We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take me to the Kasbah” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Take me to the Kasbah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

An interesting experience. We were welcomed with a Berber band and mint tea and snacks. Rooms were decorated and furnished to reflect a Berber Kasbah. We enjoyed the stay for one night but would not have wished to stay longer. A good selection at the buffet dinner and also at breakfast. The chef cooked an excellent omelette. Drinks were very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    190
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
200
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Xaluca for one night before heading into the Sahara Desert. The hotel was huge and the grounds were nice.

Rooms: Were styled in Berber decor... it was nice but a little over the top. The rooms seemed to be a little dirty/dusty, the bathroom area had a small carpet that seemed to have not been washed in a while. We usually keep our slippers/flip flops on in the room so it wasn't a huge deal, but would've been nice if it was a little cleaner.

Food: Food was just OK. Breakfast and dinner was served buffet style.

Service: Was good for the most part. The waiters during meal time seemed to be pretty friendly.. check in/check out was quick.

Xaluca has a few camels right outside the hotel. The morning we were leaving, my friend and I went to take a few pictures of the camels. Within 2 minutes of getting to the camels, a young man appeared and tried to sell us necklaces. After trying to just brush him off, he just started harassing us. We ended up just walking back into the hotel without pictures. Would be nice if the hotel could keep outsiders from entering the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetter_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

really hated this place. our guide said it was the best hotel in Merzouga area. that's a shame. Staff was unfriendly...not even a smile or thanks when gave a big tip. pool was mediocre. drinks were flat and obviously old. front desk unfriendly and wouldn't even give any change. really?? of everything...the food sucked. really bad buffet. found little quality food there. rooms were dark and the WIFI didn't work in the rooms. overall....I was super happy to get picked up and get out of there. try anywhere else.

Room Tip: get a room where they can guarantee wifi. good luck...i doubt any do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thinairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived quite late at this hotel but check in was quite quick. It seems to be huge and rambling. I loved all the rugs covering the walkways, inside and out. The rooms are good but too dim. The hotel almost has a Tex Mex look to the decor which surprised me a little. Vast buffet at dinner and breakfast had okay food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
473 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We recently stayed one night, with a group of 6 other friends. The rooms were very interesting and welcoming. They almost gave you the feeling of being on an African safari. The complimentary fruit basket was an appreciated touch. The kasbah had a beautiful and very refreshing outdoor pool and an indoor one, which included a jacuzzi. Well kept grounds with several date trees. Excellent breakfast and dinner buffet with many choices.Good service at the table by amiable staff. Complimentary, though spotty wi-fi ( a problem encountered everywhere in Morocco). Great place to spend a night or two. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

At last on our tour a very welcoming Kasbah. Very interesting room with plenty of character. The grounds were also full of interesting things round every corner. The pools looked great and they were warm. Just wished we had time to take a dip. We would have loved to stay longer here.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not see any other rooms. But where we were it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Welcomed by singers and dancers and mint tea which was most welcome after a long drive. A real Kasbah style hotel with much character. Rooms also had a local character with berber styled rugs and furniture. Lighting in the room was 'atmospheric' but adequate for reading in bed. Food and service was excellent and I fouind it hard to fault the hotel even if the treatment may have been a little faux.

Room Tip: Each room, I understand, was slightly different although I did not get to see others. If you go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebaron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#6 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kasbah Tizimi
Kasbah Tizimi
#8 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kasbah Ennasra
Kasbah Ennasra
#1 of 2 in Rissani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.2 mi away
Belere Hotel Erfoud
Belere Hotel Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
261.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud

Property: Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Address: Km 5 Route d'Arfoud a Errachidia, B.P. 205, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa & Wellness in the door of the desert. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca is located in Arfoud, a city known as "the Door to the Desert." The Kasbah is listed as unique in Morocco due to its distinctive characteristics. It was built with adobes, the traditional Moroccan building bricks, and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the moment. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud offers 137 spacious rooms decorated with regional materials, as well as 7 bungalows. It combines tradition with modern amenities, where installations are adapted to the stringiest standards. It is a fantastic place, situated among the dunes and palms, where you will be able to enjoy unique emotions. The team at Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing