We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience on a unique island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denis Private Island Seychelles
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience on a unique island”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were lucky enough to sample a number of islands in the Seychelles and consider Denis Island to be the perfect blend of nature at its most beautiful with superb service, varied international cuisine and local delicacies.

The chalets are superbly appointed and literally on the beach, but concealed from each other.

This island offers a unique and exclusive holiday.

This was our final destination, a more suitable finale to the Seychelles holiday hard to imagine. Our itinerary planned by Seychelles Travel U.K. with all transfers arranged, including being met on arrival and departure and transported when necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mills2k9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    41
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
305
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights on Denis. A marvelous place to get away from it all. The chalets were extremely comfortable with good facilities. We spent a great deal of time reading on our day bed with the sound of the surf a few meters away, what luxury! The staff were all so helpful especially to my husband who uses a walking stick. The food delicious at every meal, our last night was a bbq on the beach sitting under the bright stars of the Southern Cross and Scorpio, just magical! A trip round the island with the environmental officer taught us about the biodiversity and the introduction of endemic birds to increase their survival rates. The well names Fairy Terns were flying the sky in pairs, mirroring each other's flight.
My only disappointment was that snorkeling was almost impossible as it was the wrong time of the year, too windy and rough. I would highly recommend Denis and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The deluxe beach or Spa chalets are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bernice272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Denis Private Island is probably the best place I have ever been to! We've just returned from 7 days of experiencing paradise itself. You arrive by landing on the grass runway in your little, and I mean little, plane, to be greeted by the manager herself, a couple of guys manning the fire equipment, and some of the wonderful staff. This hotel doesn't have a 'reception' desk, just a team of staff who make your reception one of the friendliest you'll ever experience.
That friendliness continues for your whole stay, with their attention to detail, their helpfulness, and their pleasure in looking after their guests being very evident.
The food is amazing, the wildlife is incredible, and the diving was the best I've ever done (even if it was the 'wrong season'!) Three dives, each one a tick list of sea-life - turtles, sharks, rays, wrasse, octopus, and so many fish. Catch a dive with Ted before he leaves after 9 years.
We stayed in a deluxe beach bungalow, massive bed, outdoor bathroom with two showers, own beach frontage, luxury itself.
An unbelievable week, thank you to everyone on Denis Island.

Room Tip: Any, they are all superbly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanterre, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Snorkling, diving, fishing are better than anywere. With the beach villa you have your direct access to the beach which is really a plus.
Chef is just fantastic and staff is very friendly and helpful. It is really a paradise on earth.
Worth the money..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had our honeymoon in Seychelles. We have been to Mahe, Praslin and lastly Denis Island. This is a truly beautiful place with tranquility. Away from the busy world, we felt ourselves embraced by nature, sky filled with shimmering stars, lovely beaches by the room, birds and geckos here and there. And most importantly, all staff there were very friendly and sincere, we felt ourselves home away from home. This is a highly recommended place to go!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetyiu43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Denis Island was our first stop on our honeymoon and being a private island with no internet and mobile phone access we were at first slightly apprehensive, however, it turned out the most perfect first four days of our honeymoon.

The island is 80% self-efficient and a step back into life pre-technology. The villa's are amazing, with ours having its own plunge pool with surrounding sunbathing area, veranda (with chairs, couch and external double bed) to relax on, garden and a step down to the beach which for our stay seemed liked our own private beach and walk into the lush blue Indian Ocean.

Everything is so tranquil but be warned it is also a step into nature so be prepared for lizard etc to be frequent visitors into your bedroom or the open air bathroom. Strange at first but with little predators on the island they are all amazingly friendly with the birds happy to walk right up to you. The beach is also a haven for crabs and watching them dance with the sea was a great sight.

The food on offer was fantastic with a great variety of choice. Most of the meat is reared on the island while the veg and fruit was extremely tasty. Spices and flavours abundant. The fish is mouth-watering.

We only snorkelled around the outside of the dive centre but it was incredible seeing dozens of colourful fish, stingray, baby sharks, barracuda etc. Being only novices there was an insane amount of fish and reef to keep us occupied for long periods here.

We also took an environment tour round the island, getting closer to the wildlife but seeing all what the island had to offer inc. the local farm then venturing through the jungle/ forest but getting the opportunity to see the beaches on the other side. We followed this up the next day by taking bikes out and the size of the island makes this a not too difficult or strenuous adventure.

Finally, the staff. Absolutely everyone is so friendly and they can't do enough for you. Anything you want you ask for and they do it. The room staff are also incredible with great skills in turning towels into animals etc. while the petal-leafed romantic bath with candles hit exactly the right button.

The weather can be temperamental but being the Indian Ocean you'll have to expect this but be careful when the sun is out as it can get hot!

So overall, having booked this as a surprise for my wife we were both blown away by everything Denis Island had to offer and we doubt we could have picked a more idyllic or romantic start to our married life. The lack of mobile or internet ended up being an added bonus and you quickly enjoy everything that the island has to offer.

We'll definitely be returning!!!

Room Tip: We were in room-30, one of the larger villa's, but the perfect honeymoon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Denis Private Island is a very special and unique place. It is totally worth it. Every aspect is just perfect.
Snorkelling is better than most other places' diving. Then diving is out of this world with amazing natural life variety and crystal clear visibility.
The water temperature is perfect. Not hot, not cold, just enjoyable.
The service is 5 stars.
The food ... delicious at every single meal of the day, every day of the week.
There is no mobile phone coverage in the island, which makes it even more peaceful and relaxing. There is good WIFI in the library, for those willing to stay attached to the rest of the world.
There is only one problem at Denis Island ... you will want to stay there forever :)

Room Tip: The best beach side is on cottages up to 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseHenriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denis Island
0.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
58.6 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
36.7 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregoire's Apartments
Gregoire's Apartments
#6 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Lorna
Chez Lorna
#2 of 8 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denis Private Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denis Private Island Seychelles

Property: Denis Private Island Seychelles
Address: Denis Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Denis Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Denis Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Denis Private Island Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical hideaway where one can enjoy the barefoot luxury of island living. Be seduced by the understated elegance of the twenty five private beachfront cottages and the exquisite cuisine tempting the gourmet’s palate. Share new found passions- fishing and diving amongst the most thrilling or embrace the organic culture and appreciate this rare ecosystem with its numerous conservation activities. Denis island is very accessible, with flights everyday to/from the main island of Mahé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denis Private Island Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denis Island Seychelles Hotel Denis Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing