We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Rocks Musanze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Rocks Musanze”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 with my family (including 2 kids under 3 years)... The guest house has basic amenities but the friendly, helpful staff make up for this. Accommodation is pretty basic, shared toilet facilities which were constantly clean for me and my family plus the other guest who were there I would definitely recommend the hotel on account of the good service they offer. They even allowed us access into the kitchen to prepare baby food whenever we needed to! Great manager too...

Room Tip: Since they do have a campsite for independent travelers who have no kids i recommend for them to cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
19
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We spent the night before and after our gorilla trek at red rocks. Red rocks is an amazing place! The staff are so helpful and fun! Irene made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The food was delicious and the guesthouse is very clean. I would highly recommend staying at red rocks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Its clean and beautiful place set on a working farm. Staff is very friendly, especially Izabella who runs a place, she is very helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms are clean and comfy with African decor and nice shared bathroom. Food is great, especially breakkie. Lunch and dinner is Rwandan traditional food, very nice but can get a bit tedious if staying longer. It was nice to stay for 3 nights to relax and explore villages and see traditional life.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Red Rock is a wonderful hostel which provides genuine cultural experiences between local and visitors. If you stay in a hotel and not Red Rocks you are truly missing out! Go, See and Do! You will not regret spending the time here. I hope it captivates you as much as it did my family!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmahoroTeam, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hostel is out of City.
To reach, you have to catch boda, approx. 1$ from the city.
Price per one room – 13 ooo RwF = 20$ there is 2 single beds or 1 double.
Toilet with shower out of the room. It is for sharing.
3 meals per day = 10$.
Or 5$ each meal.

Hotel is near by the village. It is surrounded by unbelievable beautiful nature.
Just to be there is pure enjoying.

Hotel also offering:
- Nature walk
- Basket weaving
- Banana beer making
- And a lot of other activities

You can find them on FB.
And +250 788687448
+250 788655223

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kseniya o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmahoroTeam, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us and great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Went there spontaniously and was welcomed warmly by the staff. Rooms are simple but pretty and clean. Bathroom is shared. Warm water and three meals a day are provided. The days were spent wandering around, going for short hikes or talking to locals. I participated in a basket weaving afternoon and the banana beer brewing, both avtivities I would highly recommend. In the evening I enjoyed the talks and stories which were shared next to the fire, accompanied by some local beer or coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShirinNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRocksRwanda, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
We are very happy you spontaneously chose Red Rocks during your stay in Rwanda, and we really do welcome you back anytime with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at both the backpackers and the cottage of this wonderful company and both accommodations are stellar. The backpackers is definitely a "hostel" environment whereas the cottage is more of a bed and breakfast. The backpackers is great for the adventurous traveller who wants cultural emersion because Greg (the owner) fosters a feeling of community on the backpacker compound and travelers get ample opportunity to interact with the locals who work there.

Furthermore, Greg and his team are wonderful to work with and can provide almost any kind of cultural excursion one could hope for. I had the privilege of doing a gorilla trek through Amohoro (Greg's tour company) and it was fabulous from start to finish. Amohoro helped me work within my budget (which was minimal) and were friendly and welcoming from start to finish.

I would recommend Amohoro and Red Rocks to any traveler in Rwanda--enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRocksRwanda, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Red Rocks during your time in Rwanda, and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
8.2 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amahoro Guest House
Amahoro Guest House
#4 of 17 in Ruhengeri
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
47 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
10.4 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse

Property: Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Address: 7 km Out Ruhengeri off Kigali-Gisenyi Road | Gps: 1°33'38. 1S 29°38'11. 0E, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Red Rocks Rwanda stands for is what our name stands for. Our organization takes its name after the igneous rock that covered Northern Rwanda during volcanic eruptions some 700 years ago. Just like the red rocks, we are deeply rooted in local history and culture. There’s something for everyone at Red Rocks Rwanda, and every visit is a welcome respite from the busy cities our guests leave behind. Our location amidst rolling Rwandan hills and splendid valleys and our proximity to the Virunga volcanoes makes this a hotspot for tourists. As a social enterprise, we’re all about the community, the wildlife, tourism & travel. Our pioneering cultural tourism scheme involves developing our community and promoting our nature preserve through tourism. We strive to make every stay pleasurable and memorable, so bring your cameras, your memory cards and your love of all things natural with you. ​ Our approach is local, so we’ve built a good rapport with the villagers throughout the years, and we have in-depth knowledge and first-hand experience of local life. We are here to enrich your life, your travels and your values. Make your mark at Red Rocks, and enjoy the gratifying experience of making a difference in the life of the locals and that of our wildlife! FIND US ON THE MAP: Gps: 1°33'38. 1"S 29°38'11. 0"E ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing