We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember that you are in an oasis in the desert! What a wonderful experience.”
Review of Kasbah Tizimi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kasbah Tizimi
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Remember that you are in an oasis in the desert! What a wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had been warned that the plumbing her would be "ify" at best. The room was hot and the heating set to 30 degrees, which I turned down and then could not get on again nor stop the fan blowing. The shower was a trickle but the towels were good - maybe they are never used!
The atmosphere of this hotel is magical, the beds are wonderful and the bedrooms open onto an open corridor with a central garden with trees and singing birds. The subdued lighting is atmospheric and the big log fire in the dining room is really cosy. Not to be missed but don't focus on the negatives, just remember where you are.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    60
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
16
57
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights a part of a Moroccan tour. It’s the sort of place you will either love or hate. The hotel is built on a traditional theme with rooms decorated individually and traditional styles. The buildings are formed of two storeys round a central courtyard with pool. There is seating area and bar around the pool.

It has got quite chilly by the time we reached Erfoud as it was a very pleasant welcome to have hot mint tea and the find the air conditioner heater already working so the room was beautifully warm. We did try leaving it on one night but it was quite noisy. There wasn’t any additional bedding to hand, we didn’t ask reception as it was the night we were leaving when I was really cold in bed.

We had a twin bedded room which was a good size. The beds were clean but were probably the firmest we encountered and had a blanket rather than duvet. The bathroom had a copper sink. The bath tap issued hotish water but quite brown.

We were told there was Wi-Fi in all the hotel but I couldn’t get a connection.

Breakfast buffet was the same as in all our Moroccan hotels but was fresh and kept topped up. One dinner was Table d’hôte, the next buffet. Both were perfectly adequate if not inspired.

Staff we spoke to were friendly and bar prices were reasonable
.
If you want a traditional friendly hotel this is the right place. Don’t expect modern 5* facilities as that isn’t what this hotel is about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just outside town and has private parking. We had a Riad room, which was spacious and clean. Quite nice decor but the bathroom was in poor condition. The washbasin wasn't fitted correctly and it flooded the floor. The pool area is nice. Food very mediocre with 'scrum' type buffet arrangement. Nice but a bit tatty. Big groups on organised tours use it. Very nice staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel was great for a one night stop after spending the previous night camping in the desert. The pool was great and the area was big enough for the group I was with also to have dinner outside by the pool. We all got the dinner buffet which I though was great, there was enough selection to keep everyone happy. There is also a bar by the pool which was handy. The rooms were spacious with a TV. Breakfast again was a buffet and seemed to have a better spread that most of the other rural hotels I stayed in in Morocco. I'd go back again no worries, the wifi was great too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank curioster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Kasbah Tizimi is on the outskirts of Erfoud, which is an oasis town in the Sahara Desert with a population of about 25,000 people. The hotel has just two floors and is traditionally constructed of adobe and decorated with beautiful ceramics.

We stayed twice at this hotel; once on our trip into the desert and once on our return. We had different rooms for each visit and both were fine.

There is efficient air-conditioning and the rooms were well appointed. There were small faults such as the shower hook being broken, but frankly, these things weren't important enough to spoil our stay and our accommodation was far better than much of the alternative local accommodation nearby.

The beds were clean and comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showers.

The garden/terrace was very attractive and the swimming pool looked beautiful. I used the pool on both visits but after the second time my skin was irritated - the pool is salt water and I think maybe the salt dosage was a little high.

All in all I would recommend this hotel but if you are going to look for faults rather than positives, then maybe this isn't for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Kasbah Tizimi is an authentic hotel close to the nice village Erfoud with the beautiful palmeries and Ksar Maadid. I love Erfoud! And I really like Kasbah Tizimi. Large rooms, very quiet, big swimming pool and the most beautiful courtyard I have ever seen. Very relaxing place!
I would recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emahauden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were on the Archers tour and our guide talked up this hotel on the way from Fes, possibly knowing that it may disappoint. It certainly did, pool area was fine but our room was dirty, mats were threadbare and we even found a 2" long brooch pin on the floor, proof that it hadn't been cleaned. Room change was denied as they were full. Our window view was of an 8ft high wall 6ft away with power cables. The room smelled of incense, probably to mask the sewerage smell. The beds (twins!) were rock hard and the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on causing backache .
Hot buffet food was, again, barely warm, desserts were dire and breakfast was average continental fare.
Other guests had larger rooms, double beds and chairs to sit on, I guess we were unlucky but we couldn't recommend this hotel at all.
It is also quite a way out from the town but it didn't look like a town we would want to go into unlike Fes and Ouarzazate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erfoud hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
0.5 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#6 of 13 in Erfoud
86 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm's Hotel Club
Palm's Hotel Club
#3 of 13 in Erfoud
170 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tizimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tizimi

Property: Kasbah Tizimi
Address: BP 94 Route De Jorf, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Tizimi 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kasbah Tizimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tizimi Erfoud
Kasbah Tizimi Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing