We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and well equipped accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obesa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obesa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loanhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Spacious and well equipped accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Located in a quiet area of the town across the road from the wonderful cactus garden. Very spacious and well equipped rooms - a bit old fashioned but everything you need. Nice access to open spaces and pool area at rear of cottage.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    96
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
78
66
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Sonja, the hotelmanager is a very warm and welcoming person. She suprised us with a free breakfast for my birthday (singing staff included)! The rooms are spacious, very clean, ours even had a microwave oven, plates, wineglasses,... Unfortunately we could only stay one night otherwise we certainly would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

All that we can say is that was awesome. We visited a nursery just over the street. That was absolutely beautiful full of dive rent cactus's. There was also a lot of museums and a old church to see. Do yourselves a favor and visit the museums. Love Graaff Reinet


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradock
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Staff friendly and efficient. Rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. air-conditioning would be an wonderful improvement in an area that experiences extreme heat in summer. accommodation is recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Recently, my fiance and I relocated to Plettenberg Bay from Benoni. During our 11-hour journey, we decided that we were going to have to stop over in Graaf-Reinet to find a place to rest our weary souls. Luckily for us, Sonja from Obessa Lodge was there to help. She took our last minute phone booking and stayed up to welcome us, as well as make some recommendations of places in the town worth seeing.

Obessa Lodge offers great self-catering facilities at great rates. The rooms are neat, tidy and extremely spacious. I felt right at home in our room.

If you ever need a place to stay overnight while travelling through the Karoo, I would highly recommend you make a booking at Obessa Lodge. You won't regret it at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_Dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

i travel with my kids - for a stop on the way form jhb to plett, we have stopped here 3 years now - the little colourful rooms across form the most interesting cacti, and interesting museums - well located, clean, has a great "small pool joinjed to the big pool". we keep going back there. we have tried a few other places in graaff-reinet, but this is our favourite!! great place for photos too - all my fave pics of my kids - ever are taken around obessa.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms on the road, the pink, purple and i think its yellow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked for three nights but left after two nights. The place is painted in shocking colours. Not restful . We had a one bedroomed self catering cottage. The walls were painted an awful lime green and the sheets and bed covers were a dark purple. We stayed in the bedroom as the A/C was in the bedroom. The TV in the room had a picture however it was so blurred that it was pointless putting it on. The pool was pleasant however it was shared by many cottages and the afternoons i was there many children were in the pool. We did not have the breakfast . The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Across the road is a cactus nursery, worthwhile spending a few hours admiring the varieties of plant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.3 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Karoopark Guest House
Karoopark Guest House
#8 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camdeboo Cottages
Camdeboo Cottages
#4 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obesa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obesa Lodge

Property: Obesa Lodge
Address: 64 Murray Street, Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Obesa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inspiration for the name OBESA LODGE comes from the Euphorbia Obesa, commonly known as the 'African Hut'. Obesa Lodge is a colorful complex and offers affordable 'value for money' accommodation to large groups, families, couples or the single tourist. Travellers can choose between Self-catering units and family cottages OR Budget Twin rooms with bathrooms with the option of a full English breakfast delivered to their doors. The self-catering units and rooms are decorated according to various themes e.G. Sundowner, Spring Breeze, Tutti Frutti and Mellow. The Lodge is surrounded by beautiful gardens, complete with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, braai areas and safe off-street parking with remote controlled gates. Credit cards are accepted (Visa, Master and Diners). The Obesa Cactus and Succulent Garden is situated opposite Obesa Lodge - one of the twelve most spectacular cactus and succulent gardens in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Obesa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obesa Hotel Graaff-Reinet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing