We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Top !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denis Private Island Seychelles
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top of the Top !”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

During late december , at Christmas , we stayed 4 nights here in the
Beachfront Spa Cottage No. 8 , you can bet this is one of the rare
places on this planet that you can say : this is it !
What shall I say about the food ? There is the Australian chief cook that
served a lunch buffet you can't dream of if you haven't tasted it , a dozen
of amazing salads like palm-heart salad to the choice of fresh fish caught in the morning (wahoo, tuna,dorade,red snapper and so on) and other 5-6 dishes to a dessert buffet
of cakes and always 2 different delicous ice-creams and the dinner came up either another
buffet or a gala-dinner type of menu. The breakfast, well , why shall I continue with superlatives but I want to mention the a-la-discretion fresh coconut water like from all good things, there was
plenty of to enjoy...with dinners, I fogot, always 3 types of red , rose or white wines (Italian, french or sout african) and if you need a break, take a look at the cellar where you can enjoy
a huge selection of international wines.
The Beachfront Spa Cottage , absolutely amazing the pure design with a adjected Spa and everything cleaned twice a day perfectly. Congratulation to the room-staff.
The beaches, the island, the birds, the ecological sense of the owner family and the very friendly and attentive general manager (Italian) let you think :
thank god this paradise is for real !!!
My eyes have seen shades of colours that I haven't seen elsewhere travelling in over 55 countries so far, keep quiet and enjoy and I was happy that no mobile-phones, no TV or
other disturbing noise was heard , just the palm- and casuarina trees in the winds and the
sea waves , wowowowow!
Forget all the reviews without 5 stars comments, enough said! Congrats to all that have visited and will visit this island , Denis Private Island ! And yes, I will be back then...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topofthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    41
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
310
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This Robinson Crusoe Island really does make you feel so relaxed. I literally forgot about everything back home. Denis is a flat island, reminded me of the Maldives but with only 25 rooms it often feels like you have the island to yourself. This is a private island, very unique, self sufficient – Most of the food is grown on the island. They have their own farm and vegetable garden. The restaurant is buffet style. I really enjoyed the food, it was so fresh. The Fish was amazing and the desserts were to die for. The Beaches are so pretty and the sand felt like talcum powder. I really felt I had found Paradise.

Denis is located 90km North from Mahe. It takes 28 minutes’ by plane (no bigger than a sea plane) and these fly only once a day so you may need to check these when booking flights.
I stayed in a Beachfront Spa Cottage – 150m2. These are sea facing and only a few minutes’ walk to the sea. You have your own private furnished deck with sala and day bed. The bathroom is outside and very private. You have the option to have a massage at your cottage as you have the wellness pavilion outside by the bathroom. They have these homemade pots for your Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion all locally made. They were gorgeous! So no need to take toiletries!

The hotel has a no key policy. The door could be locked from the inside and valuables can be left in the safe at reception. At the resort you have no mobile signal, no Wi-Fi, no TV.... only an I-pod docking station and hotel phone in the room. I really liked this. I had no worries. They do have a library where you have a TV and computer so if you cannot escape the internet you can use it here.

This hotel is perfect for honeymooners or couples who like the rustic feel about a small boutique, unique property. I have not stayed anywhere quite like it. Loved it! I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsywoodsywoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernkastel-Kues, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed 1 week - all inclusive- on our honeymoon.
the Island is exceptional - the location is unique - but there are a few but´s !
The food is certainly prepared with love but the taste is not to everybodys liking. A little bit too sweet- a little bit too simple - 2 different fish meals - plus 1 other ( chicken or duck and beef once a week only) after 3 days you know that your breakfast is always the same with very little fluctuation - the oh so prized BBQ with japanese sushi really was not at all impressive- for the price payed I would have expected a lot more and better food - I ordered a lobster one night just to get something special - and payed of course 50 € extra ( plus 15 % tax plus 10 % service charge) -
the evenings finished dot on at 11 pm - bcs no further serving at the bar - music entertainment only on Friday and Saturday night by a very good singer and guitarrist- other nights: Nothing! sorry not quite -there was the faint sound of some music from somewhere!

The service was extremely good! - well trained and polite. The room boy on our side did a wonderful job - in that respect we were very happy.
The chalets were beautiful and the surroundings fantastic - like I said - the food was not worth the money spent !

Room Tip: make sure you understand the various room qualities they offer - I always would suggest a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPS2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollenca, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed 10 nights for our honeymoon and chose the beachfront 'spa' cottage which was delightful and right on the beach.
One of the main reasons that we chose Denis was the sense that the owners (The Mason Family) truly care about the islands natural ecology illustrated by the organic foods all produced in the islands own farm. The head chef Darren and his team created some wonderful dishes including fresh fish of course.
The dive team headed by Ted and Ricky certainly knew the best spots on the reef and it was encouraging to see that the coral was recovering well after the recent Sunami and 'El Niño'
Denis is not trying to be a 7 star resort and there is no central spa but the care they show for the environment and the slightly 'rustic' nature of the cottages gives it a charm of it's own. Add in the friendly staff and great food and you have a real winner!
We will definitely try and visit them again!
Top tip: if you can run to it, charter a light plane to take you across from Mahe rather than try and connect with the one scheduled flight a day!

Room Tip: There are two rows of cottages, best to go for the more expensive front row beachfront type if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed 7 nights all inclusive..... but it isn't ! Simply the owners are maximizing revenue at the expenses of staff and guests.
Service was intrusive it felt like there was always an employee near the cottage from dawn til after dusk 250 staff to a max of 37 guests whilst we were there. The cottages don't come up to billing very small inside lots of square meters outside counted, website was written by an estate agent or a second hand car salesman and ours had wardrobes the stunk so much we kept our clothes in bags for the week
Staff friendly but not happy with the regime but they try really hard.
Not all inclusive, If you have a drink in the main building it's free but 200 meters away in the room you're charged even if you choose wine from the inclusive list ......

We enjoyed the place the weather the little diving we did <price 100 euro plus tax and service for a one tank> the food was good and they even coped with my wife's food allergies.
When they tried to do added things dancing, exhibitions etc they really are poor.

Finally, on a honeymoon paradise they allow kids !!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to the Conrad in the Maldives instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhall137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights on Denis Island in August 2012, as part of a Seychelles island hopping holiday. The experience began the day before our flight when the Mason's travel rep rang us up on Praslin to find out how heavy we were! The reason became apparent the following day when we flew out on a 6 seater piston twin to Denis. On other days an Air Seychelles Twin Otter makes the trip - it just depends on how many are coming and going.

We stayed in a Beach Front Spa cottage which was luxuriously appointed, and had A/C. The shower and toliet were outside in a private courtyard area. A short walk led to the fabulous beach which shelved relatively steeply into the ocean.

Being a remote coralline island it's 'all inclusive' board basis. The food was excellent and varied. Much is grown on the island farm. The island is essentially divided in two by the airstrip, with the staff living on one side and the hotel and guests on the other. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a tour of the island with Steve, who was an excellent and knowledgeable guide and who showed us some of the very rare birdlife of the island.

There is internet on the island but you have to be patient. This is an issue on all the remote Seychelles islands.

We have been to Seychelles many times but this was our first trip to Denis. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I quite wanted to keep this a secret as we loved it so much! But i feel that this unique place deserves the praise.
It takes a long time to get to Denis from London but it is worth it.
I would not recommend waiting in the main seychelles airpot for 4 hours like we did for our (once a day) mid day flight to denis. I would go and stay one night in the four seasons or maya and then go to denis fresh.
the island is small but big enough to take a few days exploring.
We had a beach villa which you have to get , the views are insane and it is so lovely wandering out of your villa on to your own private beach.
the food was AMAZING- the sushi was better than nobu. the fresh fish was the best i have ever had, daily!
There is no phone reception so tell your loved ones before you go and there is only dial up internet so dont even both, but thats the beauty of it. you TOTALLY relax and dont connect with the outside world. you are cut off, but in the best possible way.
the guest are mainly honeymoon couples, and couples who have come back having had such a special time on their honeymoon.
This is the perfect place for relaxing.
the staff were amazing, some of the best service we have experienced. vajay was our favourite
What to take to this Robinson Crusoe Island. Plenty of good quality sun cream and mosquito repellant. The mosquitos were very bad.
Denis does not have a Spa as such but you can have a massage or a manicure by their therapists- so you need to take any other products. the bath and shower gel and shampoos were amazing in the bathrooms.
we had such a brilliant time and made friends too. the perfect place for a honeymoon. Stay minimum & nights if you can to make it worthwhile, then if you want to see a bit of the main land we recommend a couple of nights in the Four seasons. But stay at Denis as long as you can!!
we will be back as soon as we can.
Thank you to all the tea there who made it so special for us.

Room Tip: Beach Front Villa! No other option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrietta123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Denis Private Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denis Private Island Seychelles

Property: Denis Private Island Seychelles
Address: Denis Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Denis Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Denis Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Denis Private Island Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical hideaway where one can enjoy the barefoot luxury of island living. Be seduced by the understated elegance of the twenty five private beachfront cottages and the exquisite cuisine tempting the gourmet’s palate. Share new found passions- fishing and diving amongst the most thrilling or embrace the organic culture and appreciate this rare ecosystem with its numerous conservation activities. Denis island is very accessible, with flights everyday to/from the main island of Mahé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denis Private Island Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denis Island Seychelles Hotel Denis Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing