We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pointe Noire
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

There are not that many decent places to stay at Pointe Noir and I guess that's why this place gets good reviews. the staff was friendly and location is good. however i do believe it is hugely overpriced for what you get. I think you are much better off staying at the Atlantic hotel just a couple of blocks down the road.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    67
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
5
6
6
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Elais Hotel are friendly & welcoming.
A problem connecting to the WiFi received prompt attention & follow up.
Services and guest amenities value for money.
Restaurant menu offers choice of tasty international & local dishes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
thank you for your pleasant message. For your following stay, we will offer a solution for your connexion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A nice hotel with a good location. quite a new hotel as the decor and furnishings were nice. rooms were of a good size and offered all you required for a couple of nights when on business. bathrooms are well appointed with a separate toilet. rooms and bathroom were very clean.

The food in the restaurant was very good and offered a selection of local Congolese dishes. we tried a couple of local dishes which were quite interesting (if you like peanuts!)

The staff were very helpful and tried to assist whenever they could. being a non French speaker they made every effort to speak English.

the one point of caution. i was a first time traveller to the Congo and booked via my travel agent. i was charged over double the advertised room rate (at the front desk). I would suggest booking directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youchoose312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stay here 2 or 3 days a month travelling to work and I have always had a decent enough stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable with well appointed bathrooms. The gym and tennis facilities are ok if a little basic but the swimming pool is clean and a good size.

It can be a little slow getting checked in at reception, but forms having to be filled out in triplicate is to be expected in West Africa.

The restaurant is of a good standard I would put it on a par with a good pub lunch in the UK but the waiters can be a little slow at times and seem to take ages to bring drinks refills.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverDeepBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My first experience in Pointe Noire and stayed at this hotel for a week. The rooms themselves were quite nice and comfortable, and serviced daily.
We were running a workshop in the conference area and the facilities were adequate. Power went off a couple of times which made things interesting, but overall we were well looked after.
The food at the restaurant is pretty good but the service lacks at times. Some of the front desk staff were very helpful - some, not so much. Laundry service is pretty good and reasonably priced. Internet gets a bit pricey here though - 10,000CFA for 5 hours, especially if you forget to log out it will keep you as logged in. People smoke everywhere too.
Overall, in this part of the world, the hotel is pretty good and well located and I would stay here again if I was coming to Pointe Noire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your message. We will find an IT solution for your next stay. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Every member of staff other than the reception staff were great! Hotel v clean, nice pool area and food generally good. Sometimes you just wonder how hard it can be to be polite, the reception staff here looked and acted as though they really didn't want to be there, in comes a local - all smiles and happy to help. Comes an ex pat, head down and into jerk off mode! Hugely frustrating, what a damn shame as breakfast / restaurant staff brilliant and are being badly let down by their colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your post. We are going to consider your notices. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Its a great hotel in terms of location, pricing, space and standards.

ROOMS: Well done up rooms with all amenities, nothing to complain about at all. Right from the Air con to the mattress to everything else its excellent.

POOL SIDE: This is the star of the property, the pool is the center hub of the hotel and the best part is that the entire place is spread out so the pool side does not seem cramped up at all and its a nice 25 mtr pool.

RESTAURANT:There is a open air restaurant by the pool and one inside the hotel main building. During our stay we never bothered or saw the indoor restaurant operational. The restaurant is all right, nothing good or bad about it.. it just exists...

RECEPTION/SERVICE: A big -10 on this one. The service at the restaurant is whatever and same goes for the reception. I guess thats pure lack of training. Its one thing to invest money to get the hotel up and about. But running one is a complete different ball game, and this hotel fails miserably. But having said that the house keeping is perfect. From what i understand as long as its a routine its fine but when it comes to client service where its more skill than routine they screw up!!

AROUND: The hotel is conveniently located close to the famous La Pyramid restaurant/beach Shack.. a visit there for a beer or two is a must...

FOOD: I was not very impressed with the food at all. The breakfast was the worse ever... but there are a lot of good restaurants around so no worries about that.

PRICING: rooms are all right. In the hotel a beer is for about 2 USD which is perfect.. food can be slightly on the upper side but that's Pointe Noire for you..

Overall I would stay there again, in fact i will be there in 3 days :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the best. If you have more cash to shell out take the rooms in the north w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nee0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliette p, Directeur général at Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your opinion. Our new chef de cuisine is in fonction. The menu will change, wtih a large choice of salads and other new propositions. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Noire
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Palace Hotel
Atlantic Palace Hotel
#3 of 17 in Pointe Noire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 17 in Pointe Noire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint-Jacques Bord de mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victory Palace
Hotel Victory Palace
#5 of 17 in Pointe Noire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Orchidee Hotel
L'Orchidee Hotel
#13 of 17 in Pointe Noire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu M'Bamou Palace Hotel, Brazzaville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire

Property: Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire
Address: Boulevard General de Gaulle, Pointe Noire BP 790, Republic of the Congo
Region: Republic of the Congo > Pointe Noire Department > Pointe Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pointe Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elaïs hotel, 190 rooms and suites, in a 2.5 hectare garden, is situated in the business center of the city.You will find there: restaurant, bar, several meeting rooms (to 500 persons), big parking lot, swimming pool, tennis, fitness center, shops and a service 4* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel ELAIS Pointe-Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing