We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Virunga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virunga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wow - I almost don't have words for how incredible this place is. It really is jaw dropping. Its very elegantly done and my husband and I spent a totally blissful couple of days there drinking in the amazing views of the Virunga mountains and great lakes of Rwanda. The rooms are heavenly and perfect for honeymooners! The food is fabulous, the salmon pate and bread and butter pudding in particular! The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and welcoming had they tried. I would recommend this place extremely highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Saskia,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind words. We'll be sure to make sure that the staff know you had an amazing time with them in Virunga. The fact that we had the honour of hosting your honeymoon makes us even more pleased that we were able to give you the special experience you were looking for.

Who knows, maybe we can welcome you to Uganda soon, too!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    44
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
115
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from trekking in Rwanda and Uganda. Wow what an amazing experience. We stayed at 3 Volcanoes lodges (the review of the other 2 come under trekking in Uganda) The lodges and staff were fantastic, the food was superb and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. The views from Virunga just took your breath away. Our driver Abbey was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The local people are just so friendly and welcoming. We went in the rainy season but were so lucky as it never rained when we were trekking. Gorillas are so peaceful and beautiful. We managed to get so close to them to the point where one of them grabbed my partners leg! I think he wanted to play We hired a porter who was worth his weight in gold. We also shared our lunch with the porters, guide and trackers as they don't have much to eat, very sad indeed. It is pleasing to know that the Mountain Gorillas are now protected hence the numbers are on the Increase. The part of the country we saw was so picturesque, definitely a small piece of heaven. One word sums up this holiday, PERFECT.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi rallydriver,

Perfect is high praise indeed and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us enough to say so! The conservation of the Mountain Gorillas is an encouraging success story and we're proud of the part we've played in that story. We'll make sure the staff at all our lodges know that you had such a great trip - we're sure they'll be over the moon!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely lodge, with very comfortable bandas (cottages), great views of volcanoes and lakes. A bit far from the gorilla trekking, but worth having somewhere like this to return to. Food was pretty decent, wine was surprisingly drinkable. If you never go to ethnic dancing, break your rules just this once: the local school children dance, and all their friends and family sit on the grass to watch. And the hotel staff are delightful too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi MJY2,

The intore dancers are a real spectacle and we're proud of the relationship they've helped us create with the local communities. It sounds like you had a great experience with them! The views have been called the best in Africa so we hope you managed to snap some pictures while you were with us. We'll be sure to let the staff know what you thought of them; they'll be delighted we're sure.

Thank you again for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We hope that you enjoy your travels, wherever they take you next!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved the Virunga Lodge, the rooms are very comfortable, great bathrooms. fantastic service, the people are marvelous and they want to accommodate you any way you want. The food is pretty good
The most fantastic and amazing thing about this place is the view, on one side the lake on the other side the other lake and the volcanos, just beautiful
They have internet on the main house
You are on the top of the mountain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi 487T,

Thank you for staying at Virunga Lodge; we hope you managed to take enough shots of the views from the terraces - they really are among the best in Africa!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a magnificent setting - utterly breathtaking by day, magical by moonlight ! Wonderfully rustic accomodation - all very comfortable - backed up with food that is prepared with care and attention. Fantastic hospitality from all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review nauj63. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Virunga, and would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are very excited to announce that we will be opening two new luxury bandas in June, ideal for the honeymoon couples.We would also like to remind you of our 10% discount on all safari bookings for returning customers.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed her in september 2013 and consider it to be the best hotel/lodge in Rwanda. I had visted a number of times to enjoy the amazing views of the twin lakes and finally decided to stay after a work trip to musanze. It's not cheap, but i swear it's worth it. Rooms are basically cottages, which all have the grand view from both the bed- and bath room. (you can even enjoy the view from the shower which is half open). There are no power plugs in the rooms, but you can recharge phones and computers in the main building. WIFI is also available in the main building with comfy couches and a nice fireplace for cold evenings. It does get cold up there so bring a warm sweater/jacket! After dinner (which is included and lovely) i went back to the cottage to find warm water bottles in my bed! I would recommend not to plan any activities and just stay and enjoy the lodge, the views and a good glass of wine ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riekeweel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks Riekeweel for the great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the water bottles-they are my personal favorite too!!!

To celebrate 10 years of Virunga lodge, we are offering a 20% discount on a four day safari to Virunga lodge until the 31 of May. Do not miss out!!! You can contact us at salesrw@volcanoessafaris.com.


We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a truly magical place location wise, and if you take an interest, you can learn and see so much more. Rwanda is a revelation as a country, the Virunga Lodge was superb and the gorilla trekking surreal and remains one of my top 3 experiences ... it is such a privilege to see them. Lets be honest, I had a preconceived ideas about Rwanda (western news reporting really isn't great), friends and family "worried" I was going on my own, but it just felt right. The team of Volcano Safaris are very helpful and accommodating, the actual lodge was perfect, everything you'd want was to hand or available, ask and nothing is too much trouble (I asked to go for a trek and it was sorted in minutes) Take the time to meet the locals, they are so friendly and love to practise their English. This was an absolute joy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Andrea,

Thank you for visiting Rwanda with us, your words will be passed on to the lodge staff who will no doubt be overjoyed at how much you have enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope that you find the time to visit Rwanda or Uganda again soon.

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
10.2 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
12.9 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
12.7 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
32.9 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
10.7 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virunga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virunga Lodge

Property: Virunga Lodge
Address: Lake Bulera, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a spectacular location overlooking the Virunga volcanoes and shimmering lakes Ruhondo and Bulera.The magnificent Virunga Safari Lodge, set on a stunning hillside, has eight bandas with a panoramic view of the Virunga volcanoes and the lakes Ruhondo and Bulera. The terraced gardens on this high ridge are now well established, with a magical sunken paradise garden as their focal point. Aside from gorilla tracking , clients can climb a volcano, track the golden monkey, visit Dian Fossey's grave or go for gentle strolls around the picturesque villages near the lakes. Three hours' drive from Kigali or a long day's drive from Kampala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Virunga Hotel Ruhengeri
Virunga Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing