We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't recommend this more highly”
Review of Rwandan Adventures

Rwandan Adventures
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Gisenyi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rwandan Adventures Ltd offers private biking and walking tours across Rwanda, including the Congo Nile Trail (Gisenyi), the Twin Lakes (Musanze), Lake Muhazi (near Akagera Park), Kigali City Tour and a 9 day Round Rwanda Tour. We also organise personalised itineraries to suit your interests and available time. Get in touch with us for more information.
Kigali
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this more highly”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We rented mountain bikes from Tom and the next day went on a day long trek of the pfunda trail. When renting the bikes on the first day, we rode along the Congo-Nile trail which runs alongside beautiful lake Kivu down towards Kibuye. Experiencing a new place on bike is so much better than in a car as you get a feel for the landscape and can actually communicate with people you pass. The bikes themselves are in top condition and come with a helmet and emergency repair kits. The next day we hired a guide for a one day trek of the Pfunda trail with a guide and porter. We passed tea plantations, coffee plantations, villages and cassiterite mines. This was one of the best things I have done in Rwanda after 6 weeks of being here and can't recommend it highly enough to others. The scenery is beautiful and the guide is very knowledgeable. This region has suffered so much in recent decades tourism might offer some hope so by coming you are supporting a worthy cause too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SL1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great two day mountain bike adventure”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friend and I were taken on a two day tour by Tom, and fantastic support rider Twizere, from Gisenyi to Kibuye (about 100km in total). It was a great way to sample rural Rwanda while cycling some of the thousand hills that cover Rwanda. I can't recommend the trip enough to anyone who enjoys cycling. Most of it was off road and there were a lot of climbs but these led to fantastic decents and some excitng riding. We stopped in great locations for drinks, lunch and photo ops. The first night we stayed at a coffee plantation and had an interesting tour from the manager. The second day is more challenging but is well worth it for the views and the long downhills in to Kibuye at the end. The second night hotel as also really good with stunning views. To cap it all off the boat ride back to Gisenyi was great.

Tom has excellent knowledge o the country and wildlife and an obvious passion for what he does. If you are in the area look him up and get on a trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JDW78220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gisenyi to Kibuye - true adventure cycling in rural Rwanda”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Excellent 3 day trip from Gisenyi to Kibuye. Two days of tough but rewarding cycling through rural Rwanda which was the highlight of our recent trip, even outdoing the Gorillas! Tom is a very knowledgable guide about all things Rwandan and he arranged good accommodation and refuelling stops, even the boat back to Gisenyi threw up a few surprises with a stop at an island inhabited by fruit bats. The bikes were in top condition which was very important given the terrain and Tom was ably assisted by Twizere the porter. All in all extremely enjoyable and very good value for money. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a truly authentic experience!”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

By far the best way to see the real Rwanda! My husband and I spent a full day mountain biking with Tom to places that we never would have visited had it not been for this bike trip. We biked 55km in 9 hours (yes, we were sore the next day!), climbing and descending through some of the most beautiful scenery - my fave, the tea plantations as far as the eye can see. The people were amazing! Although relentless, I couldn't get enough of the kids, running behind our bikes! We even stopped for a sugar cane boost, right out of the field. The bikes were in excellent shape, great lunch, fantastic guide and assistant! And Tom will cater to your biking skill level. If you want to get off the beaten path, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND a bike trip with Tom.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saritamattouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adventure, a challenge, a learning experience and FUN!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful day with Tom Tofield and his assistant mountain biking around Gisenyi. This day was one of the highlights of our trip to Rwanda and Uganda as it incorporated all we like best about traveling. It was challenging as the hills were high and the roads unpaved. It was beautiful as the scenery was spectacular and it was a great immersion into the culture of the local people as we passed through and stopped in several local villages to absorb their lifestyle. The mid morning break took us to a local spot with a delicious corn muffin that gave us the strength to continue our journey and the end brought us back down to the lake to a very different village where one of Tom's friends had made us lunch. No matter what your level of biking fitness is you can and will enjoy this trip as Tom knows how to tailor it to his clients needs. Highly recommended. Wish we could have done it again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JBM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rwandan Adventures also viewed

 
Gisenyi, Western Province
Gisenyi, Western Province
 

Been to Rwandan Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing