We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid dependable hotel with good service”
Review of Hotel Muhabura

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Muhabura
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid dependable hotel with good service”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed two nights here before and after the gorillas. We drove ourselves rather than hiring a driving from Kigali and as the roads are so good and its not too far, would recommend this.
The hotel itself is nice, spacious, quiet rooms and although electricity is a bit sporadic in the evenings, we liked it. As others have said its right in town and the local open air market is worth checking out, lots of african fabrics there from congo but much more expensive than in congo!

The food at the restaurant is hearty with great portions - our tip is to order the chicken hotpot and can serve at least 4 people probably 8. We asked them to keep it for the next day for our lunch!!

Good service and Noel in reception was very helpful at all times . Overall good value for what it costs, $50 for a double with breakfast included!

Final tip is to drive up to virunga lodge , see how the other half live and have a $5 coke on their veranda, views are amazing!!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank romo_wob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
44
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here in 1992 and on our trip back last week, searched it out for lunchs. Unfortunately our operator put us out of town at the mountain view lodge instead of here. this place is in town, so you get a real feel of the local flavor. our local driver said it was the best restaurant in town. the barbequed chicke was a bit "free range" tough. The opposite of the $4.99 costco chickens, but it was OK. the chips were excellent as was the soup and other items. they have wifi (which our MUCH more expensive lodge did not). allowing us to send iPhone gorilla pix back home by email the same day.
I wish we stayed back here. both from nostalgia sake as well as the central location and friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinfallspuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hall
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Obviously this price ($60 USD) means it's not in the luxury category but the rooms are a nice size and it's adequate in all regards. We found the restaurant to be good compared to other places we'd eaten in Rwanda. Since we wanted 2 beds they gave us a room that had another bed in a separate room for even more space. We had paid a bit more for that but not much. When there was a power outage they came promptly with a candle and matches (we did have a flashlight) which showed they cared. And, they remembered our wake up call for our gorilla trek and had an early breakfast.

Room Tip: We had one way in the back away from the road and restaurant. Don't know if the road would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hotel Muhabura is a good midrange hotel for those visiting PNV. The beds are comfortable with plenty of blankets, the bathroom was clean and spacious and the manager at the reception was very friendly. Although service can be painfully slow (like many places in Rwanda) the food in the restaurant is very good. My goat stew was tender, potatoes were very fresh and my friends enjoyed their brochettes and chicken with mixed spices a lot. The fruit platter on their dessert menu is huge, and had a great variety (banana, papaya with lime, passion fruit, red plums, pineapple) I definitely recommend one order of this when finishing your meal. In the morning, they have breakfast out early for people getting ready to trek. There is a good selection of boiled eggs, fruit, tea, african tea, coffee, hot milk, bread and you can order an omelettes as well. I had a little trouble with the language barrier when it came to the packed lunch, because I can't eat gluten so I asked for something other than the ham and cheese panini, and they just gave me a boiled egg and fruit without supplementing with other foods. After talking to the manager, they brought me another bunch of small bananas and two more boiled eggs!

If you're looking for a well-priced option with good food before beginning your gorilla trek, this hotel is well located nearby the park and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Unless you're going high-end, this is the place to be in Musanze/Ruhengeri.
Nothing fancy or forced here.
Nor does it suffer from the sterility of the more business style hotels nearby.
Just genuine, local hospitality.
Clean, comfortable rooms with plenty of hot water, a lovely garden, good food, and a patio that is the most 'happening spot' in town, hosting, on any given day or night, a most invitingly eclectic array of young/old and local/foreigner.
The staff are friendly and eager to please, and can help you arrange everything to meet your plans and needs.
So check your western pace and hangups along with your bags because you're in Africa now.

Room Tip: For just a few dollars extra, up-grade to a light-filled bedroom with sitting area and feel decadent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is it! A nice clean and cosy hotel in the spirit of life in Africa in the 50's and 60's. This is the hotel where Diane Fossey used to stay when she returned from her Karisoke camp to town. The friendly staff make you happy even during heavy rain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our room was clean and nice with hot water and a TV. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They happily took care of all of our needs and wishes and arranged transport for Gorilla tracking, picnic lunches, transport to Kigali, etc. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the wait staff is fantastic. We even left with clean boots!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieGrandpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
4.4 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
7.0 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
44 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ruhengeri
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muhabura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muhabura

Property: Hotel Muhabura
Address: Avenue Du 5 Juillet, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Hotel Muhabura Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing