We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bright, clean, spacious with excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Virunga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virunga Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Ruhengeri B&B and Inns
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bright, clean, spacious with excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a gorilla treck and found it to be perfect, just what we needed. A nice bright and spacious room with small balcony and comfortable bed. breakfast was basic but just what we needed, fruit, juice, eggs, toast and jams/spreads. The location is also great for the town area as its just a two minute walk. Felt very comfortable here and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank angeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the suite for two nights. The room was extremely spacious, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is probably not so used to catering for international guests (there were lots of local guests) but otherwise we cannot complain. The food was good but took a while to be prepared - room service is probably a better option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed three nights after travelling up from Kigali on the local bus and being pleasantly surprised to be dropped right at the doorstep. Our room was good but faced a busy street so morning noise was unavoidable. Being middle-aged and travelling as a couple, we were not inclined to wander much at night so made good use of the passable restaurant. Like others have mentioned, if you told them you were going on an early morning trek they would ensure access to breakfast before official opening hours. The hotel was down in numbers when we were there and seemed just a touch sterile. It could also have advertised local activities better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I only stayed here one night but was overwhelmingly impressed with the level of service. They opened the kitchen early for me for breakfast due to my early start for the gorillas. They allowed me to leave my things behind while I was trekking and when I returned wet and covered in mud they let me back into the room I had checked out of for a shower and to change, they even washed my boots for me. Very reasonably priced and right by the bus station. Extremely pleased.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamSmith901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Virunga Hotel while tracking the gorillas and golden monkeys and were very pleased with the hotel, the cleanliness and service. Starting with Olivier, the outstanding hotel manager, we were welcomed and helped with anything we needed during out stay. Everyone looked out for us, our early wake up calls were handled promptly, the kitchen always had a fresh breakfast ready for us in time for our early departure to the park each morning. The staff prepared delicious food in their restaurant. Olivier personally took me around to several businesses to ensure I was able to get my errands completed. I heartily recommend this hotel. By the way...the laundry service also rocked!

The only weird thing is the shower curtains are hung so high up off the floor, that the bathroom floor gets wet and slippery when you shower. Not a reason to stay elsewhere, just an FYI.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildernessSoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
514 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Very practical accommodation and midrange cost for gorilla trekking at the Volcanoes National Park. Only half hour from trekking point. Located in the middle of the shopping area and with possibilities to explore the village with market. Correctly recommended by Kazinga tours.
No need to rush back in time to cross the border with Uganda.
We had a comfortable suite with kitchinette and small balcony, and the beer was best. Rooms were clean and in inside wing with only little street sounds.
Dinner and breakfast well prepared.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Hotel was unable to honor our reservation for a triple room because the previous guest had not checked out. They discounted a single and a double so the total was near the original price. Staff friendly and efficient... though not quite as warm as staff we had been encountering in various Ugandan lodges and hotels. Rooms were medium sized, but comfortable with nice bathrooms. Good ventilation requires leaving the balcony door open and given the middle of town location, it was a bit noisy. But, hey this is Africa and we slept well! Meals were modestly expensive (once again, compared to Uganda), but tasty. Breakfast was included and quite good. Especially good African Tea. We needed some help arranging bus travel to Kigali and the front desk undertook to get us the schedule and tickets. Then a group of staff insisted on carrying our numerous bags to the bus station, about a block away. They did not seem to expect a tip and waved me off. Overall a good value and better-than-average East African hotel experience.

Ruhengeri is a most interesting town to walk around and just experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brits4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
0.0 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
0.0 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
0.0 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virunga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virunga Hotel

Property: Virunga Hotel
Address: Ruhengeri Street, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Virunga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virunga Hotel Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing