We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denis Private Island Seychelles
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Everything was fantastic the island, the accommodation, the food and the staff. I loved that there was no phone reception, no Internet, no tv's and no shoes! just sun, sea, nature and luxurious accommodation. We only did 2 nights but could of done one more night really but 2 is better than nothing. My husband loved the snorkeling. I felt sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareO196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    41
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
305
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Your stay starts with a 30 minute flight from Mahe, the view was beautiful and the landing on a grass runway was an experience!
They staff meet you at the runway on a golf buggy and drive you the short distance to the reception area. There is one building on Denis that houses the restaurant, bar, seating areas and it overlooks the pool. It is very quiet and peaceful. They welcomed us with a drink and canapes then took us to our rooms. wow!
The villa I had (number 6 - bone fish) was spectacular! I had a private garden which overlooked the beach & ocean and the villa itself was huge. The bathroom is the highlight, its half indoor half outdoor with a gorgeous stand alone tub and an outdoor shower.
The sea was lovely to swim in and there is a reef on the other side of the island for snorkelling.
The food was out of this world and the service top notch. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone you met would greet you with good morning/evening and a smile.
The swimming pool at first I thought was small but there was never anyone in it, I guess with the ocean so clear and blue everyone was enjoying that instead!
You can watch the sunset at the beach by this pool, it was beautiful.
They have bikes on the island which you can use to get around, there are many private areas if you fancy a robinson crusoe style picnic. It felt like we were the only people there!
We also took a guided tour of the island and saw the gardens where they grow fruits and veg.

There are no tvs, wifi or phone reception on the island although they do have a small room that houses a computer should you need internet access. Also there are no room keys although you can lock the doors from the inside.
I couldn't recommend this enough, it is just a dream destination & experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular, I had number 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Long overdue review, but we traveled here in September 2011. WOW. What a fantastic resort!!! I didn’t see the need to spend $6K/night on Fregate Island or North Island after staying here. We stayed in a Belle Etoile suite and the room was spectacular. We had a half indoor/outdoor bathroom, a massage table, and our own sala facing the beach. We had our own stretch of beach to swim from, but oddly enough, dry season in the Seychelles has rougher water and our stretch of beach had been eroded by the tsunami several years ago, so we needed to swim elsewhere. We didn’t mind, though- our suite was more like a villa in my mind! The food was outstanding! We sent them our preferences for meals ahead of time and they noted them to us immediately. My husband has a mango allergy, so each time we went to the buffet, they pointed out which items had mango. Most, not all, of the meals come from a buffet, but they have made to order foods within it and everything was of top quality. They also grow most of the items used on the property! I really enjoyed the pancakes and french toast for breakfast and the stir fry for lunch. Each night for dinner, there was a theme, but my favorite was the romantic beach dinner. Each couple/group staying at the resort has a night that they are privately served dinner on the beach. It’s a part of the rate and it’s amazing just sitting there, listening to the waves and enjoying your feet in the sand. The resort rates include all meals but not drinks (though I think this has changed). The drinks were VERY expensive- about $15-$20 for a cocktail. We were hesitant to drink very much because of that, however, we enjoyed a cocktail every evening before dinner in the gorgeous open air lobby. We also requested soda for our mini bar in the room. We had some duty free liquor from our stay in Mauritius and we made drinks throughout the day. What is also nice about the mini bar is that they will credit you for any unopened drinks in the fridge.

On our last morning, we were offered a tour of the entire island. It’s not a very big island, but half is dedicated to the resort and the other half is used to support the resort (staff, gardens, etc.) and to support bird conservation. There are many unique and rare birds to be seen. Be sure to take pictures! We did not explore very much during our stay, and did not do much in the way of activities, but after seeing the entire island, we really wish we had taken a walk to the reef. Since the water was a bit rough, we didn’t do much swimming, but the water on the reef side is much calmer. It’s just that it’s quite a ways from the resort part of the island and you’d never really know it was there. At any rate, I’m really hoping we can make it back to Denis some day. We really enjoyed our time there and felt very well taken care of by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellsieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights on Denis at the beginning of February. After a nightmarish 4,5 hours spent in sweltering temperatures at Mahe airport (we had arrived from Dubai at 07.00 and left for Denis at 11.45), tired after a long flight from London and with nowhere to hide from the heat and humidity, we finally arrived, feeling a little cranky, at Denis.
Chalet was very nice and the outside veranda and covered platform with day bed were also very inviting. The room itself was quite ordinary but the outside bathroom mentioned in all the other reviews was a delight. We would have liked to have a safe in the room. We had to lock money, cameras and jewellery in one of the suitcases every time we left the cottage. The chalets are surrounded by the forest (insect bites galore!!) and are located at the edge of the beach. Although the room attendants were very nice and helpful we felt that their presence was at times too intrusive. They seemed to be doing something in the room every time we came back to it but when you are on holiday you have plenty of time to wait so that wasn't much of a problem.
One of the beaches was absolutely lovely, all powdery sand and practically deserted, the water was crystal clear although not very good for snorkelling; on the other side of the restaurant though, were we were told the best snorkelling was to be had, the water was far too choppy to swim and the beach was covered in seaweed. Maybe it was just the wrong season but we felt that maybe a bigger effort could have been made to clear some of the weeds.
The food was nice but not exceptionally so, sometimes the choice was a little limited. We never had lunch because of the big breakfast, which we thought was good, but we always liked to have tea in the afternoon. Although on the information leaflet there's mention of tea and cakes, we always had the impression that the staff were a bit put out when we turned up in the restaurant in the afternoon; once, after asking for a few more biscuits (we had been given 2 each!) I was actually told that there was only a certain amount of biscuits to go round although nobody else was having tea.
Another thing that we found a bit confusing was the fact that some alcoholic beverages, wine and cocktails were included but not others.
At the end of our stay, which was definitely enjoyable, we came to the conclusion that the main attraction and charm of the place is its almost total seclusion from the outside world; it's possible not to have to talk to anybody or indeed practically not see anybody if you so wish and you can have a lovely long stretch of beach all to yourself, completely undisturbed. Not quite paradise though. We came away with the feeling that it had not entirely been worth the cost and that we would think twice about returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoobona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was the best part of our honeymoon -- absolutely amazing and awesome!! Expensive but totally worth it!! It is like a paradise - the clear waters, the greenery and your own private beach (the cottages are made such that the beach is almost all yours).

The food was fantastic for an island that serves everything fresh from what is grown on the island itself. They took us for the island tour where they showed us how they grow everything and rear jersey cows for milk. It was so good and knowledgeable. The food has a different taste of freshness, specially the eggs. Lunch and dinner was superb with good variety and amazing dessert. Breakfast did not have much variety and there is scope for improvement.

The staff was the nicest !! Ravinia, Lorna, Salvatore, Kris, Sanjay - all of them were amazing! Lorna was great with showing us around the resort and the island tour. Sanjay was amazing during meal times - so courteous, helpful and polite. Kris was the best bartender ever!! He served us the most amazing mocktails that we have ever had !! They were delicious!!! :) !!

The island has good activities - cycling, tennis, snorkelling, diving. Their best policy is no cell network, no tv, no internet. Therefore it really helps you take a desired break.

They gave us an excellent honeymoon package - with a room upgrade, romantic room set up, unlimited mocktails, massage treatment and private dinner on the beach! We couldn't have asked for anything more!! It was the best stay of our honeymoon and we are waiting to go back to Denis Private Island.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach so you can't go wrong. Try and ensure you have a beach villa cottage or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

During late december , at Christmas , we stayed 4 nights here in the
Beachfront Spa Cottage No. 8 , you can bet this is one of the rare
places on this planet that you can say : this is it !
What shall I say about the food ? There is the Australian chief cook that
served a lunch buffet you can't dream of if you haven't tasted it , a dozen
of amazing salads like palm-heart salad to the choice of fresh fish caught in the morning (wahoo, tuna,dorade,red snapper and so on) and other 5-6 dishes to a dessert buffet
of cakes and always 2 different delicous ice-creams and the dinner came up either another
buffet or a gala-dinner type of menu. The breakfast, well , why shall I continue with superlatives but I want to mention the a-la-discretion fresh coconut water like from all good things, there was
plenty of to enjoy...with dinners, I fogot, always 3 types of red , rose or white wines (Italian, french or sout african) and if you need a break, take a look at the cellar where you can enjoy
a huge selection of international wines.
The Beachfront Spa Cottage , absolutely amazing the pure design with a adjected Spa and everything cleaned twice a day perfectly. Congratulation to the room-staff.
The beaches, the island, the birds, the ecological sense of the owner family and the very friendly and attentive general manager (Italian) let you think :
thank god this paradise is for real !!!
My eyes have seen shades of colours that I haven't seen elsewhere travelling in over 55 countries so far, keep quiet and enjoy and I was happy that no mobile-phones, no TV or
other disturbing noise was heard , just the palm- and casuarina trees in the winds and the
sea waves , wowowowow!
Forget all the reviews without 5 stars comments, enough said! Congrats to all that have visited and will visit this island , Denis Private Island ! And yes, I will be back then...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topofthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This Robinson Crusoe Island really does make you feel so relaxed. I literally forgot about everything back home. Denis is a flat island, reminded me of the Maldives but with only 25 rooms it often feels like you have the island to yourself. This is a private island, very unique, self sufficient – Most of the food is grown on the island. They have their own farm and vegetable garden. The restaurant is buffet style. I really enjoyed the food, it was so fresh. The Fish was amazing and the desserts were to die for. The Beaches are so pretty and the sand felt like talcum powder. I really felt I had found Paradise.

Denis is located 90km North from Mahe. It takes 28 minutes’ by plane (no bigger than a sea plane) and these fly only once a day so you may need to check these when booking flights.
I stayed in a Beachfront Spa Cottage – 150m2. These are sea facing and only a few minutes’ walk to the sea. You have your own private furnished deck with sala and day bed. The bathroom is outside and very private. You have the option to have a massage at your cottage as you have the wellness pavilion outside by the bathroom. They have these homemade pots for your Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion all locally made. They were gorgeous! So no need to take toiletries!

The hotel has a no key policy. The door could be locked from the inside and valuables can be left in the safe at reception. At the resort you have no mobile signal, no Wi-Fi, no TV.... only an I-pod docking station and hotel phone in the room. I really liked this. I had no worries. They do have a library where you have a TV and computer so if you cannot escape the internet you can use it here.

This hotel is perfect for honeymooners or couples who like the rustic feel about a small boutique, unique property. I have not stayed anywhere quite like it. Loved it! I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsywoodsywoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denis Island
0.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
58.6 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
36.7 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregoire's Apartments
Gregoire's Apartments
#6 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Lorna
Chez Lorna
#2 of 8 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denis Private Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denis Private Island Seychelles

Property: Denis Private Island Seychelles
Address: Denis Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Denis Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Denis Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Denis Private Island Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical hideaway where one can enjoy the barefoot luxury of island living. Be seduced by the understated elegance of the twenty five private beachfront cottages and the exquisite cuisine tempting the gourmet’s palate. Share new found passions- fishing and diving amongst the most thrilling or embrace the organic culture and appreciate this rare ecosystem with its numerous conservation activities. Denis island is very accessible, with flights everyday to/from the main island of Mahé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denis Private Island Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denis Island Seychelles Hotel Denis Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing