authentic. Nothing fancy but really enjoyed our two nights there. Nice pool with bar and food service. Floors in the room and public area had broken tiles and showed age, but that just a little charm. Personnel at front desk were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay there again if in the area. Went one evening to Erg Chebbi sand dunes and rode camel to top of dunes to watch sun set. The dunes are spectacular and great place for camel ride.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
0.5 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#6 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belere Hotel Erfoud
Belere Hotel Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
23.6 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tizimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tizimi

Property: Kasbah Tizimi
Address: BP 94 Route De Jorf, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Tizimi 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasbah Tizimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tizimi Erfoud
Kasbah Tizimi Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing