We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and large nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Muhabura

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Muhabura
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value and large nice rooms”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We were there for two nights during low season. We had large rooms with comfortable beds. Rooms were quiet and quite nice. The breakfast was great (one of the better I had in Rwanda) and the patio was a great spot for a drink and email writing. Food was 'ok'. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
44
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our gorilla trekking in October.
We were solo travellers, and the staff helped us arranging the driver and were always very helpful.
It is a great option the rooms are nice, clean with a lot of space, hot water available all the time. Having the restaurant attached to t is a good option before the trekking and after your trek when you are completely tired.
Our shoes were very muddy after the gorillas, and we were offered at the hotel to clean them. Ten minutes later they were as new which was great!!

We definitely recommend to stay here during your days in Musanze.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here for our gorilla trip. We arrived the night before and had requested the hotel to provide transport for the next day. Noel organised everything we had requested - from the packed lunch, foreign exchange to the transport on the day for the gorillas and a taxi back to Kigali - no hassels! We were very happy at the hotel- the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Noel was great and responded to all our requests. We were concerned - especially arriving late the evening before the day of our trek - but this is their business! So you are in good hands.
The food was good. As we stayed a few days we also tried the Volcano Resturant down the road which was very good. However stay away from the hotel direct accross the road - Gorilla volcano's hotel - the food is terrible!
Given the various costs - to keep within budget - we took a bus from Kigali to Ruhengeri - using the Virunga Bus service - this cost about $3 each - it was clean, professional and safe - well worth considering. the bus station in Ruhengeri is about a 20 minute walk and 5 minute drive from the bus station. I am sure if you called the hotel they would even send a taxi to collect you. When we initially booked through the internet - we also phoned to make sure of the booking and establish contact. A great base with all the supprt you need for your visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 192RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

While I didn't stay at this hotel, I ate there a couple of nights - went back to make sure the first night was not a one off! We found the food while plentiful was very average and expensive for what we received. Very little meat on the chicken - I know this is common in Rwanda but this was less than other places. The steak was tiny and it didn't matter how you asked for it to be cooked, it all came the same!
We were ripped-off for our drinks when we asked for something other than beer!!

Room Tip: Drink beer and eat chips!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My daughter and I booked a room at the Hotel Muhabura for the night before and after our Gorilla Trek. On arrival we were greeted by Noel who warmly welcomed us and showed us to our room. We had booked a double room ($50 USD/night) but we were upgraded to an apartment. It was very large (bedroom with king bed and separate sitting area). The bathroom was also large with tub and hand held shower - two towels, hand soap, toilet paper (actually not always provided) - and lots of hot water. Wireless internet was available in the room.

We had booked a Gorilla Trek (Amahoro Tours) for the following morning. We got an excellent sleep - bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included (fruit plate/eggs/toast/coffee) and available from 5:30 a.m. which allowed us a relaxing breakfast before heading out for our trek.

Dinner was available at the hotel but we ate our evening meals at a local restaurant (Volcana Lounge) - easy walking distance from the hotel. We had coffee/cake at the Lava Cafe - which also offered wireless internet access - a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel is within walking distance of the bus station (20 minutes).

Overall, this was a perfectly adequate hotel and provided a good base for our gorilla trek. The room was not made up after the first night but I don't know if this was an oversight or standard practice. In terms of my rating, I have given this hotel a very good rating (you must remember this is Musanze (Ruhengeri), Rwanda - if you are looking for luxury - by North American or European standards - you may wish to choose a different vacation destination.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WouldLoveToVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was my second visit to Ruhengeri/Musanze and my first stay at the Muhabura. I was very impressed - for $42 a night we had comfortable rooms which were cleaned every day, hot showers, good food, friendly and welcoming staff and beautiful grounds to sit in when the sun shone. My only criticism would be that the food often took a long time to arrive once we had ordered. However, provided you're not in a hurry to get anywhere, this is not a major problem and we enjoyed some time sitting outside on the terrace watching the world go by on the main road outside. We also noticed that many locals come to the bar/restaurant to eat and drink, and I think this is a good sign wherever you travel. If I am fortunate enough to travel to Rwanda again I will definitely be staying here, and recommending it to any friends who might also go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knox_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you have a gorilla permit and are looking for a base, this Muhabura is a very good choice. Located in Ruhengeri, less than a mile from the turn to the Park base, it ffers decent accomodations for a reasonable price. The staff is friendly and the rooms adequate.
We reserved a room but were assigned an apartment. The main room had a king bed and there was an adjoining room with 2 full size beds. Price was $50 per night with early breakfast included. Not sure what they would charge in high season, or if our party was larger. There was plenty of hot water for showers. Each bed had mosquito netting. Our only bad experience was that the curtains were scrim and the porch light was on all night. Very bright and hard to sleep (along with excitement, torrential rain, and a squeaky bedframe) The second night we found that the light switch is outside on the porch. We slept well then, although the trek may have had a bit to do with that also.
As an aside, this is the hotel where Dian Fossey stayed when not in the mountains

Room Tip: If you can get one of the apartments, I would suggest that. The regular rooms looked a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuikAg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
7.0 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 8 in Kinigi
21 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ruhengeri
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muhabura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muhabura

Property: Hotel Muhabura
Address: Avenue Du 5 Juillet, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Hotel Muhabura Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing