We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but not quite there”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gisenyi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake View Apartments and Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gisenyi
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I spent one night here in November with a group. From the outside this looks very nice - modern with modern amenities. Upon further inspection, it's as if they were given nice materials but had no idea how to install them. There was no shower curtain (not unusual in Rwanda) but the floor sloped to the door rather than the drain so we made our room a mess. The polished tile then became an ice rink. Only one outlet in the room worked. The TV although new did not work. Several of our group had to turn water for the sink and toilet on and off at the wall level and there was no mosquito net. Although the rooms have screens, the open doors allow mosquitos in during the day, so at night I kept waking to a high pitched buzz by my ear. As in all of the hotels I stayed in Rwanda, the people are incredibly nice but the initial impression that this was going to be a nice hotel didn't pan out.
If you do stay here though, a few hundred meters down the road on the right is a place I think called White Rock. Its a nice bar/restaurant with a great view of the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velomedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

These guys are amazing. I stayed here with my family and the service was phenomenal. The place is clean, the Manager (Ken) gave us his staff to show us around town - twice!!, they cleaned our car every morning, they were all very courteous, gave us very useful information. We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Literally a handful of metres away from the 'Grande Barriere' border with DRC and with superb views over Lake Kivu and the surrounding hills, Lake View offers a superb location from which to sit and enjoy a leisurely breakfast. The rooms are reasonably furnished with quirky bathrooms and there are comfortable communal areas with TVs and seating. The staff are friendly and helpful (if under-worked) and, in the absence of an in-house restaurant, will order meals from restaurants nearby. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

this is a great place, wonderful service, perfect breakfast.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christmw2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Last week I take a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
Lake view apartment and hotel is a luxury apart'hotel like those ones we meet in
europe and usa.
it's a best choice for family and groups who would apreciate very well the apartment option accomodation,
also its a best option for businessman and woman in transit to goma because it is located very near the congolese boarder.
it has an excellent complete business center for those who would want to work online on the balcon facing the great lake kivu.
I found also some tourist who was living there and they also like the place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This is a place that has really nice views to Lake Kivu. Unfortunately, the apartments are not prepared to have a peaceful stay: you can hear everything from the other rooms. There are 3 rooms per apartment. Lakeview hasn't got a kitchen for their staff, so they use your kitchen, not only for their own food, but also for the clients staying at the single rooms (with no view and no kitchen). It is unfortunate that the place is not very clean (stained curtains and rugs). Because they are nicely decorated. Also be aware that if there are no clients at the time you are staying, if there is a power cut, they will not turn on the generator. And there is only one TV channel!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TutuGisenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 7 in Gisenyi
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hill View Hotel Lake Kivu
1.3 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gisenyi
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 7 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
3.1 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 23 in Gisenyi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Apartments and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Apartments and Hotel

Address: # 04 Av. Corniche | near Grande Barriere, Gisenyi 250, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Apartments and Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complex of luxury apartments and rooms situated on the beach of Lake Kivu with possibility of self-catering. We specialize in family and group accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing