We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oasis and real service which is hard to find in Rwanda”

Thaijazz Beach Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Gisenyi
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great oasis and real service which is hard to find in Rwanda”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived after dark to a hotel across the street and had a wonderful meal and many laughs - Djamil the owner is amazing and hooked us up with a great hotel on our next night in southern Lake Kivu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Best restaurant in Gisenyi. Friendly owner...Mr. Jamil always has a big smile to welcoming their customers. Foods are great especially the Florentine pizza, steak, south african chicken and beef with coconut milk + thai espice. Reasonable price, great ambience and romantic. Love to be here after a hectic week, to refresh your mind and recharge your energy. A must visit restaurant....

Helpful?
1 Thank Mère-de K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
“Amazing place for best Foods”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I visited many time here, and almost taste full menu, Unbelievable in Gisenyi Goma you can get such kind of delicious food, no doubt having a Bon cuisiner,
Beautiful place near the lack, and Great thing they have good collection of song music,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bilal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I love where it is, near the lake kivu, you can go to the beach and swim if you want.
The place is cosy and nice perfect for couples and big group.
The owner is warmly and kind, the first time you enter he will greet you and come to talk to you, he is funny.
The service of the staff is great comparing to most restaurant in rwanda.

The food: i ordered in two different times two different dishes.
the first time was a pizza someone told me that they do great pizza and it was for me, i pretty bad experience the pizza was burnt and there was a bad taste of mushrooms, i was trully suffering.
The second time i went, i asked for chicken curry with chapati, it was not as bad as the pizza but the chicken curry was spicy but looked bad it wasn't attempt to eat it, the chapati was as hard as a stone.
So as you can see if they had a good chef i could have given them 5stars but fir me a restaurant is a clean place where the food should be perfect, the ambiance, service should come after.

Helpful?
Thank Clarisse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant right on the lakeside”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thaijazz is a little bit different from most other restaurants in this area, offering a few more exotic dishes with a Thai and also European flavour. However, it is not a full-blown Asian/Thai restaurant. Service is fine, the location is very pleasant with a couple of tables even down on the beach with the waves lapping at your feet, and the quality of food is above-average.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thaijazz Beach Restaurant also viewed

Gisenyi, Western Province
 
Gisenyi, Western Province
Gisenyi, Western Province
 

Been to Thaijazz Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing