We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was ok, did not have any issues regarding the light, water etc. The staff was helpful. They have a Chinese and Indian Restaurant nearby which is a plus. Very easy to reach other places in the city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Naresh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is renovated the more expensive rooms are classy nice bathrooms the lower rooms are less well kept in terms of the AC's and bathrooms the food is good but the in house entertainment is limited the pool is nice and open late with a gym

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Ibrahim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanopeople, General Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you Ibrahim. Please call on me next time you are in Kano. The Hotel has improved greatly. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are OK, but that's about it. The bathrooms are a mess, dirty not working, broken down, no lights, etc. The bed is excellent, and the AC works fine. After checking in and immediately having a problem over how much I had paid, I was informed that I actually could stay only one night despite I had already paid for the two nights of my confirmed reservation. In the end they allowed me to stay, but I had to argue about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rool V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanopeople, General Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Central Hotel is 86 years old, now newly renovated and has since climbed back on and becoming accepted to the public... Thank you for your comments. Expecting you soon Rool V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been back to the Central Hotel four times.Rooms and especially beds are comfortable.Continious improvement in hotel except the kitchen for breakfast.We have trained had meetings but no inprovment.We find excellent breakfast in Abuja and Lagos.It can be done!
Thanks to the Chinese restaurant who serves good food and the Indian restaurant 10 min away.with simular good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanopeople, Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your beautiful remarks on Central Hotel Kano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calabar
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

the last time i stayed in the Hotel was 2012 when the Hotel reopened newly it was awesome in fact the best in the north. To my amusement i stayed in the Hotel September 2013, there perfect efficiency in terms of services, hospitality, quality restaurant, 24 hour power uninterrupted light, best bedding to world standard. it was a home away from home and a test of experience i will never forget.
The swimming pool and the fitness center is one of the site i will ever remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Rooms are clean, water is hot & the staff is pleasant and helpful. Lobby is pleasantly bizarre with a 'library' of old British books (?ex-British Council). Breakfast is underwhelming. You are served with liver and chips - but I asked for different food which arrived without fuss. Restaurant staff enormously pleasant. Chinese restaurant next door (you don't have to leave the hotel compound) is fine.
I'd stay there again by choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanopeople, General Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Breakfast has greatly improved, and there is a breakfast menu onto which you place an order. Thank you Clownface and expecting to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was my first stay in the Central Hotel and it is evedent that the hotel is in the continious process of being upgraded.The Swimming pool is a good feature with good food at the adjacent Chinese restaurant.Breakfast is included in the rates and with proper management it has increased slightly during the three weeks I stayed there in October.The restaurant needs attention to detail and will take a while to function to cater for all meals.

Room Tip: The lifts could be a problem as far as noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kano hotels
0.0 mi away
Tahir Guest Palace
Tahir Guest Palace
#2 of 6 in Kano
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
K Suites Hotel
K Suites Hotel
#4 of 17 in Kano
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kano
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: 1 Bompai Rd, Kano, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Kano State > Kano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kano
Number of rooms: 113

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing