We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in point Noire....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pointe Noire
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Its a great hotel in terms of location, pricing, space and standards.

ROOMS: Well done up rooms with all amenities, nothing to complain about at all. Right from the Air con to the mattress to everything else its excellent.

POOL SIDE: This is the star of the property, the pool is the center hub of the hotel and the best part is that the entire place is spread out so the pool side does not seem cramped up at all and its a nice 25 mtr pool.

RESTAURANT:There is a open air restaurant by the pool and one inside the hotel main building. During our stay we never bothered or saw the indoor restaurant operational. The restaurant is all right, nothing good or bad about it.. it just exists...

RECEPTION/SERVICE: A big -10 on this one. The service at the restaurant is whatever and same goes for the reception. I guess thats pure lack of training. Its one thing to invest money to get the hotel up and about. But running one is a complete different ball game, and this hotel fails miserably. But having said that the house keeping is perfect. From what i understand as long as its a routine its fine but when it comes to client service where its more skill than routine they screw up!!

AROUND: The hotel is conveniently located close to the famous La Pyramid restaurant/beach Shack.. a visit there for a beer or two is a must...

FOOD: I was not very impressed with the food at all. The breakfast was the worse ever... but there are a lot of good restaurants around so no worries about that.

PRICING: rooms are all right. In the hotel a beer is for about 2 USD which is perfect.. food can be slightly on the upper side but that's Pointe Noire for you..

Overall I would stay there again, in fact i will be there in 3 days :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the best. If you have more cash to shell out take the rooms in the north w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nee0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for your opinion. Our new chef de cuisine is in fonction. The menu will change, wtih a large choice of salads and other new propositions. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Not a bad place to stay, especially in this part of the world. Rooms are clean, beds are good and overall it looks pretty nice, especially compared to the surrounding area. However also some complaints that one probably should take for granted in this part of the world.
The staff is at times very slow and uninterested in what they do. The food offered in the restaurant is expensive and not very tastfull, And when you like to care about your health; no veg, salad or healthy options. But this gets compensated by the neighbours, restaurant l'arbalette.
Biggest complaint, however is the breakfast. in the busy hours it is all simply too much for the staff. Many food items (of the already limited ammount offered) are missing every day on the buffet. a slow, 2 slice toaster needs to serve for the whole restaurant. and the staff only seems to be interested in presenting the 10.000Cfa (16 eur!) invoice as soon as you sit down.
All tog

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 915Alexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank your for your remark. We are going to improve breakfast and smile....Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had a one night stay in this hotel recently and found it quite good, very good really for this part of the world. Staff at reception were efficient and the bar across the lobby was a pleasant spot for a few cold ones on an evening. I was impressed by the restaurant and food quality, an outdoor area near to the pool. The hotel is built around the pool/restaraunt area which if I'd had more time I would have enjoyed the pool. Rooms were a little dated, well used, but the bedding and towels were spotless and the AC worked well.
Quite a popular hotel for oil crews leaving and departing so full of life and action, I would stay here again. The hotel has a few shops etc handy for last minute shopping. With all the oil men kicking around there were a few local girls plying their trade, but not overly so, no hassle.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTravels262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Dreadful. tried to rip us off in restaurant, service slower moving than a glacier, so much so i couldn't face breakfast. stood around staring at us when we came to check in instead of working. Room ok. swimming pool closed

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Situated in the center of pointe noire, the hotel is ideally situated. The staff is very friendly, but a bit slow. The rooms are big and well equipped, the pool in the center of the patio is very nice. The quality of internet is very poor but is not the fact of the hotel well of the network. The quality of the breakfast and lunch is poor. Most of the guests are from petroleum companies and they can't drink alcool on company's expense, so the staff will ask you to pay alcoholic beverages cash while you can sign the food. (after identification I could sign my beers as well)

Room Tip: ask for a room around the pool (the 1-level buildings), it's so much nicer than the main 5-stori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I came after a very long trip we enjoyed a lot the airport the new country that I visited in Africa Congo it starts with the front office agent they didn't great us !! I find it very rude, then I had my room, the AC wasn't working and jarring , we contacted the reception they accepted to switch my accommodation to another room, which I find the staff arrogant. I carried by myself my luggage because there's not enough staff to handle it. I personally take in charge of it !!!

finally after having my shower with a rusty water, I surprised when I lean down over my bed the linen dirty blood and full of pubic hair (disgusting) I’ve never had this in my entire life such situation pillows smells badly dust scattered everywhere hard is very hard to catch up with amateurish housekeeping.

I sincerely advise not to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulsaade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Room was dirty, linen and towels had been used - so not impressed.
Tho the restaurant was very good - poolside bar, friendly and helpful staff.
The location was good and there are a few friendly bars nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailor1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Noire
0 mi away
Atlantic Palace Hotel
Atlantic Palace Hotel
#3 of 17 in Pointe Noire
152 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 17 in Pointe Noire
74 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint-Jacques Bord de mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Radisson Blu M'Bamou Palace Hotel, Brazzaville
0 mi away
Mikhael's Hotel
Mikhael's Hotel
#2 of 15 in Brazzaville
118 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Olympic Palace
Hotel Olympic Palace
#5 of 15 in Brazzaville
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire

Address: Boulevard General de Gaulle, Pointe Noire BP 790, Republic of the Congo
Region: Republic of the Congo > Pointe Noire Department > Pointe Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pointe Noire
Price Range: £158 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elaïs hotel, 190 rooms and suites, in a 2.5 hectare garden, is situated in the business center of the city.You will find there: restaurant, bar, several meeting rooms (to 500 persons), big parking lot, swimming pool, tennis, fitness center, shops and a service 4* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing