We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Notch Views and Top Notch Everything Else”
Review of Virunga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virunga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too Notch Views and Top Notch Everything Else”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is like heaven. Every room has a view of one lake or the other with one side enjoying sunrise and the other side enjoying sunset. But everything is viewable from the impeccable main lodge and this must be one of the most scenic places in the world. The staff is wonderful, the food delicious, and they clean and dry your shoes, socks, and gaiters over night! The rooms are spacious and the bathroom gorgeous. Thank you Virunga Lodge for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The volcano side might have slightly more spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica9399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    44
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
117
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Virunga Lodge is a perfect place to stay for the gorilla trek at the Parc National des Volcans. The views from 7,000 feet up of the Virunga volcanoes and Lake Ruhondo and Bulera are spectacular from any one of their eight individual cabins which they call bandas. Locals carry up water each day from lower levels to fill the tank in the back of the lodge so guest can have hot and cold running water as well as a flush toilet. Solar power heats the water and lights. It's wise to bring a flashlight as the pathway -- although lighted -- has dark places on your walk back to your cabin from dinner. Aardvark Safari Company in conjunction with Volcanoes Safari made all of our arrangements we couldn't have asked for anything better. Breakfast and lunch times are according to your individual schedules but all guest eat dinner family style together at a set time. This was most enjoyable. The staff and food are superb. The mattress is a bit hard and pillows aren't very comfortable -- but these are minor concerns considering all the rest.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room close to the main lodge as it is a bit of a walk. More than one guest com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the most amazing trip, and it was just made all the better by the wonderful stay at Virunga Lodge. We requested vegan meals to minimize our environmental footprint even more and the kitchen made some of the most wonderful food we've ever had. I highly recommend a stay here. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The communal time around the fireplace and dinner table were great -- so nice to meet other trekkers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goandgoandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear goandgoandgo,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Virunga Lodge and are overjoyed to hear that the vegan menu was delicious. We'll make sure the chefs are fully aware of the compliments!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wow - I almost don't have words for how incredible this place is. It really is jaw dropping. Its very elegantly done and my husband and I spent a totally blissful couple of days there drinking in the amazing views of the Virunga mountains and great lakes of Rwanda. The rooms are heavenly and perfect for honeymooners! The food is fabulous, the salmon pate and bread and butter pudding in particular! The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and welcoming had they tried. I would recommend this place extremely highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Saskia,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind words. We'll be sure to make sure that the staff know you had an amazing time with them in Virunga. The fact that we had the honour of hosting your honeymoon makes us even more pleased that we were able to give you the special experience you were looking for.

Who knows, maybe we can welcome you to Uganda soon, too!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from trekking in Rwanda and Uganda. Wow what an amazing experience. We stayed at 3 Volcanoes lodges (the review of the other 2 come under trekking in Uganda) The lodges and staff were fantastic, the food was superb and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. The views from Virunga just took your breath away. Our driver Abbey was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The local people are just so friendly and welcoming. We went in the rainy season but were so lucky as it never rained when we were trekking. Gorillas are so peaceful and beautiful. We managed to get so close to them to the point where one of them grabbed my partners leg! I think he wanted to play We hired a porter who was worth his weight in gold. We also shared our lunch with the porters, guide and trackers as they don't have much to eat, very sad indeed. It is pleasing to know that the Mountain Gorillas are now protected hence the numbers are on the Increase. The part of the country we saw was so picturesque, definitely a small piece of heaven. One word sums up this holiday, PERFECT.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi rallydriver,

Perfect is high praise indeed and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us enough to say so! The conservation of the Mountain Gorillas is an encouraging success story and we're proud of the part we've played in that story. We'll make sure the staff at all our lodges know that you had such a great trip - we're sure they'll be over the moon!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely lodge, with very comfortable bandas (cottages), great views of volcanoes and lakes. A bit far from the gorilla trekking, but worth having somewhere like this to return to. Food was pretty decent, wine was surprisingly drinkable. If you never go to ethnic dancing, break your rules just this once: the local school children dance, and all their friends and family sit on the grass to watch. And the hotel staff are delightful too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi MJY2,

The intore dancers are a real spectacle and we're proud of the relationship they've helped us create with the local communities. It sounds like you had a great experience with them! The views have been called the best in Africa so we hope you managed to snap some pictures while you were with us. We'll be sure to let the staff know what you thought of them; they'll be delighted we're sure.

Thank you again for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We hope that you enjoy your travels, wherever they take you next!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved the Virunga Lodge, the rooms are very comfortable, great bathrooms. fantastic service, the people are marvelous and they want to accommodate you any way you want. The food is pretty good
The most fantastic and amazing thing about this place is the view, on one side the lake on the other side the other lake and the volcanos, just beautiful
They have internet on the main house
You are on the top of the mountain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Virunga Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi 487T,

Thank you for staying at Virunga Lodge; we hope you managed to take enough shots of the views from the terraces - they really are among the best in Africa!

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
10.2 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
22.7 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
10.7 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
11.4 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virunga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virunga Lodge

Property: Virunga Lodge
Address: Lake Bulera, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a spectacular location overlooking the Virunga volcanoes and shimmering lakes Ruhondo and Bulera.The magnificent Virunga Safari Lodge, set on a stunning hillside, has eight bandas with a panoramic view of the Virunga volcanoes and the lakes Ruhondo and Bulera. The terraced gardens on this high ridge are now well established, with a magical sunken paradise garden as their focal point. Aside from gorilla tracking , clients can climb a volcano, track the golden monkey, visit Dian Fossey's grave or go for gentle strolls around the picturesque villages near the lakes. Three hours' drive from Kigali or a long day's drive from Kampala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Virunga Hotel Ruhengeri
Virunga Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing