We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to spend a night or two”
Review of Hotel Muhabura

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Muhabura
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Large rooms, good restaurant, reasonable prices, managed to bargain it down slightly for a two night stay. Good wireless internet in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful. They helped us to organise a 4x4 for Gorilla Trekking through Amahoro Tours. (Winnie at Amahoro Tours organised us to share with another couple so this reduced the $80 cost to $40).

We enjoyed hot water showers on both days... 'though the availability of hot water was intermittent. I believe this was due to the availability of electricity and not the fault of the hotel.

Another reason to recommend the Muhabura is that we met quite a few others there who had been Gorilla trekking and so it was fun to compare notes. (For info, we were returned to the hotel at approximately 1:30pm after Gorilla trekking).

The cost for a double room and breakfast was 25,000 RWF.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamboo_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Nicely placed hotel on the border of town. The style is of the old days ('50) and well kept. Also in front of the restaurant/bar a good place to sit quietly outside; unique in these regions. The restaurant serves good quality european meals. Order the grilled chicken!
Good quality for money, and with a smile. The new rooms will give a boost to the stature.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jansen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

For US$40 I stayed in a large room (more like a cabin really) with bathroom, and one double and one single bed with nets. Staff are friendly and very helpful - they made all the arrangements for me to have a car for the trip to visit the gorillas and helped with my arrangements for a trip around Lake Burera.

The hotel is located a little way out of the nondescript town centre and is pleasantly quiet, with a lovely garden with seating and tables surrounded by flowers and birds. The restaurant serves standard dishes, including good brochettes and salads, and is a good place for a cold beer at the end of the day. Again the restaurant staff are quick and helpful.

True, the rooms are a little tired and could do with a bit of an overhaul, and the new Gorillas Hotel over the road will doubtless provide stiff competition, albeit for at least twice the cost, but Gorillas seemed charmless by comparison (and the beers were 300 Rwf more expensive than the Muhabura).

All-in-all, a value for money option that had character and great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed in the Muhabura Hotel in Oktober this year for two days. In the backyard they keep a Grey Parrot, which is illegal anyway in a very bad condition. He lives in such a small and dirty cage, can not spread his wings and lost nearly all his feathers.
Our proposal is to go to the hotel/restaurant, have a look at the bird, talk to the owner, complain about the parrot and consider to boycott the hotel (hopefully with your support the conditions for that poor bird will improve).
Andrea Pieper and Elisabeth Healey from Germany

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I must say travelling with the group we went with, we were quite spoiled and got used to a certain level of comfort. When we arrived at the Hotel Muhabura after the Mountain Gorilla Nest overbooked, we were all pretty disappointed. Honestly though, besides the bucket under the sink to catch the leaking water and the lack of a shower curtain and the bed that was a bit sunken in, our bed had clean linens and the shower had hot water which is about as much as you can ask for when travelling in Africa. Plus, you're not staying in Ruhengari because it's known for it's luxury resorts, you're there to see the gorillas and that is enough for anyone! An amazing experience!!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladela13lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruhengeri hotels
4.4 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Garden Place Hotel
The Garden Place Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ruhengeri
38 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#4 of 22 in Ruhengeri
58 reviews
0 mi away
Sainte Anne Hotel
Sainte Anne Hotel
#7 of 22 in Ruhengeri
12 reviews
0 mi away
Virunga Hotel
Virunga Hotel
#3 of 22 in Ruhengeri
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muhabura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muhabura

Address: Avenue Du 5 Juillet, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 127
Also Known As:
Hotel Muhabura Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing