We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services expecially Futari and Suhuru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gisenyi
1 review
“Excellent services expecially Futari and Suhuru”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent services! I enjoyed every bit of the Futari and Suhur. I just wished I spent the enitre Ramadhan at the Hotel. The Chef is the best I could have during Ramadhan and Romain such a wonderful waiter! Very clean rooms and very good Room Service. I cant wait to be back in Gisenyi!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nyanzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    102
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
37
74
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is clean, with great enmities, and a great private beach. The service is not as good as the Kigali Serena, but it is a beach town and thus slightly more laid back. The restaurant is good but like all hotel restaurants, it is overpriced, and I'd recommend eating at nearby restaurants like the ThaiJazz Café. A good overall stay nonetheless.

Room Tip: Swim in the morning as the lake can get quite windy in the afternoon. A Swedish massage is a great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Travelling and often staying in medium range hotels and hostels this was a positive surprise and a bit of an Oasis in an otherwise rough environment offering far simpler establishments.. The service was top-top and the rooms, beds and bathrooms were top quality even in international standards. Poolside and Lake-view dining was also very good...

Room Tip: Have Lake-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent one night here after re-locating from the Paradise Hotel nearby. Lovely beach front hotel with a great pool and deck chairs and hammocks. We really enjoyed the room which has all the expected facilities e.g tv, tea and coffee, bath robes, phone. Bed was comfy and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was very good over looking pool - great choices and good service. Derive was a bit slow and disorganised - e.g requested a second small bottle of water and it took 6 hours to arrive and I called many times, also room service needed chasing as well. Overall, would stay here again and is certainly the best option in the area - I know, I went to them all! Always ask for a discount.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel: first-rate location right on the lake and with a couple-hundred meters of lake-front beach right next to a nice, even longer stretch of public park; fine food; and some of the best service I've ever had from a very attentive and friendly staff, esp. in the restaurant. We didn't use the beach-front bar, nor the water toys (including wind surfers and a pontoon boat), but they're available, as is a spa. The pool also looked excellent, but, alas, we had no time to enjoy it. The one nit I might pick is that the rooms are on the smallish side, though well appointed and with small balconies overlooking the verdant property and lake. But then, you'll not be spending all that much time in the room, anyway. I would stay here again for a few days of R&R.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Located just 2 km from the Border of Congo, security onto the grounds is stringent. Be prepared to have all baggage and personal items screened in an X-ray machine and have to walk through a security device to enter the building (this is somewhat the standard for many hotels in Rwanda). However, once inside the service is excellent and the staff goes out of their way to ensure that all your needs are met. Daniel, the manager, is excellent. The grounds are stunning and with the hotel located right on a private beach on Lake Kivu the view of the lake and mansions just down the lake in Goma, Congo, are spectacular. The pool is well maintained and swimming there is definitely better than in the lake. Lawn chaises, hammocks, and chairs line the grass and sand along the beach and bar service is available from there. The food is excellent with a great variety of choices - portions are huge though so don't be afraid to share.

The only negative comment is that the rooms are showing their age and need to be repainted and carpets replaced (some are badly stained in the rooms) as these factors detract from the enjoyment of an otherwise excellently appointed hotel.

If you want a very quiet room and no noise from the pool, restaurant or bar ask for a room that is not on the pool side of the building (but you'll miss the nice view). Also be prepared for music outside on the pool deck on Friday and Saturday nights that is readily heard in the rooms until 11:30 pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I didn't stay here but did have lunch by the pool. The hotel is clean and modern with views of the lake and beach in front of it. There is a security at the entrance where they check your bags and any carry-ons. Lunch by the pool was delightful. Wi-Fi was free with their password. A short distance from the hotel is the border crossing from Rwanda into the Congo. All seemed peaceful when we were there. There is a walk-across border crossing for the locals and several block away is the crossing for everyone else. Whereas Rwanda doesn't have an arrival or departure fee, there are fees to go into the Congo. My guide thought it best for us to stay only in Rwanda.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 6 in Gisenyi
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 6 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#5 of 23 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorillas Lake Kivu Hotel
Gorillas Lake Kivu Hotel
#6 of 20 in Gisenyi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Kivu Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Property: Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7469, Gisenyi 00100, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Kivu Serena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is located in the resort Rwandan town of Gisenyi, on the shores of Lake Kivu, the sixth largest lake in Africa. The hotel is ideally situated on a sandy palm lined beach, with the nearby Virunga Volcanoes providing a spectacular backdrop on one side and a panoramic view of the lake on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Kivu Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing